We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could give more than 5 stars...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butter Market House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2012

To be honest, i think Martin and Margaret are the best hosts you can ever find. They are really lovely and caring, always up for help, ideas (even if its about medicine..) and a little chat or a history lesson of Cork and the county.
The rooms and the bathroom were very clean, the bed very comfortable. It is actually a very quiet area, you can be sure to find good rest in this B&B.
Full Irish breakfast + toast, cereal and alot more was provided, as the other user said: it was enough to last way beyond lunch (and very tasty!)
Buttermarket house is located only <5 minutes walk from the city centre and only 3 minutes from the best pub of Cork: Sin E (take a look once you are there, they have great live music sessions)

Martin and Margaret, thank you for making our stay in your B&B so amazing, we will most certainly come back again ! Maria & Martin

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryInAlbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

This is a wonderful B&B located in the old Buttermarket square of the Shandon district on the North side of the Lee, in Cork city. Narrow streets and lanes, timeless multicoloured buildings side by side, quiet, and a district hovering between conservation of the past and gentrification of the newly renovated. A great combination for a stay, and our first time in Cork. The view over Cork city from the rear parking space is panoramic and worth photographing.
We had two very restful nights. Conversations with our host were very friendly and informative. The place was immaculate. Breakfast was enough to last way beyond lunch.
Just a great place, which we will be back to when next in Cork.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Buttermarket (Firkin Crane). Very quaint, very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Very nice place to stay! Close to the city centre (5 minutes walk), just opposite the Cork Butter Museum (very interesting!), in a quiet and silent location. Hosts are really kind and helpful! The room was very clean and spacious, the best one we found in our tour in Ireland. Very good and abundant full-Irish-breakfast included in the rate.
We strongly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Federic_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This was our first time staying at a B & B and we really enjoyed the atmosphere. The room was clean and quiet. Martin was a gracious host during our stay and offered us a home-cooked breakfast as well as interesting history about the house and area. The experience has definitely made us more likely to seek out B & B's in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank andrey1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimeleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annethevenin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankBerneburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
784 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,591 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Shandon
Maldron Hotel Cork
Maldron Hotel Cork
#17 of 23 in Cork
578 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butter Market House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butter Market House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Butter Market House 16 Dominick Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butter Market House is centrally located in the historic and cultural heart of Cork city.Just under the world famous Shandon steeple (built in 1722) and next to the Firken CraneArt’s & Dance Centre, adjacent to the Cork Butter Museum. To the rear, just across the river Lee (connected by 4 bridges) is the famous Cork Opera House. Cork’s vibrant shopping centre is in the same area, grandly supplying all the shopping needs of the most discerning customer. Also in this area are some of the finest restaurant’s and hostelries to be found anywhere in the world, giving a truly international flavour to this beautiful city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing