We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot; Terrific hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The location suited us fine - easy take- off spot for exploring Kinsale and Cobh as well as Cork city. There was parking on site and ample, freshly prepared breakfasts each Day. John and Helen gave us good information regarding where to eat and routes to take to make our excursions special. One draw back - no ice for our drinks. But we have found ice is not readily available even in bars, especially as summer turns to fall.Don't let this stop you. Great place; friendly hosts! Thank you both so much.

Room Tip: If you are over 5' 9" be sure NOT to get our room. The bathroom would be a challenge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nomad_rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2016

Nice room, well cleaned. Very friendly and helpful hosts. We've got lots of good suggestions of where to go to see different interesting sights. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again! BR Henric and Torun

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hank802016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Lovely house in Cork, but I think our favorite thing was our hosts John and Helen. He had a lovely get away here, and spent an entire day walking around Cork. Their garden is absolutely beautiful and it was also fun to meet new fellow B&Bers over breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Glencairn Bed and Breakfast is truly like staying at your aunt & uncle's house. John and Helen were really sweet, and helped us figure out places to go & things to do while we were there. The b&b is a short bus ride (or drive) to Cork. We used it as a home base for exploring around the Cork area. It's clean, comfortable, and a little quirky (the electric shower, and little bathroom like others mentioned). Their breakfast is hearty and delicious (no need for lunch!). We enjoyed our stay there.

If you are looking for luxury accommodations, this isn't the place for you. But, if you want to stay in a home & get a real taste for Irish life, then book here.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stacydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Room was not comfortable The bathroom was incredibily small, could not stand up straight. Bathroon mirror was tiny. chairs in the bedroom were old and rickety. No mirror in bedroom. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wauseon1, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Hello Ann Marie,

We are sorry you did not find your stay with us comfortable. Yes, the bathroom is tiny but a person can stand up straight in front of the sink and shower. We have had very tall people stand up straight in front front of the sink and shower. There are many pictures on our Trip Advisor site that show the size of the bathroom.

There is a large mirror on the door of the wardrobe.

The chairs are made of wicker and they do creak a bit as all wicker furniture does, but they are perfectly sound.

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The trip to Cork and area was the present for my mom s 60th birthday. To say it straight out I couldn t have chosen a better accomodation other than the one from Helen & John. The rooms as well as the whole house are really cosy, the breakfast was plenty and yummy and John and Helen fabulous hosts. John was always helpful, gave us good advice where to go and even arranged on the last morning an irish guitar sessions with his wife. We all sang together a few songs and loved it while Helen and John played the guitar.....great experience!! Thank you both and all the best!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Ohhhhhh this property!!! It is SO beautiful!!!!

My Dad and I were leaving Cobh (which if you are in Ireland you should go see along with Kinsale and Kilkenny (Stay at the Hiberon Hotel in Kilkenny and the Bella Vista hotel in Cobh if you can -request a sea view.) and hadn't been able to find a room in Cobh, so we set out in a westward direction.

We called the Glencarin B&B and booked a twin room, but when we got there there had been a little mix up and we wound up in a single bed room, but they fixed us up with a mattress on the floor, and everything was cozy and comfortable. That night, for reasons we didn't know at the time every room in town was full (it found out later that there was a giant clan gathering in town.).

The room we had was on the bottom floor with the bathroom just across the hall. The big/main bed in the room is large and comfortable and the bathroom is very spacious and has a tub.

The whole property is GORGEOUS, esp the sitting/dining area which is an absolutely BEAUTIFUL sun room/green house. The surrounding garden area is spectacular and the owners are incredibly kind, warm people.

The Wifi woks well and everything is very clean.

I highly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: Book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
817 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,777 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: $38 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn b&b
Glencairn Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing