We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on 3 separate occasions, and every time has been amazing. The hotel is always buzzing, and the staff are friendly and courteous. The rooms are always immaculate, and the food, both for breakfast and in the restaurant has always been top quality.

I think some of the travellers pictures are unfair, and unrepresentative of what the Imperial has to offer. If you have time, I cannot recommend the spa, especially the vitality suite, as the ultimate way to relax and chill after a day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Would highly recomment a trip to the English Market, located close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburgh_Irishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel.

I also share the same opinion of posted photos and I guarantee that all negative photos currenttlty displayed have been rectifyed and are not the same as when taken.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    611
    241
    133
    71
See reviews for
292
833
90
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed in the Hotel last weekend with my girlfriend and we weren't disapointed. It's great location is a lane way away from Patrick Street. The reception staff were were very friendly to begin with and this set the tone for the weekend. We had dinner as part of the package and this was the best experience of all. Barry the restaurant manager was very accomodating and looked like he enjoys his job. Our server Shauna was so helpful I asked the manager for her name afterwards to pay her a compliment- she is simply excellent at her job! The room was clean and tidy with a comfortable bed, LCD TV and a great bathroom with under floor heating. If you are looking to stay in Cork city do not waste your time looking any further- this is the best place to stay. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor with no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel.

Our staff of the Imperial Hotel are our biggest and most talked about asset and we continue to grow and develop our employees. Barry is a trainee manager and Shauna is a recent recruit in the restaurant.

regards

Joe Kennedy
Generla Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Hotel very comfortable
Food superb
Staff friendly and helpful
Will return

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel.

regards

Joe Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent two night at this hotel on Paddy's weekend. We had stayed there before so we were happy enough to return as it is in a good location in the city centre. The hotel has 4 stars but i think it doesn't deserve this. Since our last visit the hotel has got very shabby. Our room was not even average for a 3 star hotel. Walls were dirty and marked. Double bed was pushed against the wall so my husband had to climb over my side to get to his. I had about 3 feet from my side between the bed and the wall. To open a window for fresh away you had to climb on the bed as it was also on my husbands side. The sofa was pushed against the end of the bed and again from the end of the sofa there was only a few feet between that and the wall. There was no window or fan in the bathroom (this i couldnt believe). Overall i would not return to this hotel and will not be recommending it. In my eyes it is more 2 star than 4.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank miniblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I was disapoointed to read your comments and I apologise for our shortcomings on this occassion.

I hope that this bedroom experience will not deter you from returning to us in the future as I know its not a true reflection on what we can deliver in a bedroom experience. We are still reinvesting and upgrading our bedroom product each year. We have upgraded 50 new bedrooms by the end of this month and I hope to refigure the room you stayed in so we give the customer more space.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and to showing you a better and more comfortable room experience.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbeyleix, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have stayed in this hotel many times. It is conveniently located in the city centre, so all shops, restaurants & pubs are all close by. Hotel restaurant, cafe and bar are all well kept and serve good food and drink. The staff are always very friendly & helpful. Can't fault the hotel. On our most recent stay we were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge. Nice touch ...

Room Tip: I could certainly recomment a suite. They are spacious and bathroom is large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreillr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Well firstly you couldn't pick a better located hotel to stay in when visiting Cork as its slap bang in the middle of the city. The Hotel itself is very old fashioned & it gives you the feeling you're stepping back into the Ireland of the early 1900's, I couldn't really fault the hotel on much as the rooms were very spacious & the bed was super comfortable, the only negative thing I could say was the room was quite warm & even with the window open was hard to cool it down & also the internet via the TV didn't work, to be honest I found the negative minor & they didn't detract to much from what was a great hotel experience. On a more positive note the food here is absolutely phenomenal, we had dinner one night which I couldn't fault one bit not to mention what is most definitely the best buffet breakfast you will ever experience which the widest variety I ever seen offered, we would just fill up here in the morning & that would keep us going till dinner that night. I will definitely be back if only to experience that breakfast again.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are quite warm, maybe best to request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spriggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Used to stay at the Imperial regularly in a previous job but hadn't stayed here since 1995 and was not disapointed. Nice room clean and comfy. Excellent staff very friendly and helpful. food was good with a good choice at breakfast. Secure Car park is not on site but only a short walk away. Nice hotel with history , we would definately stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,359 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing