We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Boutique Hotel”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Classic Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Well firstly you couldn't pick a better located hotel to stay in when visiting Cork as its slap bang in the middle of the city. The Hotel itself is very old fashioned & it gives you the feeling you're stepping back into the Ireland of the early 1900's, I couldn't really fault the hotel on much as the rooms were very spacious & the bed was super comfortable, the only negative thing I could say was the room was quite warm & even with the window open was hard to cool it down & also the internet via the TV didn't work, to be honest I found the negative minor & they didn't detract to much from what was a great hotel experience. On a more positive note the food here is absolutely phenomenal, we had dinner one night which I couldn't fault one bit not to mention what is most definitely the best buffet breakfast you will ever experience which the widest variety I ever seen offered, we would just fill up here in the morning & that would keep us going till dinner that night. I will definitely be back if only to experience that breakfast again.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are quite warm, maybe best to request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spriggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    630
    242
    136
    74
See reviews for
302
858
92
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Used to stay at the Imperial regularly in a previous job but hadn't stayed here since 1995 and was not disapointed. Nice room clean and comfy. Excellent staff very friendly and helpful. food was good with a good choice at breakfast. Secure Car park is not on site but only a short walk away. Nice hotel with history , we would definately stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munster
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

i stayed here on St Patricks weekend and can say it is a gem in the city centre. Its so central to all the shops and bars which cuts out the hassle of having to get taxi's.

The streets and the onsite bar were extremely busy due to it being Paddys day but we were checked in fast and a freindly receptionist gave us all the attention in the world even though there were so busy.

We had a lovely room facing the back of the hotel which suited us just perfect, not the best view but cuts out the street noise which you can sometimes get due to city traffic. There was robes and slippers provided. lovely decor and the room was quite big and spacious. Spotless bathroom.

Of course we went out to enjoy the atmosphere around the city and found afew good pubs just around the corner. Once back to the hotel that night we ordered room service. Just a sandwich but got it fast and not the usual rip off price which alot of hotels charge for room service.

On our 2nd night we had a drink in the hotel bar. Different levels and features makes it quite trendy i think. Good service and not expensive.

The general feel of the hotel is quite relaxing and the decor in the lobby is outstanding. The staff are helpful and chatty and even though busy seem to smile and pay attention to guests.

i work in a hotel and can honestly say i will most definatley stay here again next time i am in Cork for a night and will be reccommending it to friends and family.

Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelMunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Easy check in.
Nice room.
Lovely food.
Comfy bed.
No complaint's.
would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PudseyMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I attended a wedding here on 9th of march and was quite impressed with this hotel.the food was beautiful and the service was outstanding.every member of staff I came across was helpful and nothing was too much trouble.the bedrooms are a little dated but quite comfortable,I didn't have the breakfast here but would have no complaints about anything else.

Room Tip: Better rooms to back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladydee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had a weekend break in Cork, and family had recommended the Imperial Hotel. It has an amazing location, literally around the corner from the shops and restaurants of Cork. The hotel has a lovely, authentic vintage feel about it. The bedroom was cosy, with a comfortable bed and duvet I wanted to keep wrapped around me all day! We had a dinner included in our package, very good and tasty. Breakfast was also of a high quality (I recommend the scones!) Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in the Imperial Hotel. Would love to go back and try the spa treatments :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LolloC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed in the Imperial Hotel at the end of February.The hotel is in such a great location.My sister and I booked the Imperial as we would be very close to the main shopping area.
The Escape spa is excellent.Staff are friendly and the decor is fresh and modern.There was a good range of treatments available.
However the main hotel is in need of refurbishment.The rooms are dated and small.In addition,the windows would not open and the room was so warm.I would stay in hotels in Ireland on a regular basis and the hotel was not a four-star standard.In addition,the breakfast buffet was not very impressive.
This is a pity as the staff were very welcoming and the hotel is in a great area of Cork.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doireann13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,459 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing