We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm- hearted and caring”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We were looking for a place just to spend the night, so we didn't want to spend a lot of money. But what we found was so sweet and nice that we didn't even go out but spent the time in their beautiful garden.
Though our room was REALLY small that didn't matter at all. It was nice, clean and cosy, the breakfast was fantastic, John and Helen helpful in any respect, whatsoever. So we decided to come a second time on our way back to the airport.
You can't find nicer people near Cork!

Room Tip: The room downstairs is the biggest, but the most quiet one is the very small room upstairs, away fro...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Umoela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks Uschi for the great review - it helps a lot! Yes, the room is small and that is what we tell people before they book - think ships cabin! Come and visit again with Dorothy, we enjoyed having you!

Warm regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

A beautiful house in a nearby unbeatable. The best hosts, very friendly and helpful. The lovely John and Helen that made us stay excellent. Helen always recommended beautiful places to visit. The breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended! (The family from Spain: Agustín, Conchi, Albert, María and Paula)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank mariadelosantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hello Agustín, Conchi, Albert, María and Paula,

Thanks so much for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed being with us. We certainly enjoyed having you!

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed two nights in Cork with John and Helen, who were fantastic hosts and generous with advice about what we should see for the remainder of our trip. Our room was spacious and there was a common area to sit and plan the trip ahead. Tasty breakfast as well!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks Dave, glad you enjoyed your visit.

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

John and Helen were incredibly gracious hosts. Their house is warm, cozy and filled with beautiful flowers both inside and out. While I would have to give their rooms a just 3 star (especially our cozy bathroom), their breakfast in the beautiful sun room filled with flowers is a 5+, as is their helpfulness and cordiality. Don't hesitate to stay at Glencairn.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DrHerrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thanks for your review Andrew. Yes, the bathroom is tiny and can be a challenge for tall guys. We originally did that room for ourselves before we ever thought of doing the B&B and there just isn't room for a larger bathroom.

We are glad you enjoyed the flowers so much - they give us great joy every day. Hope the rest of your journey went well.

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here for two nights during our trip to Ireland this past June. John and Helen were amazing hosts and really made us feel at home. They helped us with everything from our rental car to researching our ancestors. The house was absolutely beautiful and welcoming, with comfortable rooms and a beautiful garden. We hope to visit John and Helen on our next trip!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wauseon1, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you Jenna! Helen is still talking about the ancestry search!

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed all over Ireland and 2 of our hosts gave us the stink face when we told them our last night was in Cork. They told us to change our reservation, but I knew they were wrong. Glencairn is a lovely little gardened escape. The house is so charming and comfortable I feel like I should remodel!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wauseon1, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you Lisa, you are too kind! It's great to know that our passion is inspiring others.

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We stayed three nights at the Glencairn B&B in late May 2017. John and Helen were wonderful hosts, made great breakfast, and helped refine our itinerary. The location was great for day trips to Killarney, Kinsale, and Cobh. Helen and John recommended going to Killarney National Park, which wasn't on our original agenda. It was a fun day trip. We asked Helen to give us a tour of her beautiful garden, which included several types of roses. The breakfast area had a greenhouse feel and was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MBtravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wauseon1, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,561 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,199 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 60 in Cork
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: $37 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn b&b
Glencairn Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing