We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$242
US$179
River Lee Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$226
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Cork)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
US$155
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel(Glanmire)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$174
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$130
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$406
US$393
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
268
44
14
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
44
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn helenlovely homewelcoming hostsdelightful couplebeautiful sun roomirish homebreakfast was deliciousother guestswarm hospitalityb and bcork areanext morningour honeymoonshort drivea wonderful stayirish breakfaststayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 329 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

A beautiful house in a nearby unbeatable. The best hosts, very friendly and helpful. The lovely John and Helen that made us stay excellent. Helen always recommended beautiful places to visit. The breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended! (The family from Spain: Agustín, Conchi, Albert, María and Paula)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank mariadelosantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Hello Agustín, Conchi, Albert, María and Paula,

Thanks so much for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed being with us. We certainly enjoyed having you!

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017

We stayed two nights in Cork with John and Helen, who were fantastic hosts and generous with advice about what we should see for the remainder of our trip. Our room was spacious and there was a common area to sit and plan the trip ahead. Tasty breakfast as well!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Thanks Dave, glad you enjoyed your visit.

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

John and Helen were incredibly gracious hosts. Their house is warm, cozy and filled with beautiful flowers both inside and out. While I would have to give their rooms a just 3 star (especially our cozy bathroom), their breakfast in the beautiful sun room filled with flowers is a 5+, as is their helpfulness and cordiality. Don't hesitate to stay at Glencairn.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DrHerrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Thanks for your review Andrew. Yes, the bathroom is tiny and can be a challenge for tall guys. We originally did that room for ourselves before we ever thought of doing the B&B and there just isn't room for a larger bathroom.

We are glad you enjoyed the flowers so much - they give us great joy every day. Hope the rest of your journey went well.

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here for two nights during our trip to Ireland this past June. John and Helen were amazing hosts and really made us feel at home. They helped us with everything from our rental car to researching our ancestors. The house was absolutely beautiful and welcoming, with comfortable rooms and a beautiful garden. We hope to visit John and Helen on our next trip!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wauseon1, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thank you Jenna! Helen is still talking about the ancestry search!

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

We stayed all over Ireland and 2 of our hosts gave us the stink face when we told them our last night was in Cork. They told us to change our reservation, but I knew they were wrong. Glencairn is a lovely little gardened escape. The house is so charming and comfortable I feel like I should remodel!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wauseon1, Owner at Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Thank you Lisa, you are too kind! It's great to know that our passion is inspiring others.

Kind regards,

John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews