We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suprising”

Camden Fort Meagher
Ranked #10 of 149 things to do in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Suprising”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I had never been to Fort Camden before and was taken aback by the whole history and structure of the place. There was a military reenactment on show which was good fun, all the men there were jealous of the actors getting to play with guns! The venue is still in its infancy but they are making great roads in clearing the overgrowth. If one had a kid that was interested in all things military or no interest at all it is a hidden treasure waiting to be seen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    59
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"A must see for any visitor to Cork!"”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stumbled upon this amazing place when we as a family decided to go to the Cork Potters exhibition in Cork for Craft Month. It was held in Fort Camden. I had never heard of the place before, so I looked it up on the internet and found it was in Crosshaven. Crosshaven is only a 30 minute drive from Cork city, or you can get the no 222 bus from the bus station in Cork city.

Off myself , my husband and our 15 year old went to Crosshaven. What we found was a hidden gem in Cork Harbour, a fascinating place. Before I proceed I have to say that what made it the most memorable place I have visited over the last number of years was the passionate and enthusiastic volunteers at the Fort. With a story at every corner of this historical site, these tour guides (all volunteers) brought the place to life, well done to them.

Camden Fort Meagher, its correct name, is internationally recognised as one of the finest remaining examples of a classical coastal artillery fort in the world. The fort is located at the mouth of Cork Harbour, with stunning views, stretching over 45 acres and with 65% of the fort located underground in a whole series of tunnels and chambers, it has to be seen to be believed. These tunnels are currently being restored and at present 20% of them are open to the public. Descending over 100 steps of the Granite Spiral Stairway we reached the munitions store. What a construction, before the invention of modern day machinery as we know it today, you have to see it to be amazed at this engineering feat. The fort housed the world's first practical guided missile "The Brennan Torpedo". The tour was really good value, costing approx €11 for the family of 3 and it took two hours. After the tour we decided to visit the Tea Rooms which had been incorporated into the building which originally housed the Officers Mess. It was a really sunny day so we decided to have our lovely homemade cheese cakes and apple pie out on the newly constructed outdoor decking. The view was spectacular. We could watch all the yachts and ships passing in and out of Cork Harbour and it was so relaxing we could have stayed there all day. After our treat in the tea rooms we went to see the military re-enactment in the fort, it was great. We really got great value for money. Renovation is ongoing at the fort. To enable this work to be done, the fort is only open July to mid Sept. On the drive back from Crosshaven to Carrigaline we noticed that a lot of people were walking and cycling alongside the river. We discovered that there is a new walkway/cycling path funded by the local authority, called the Carrigaline-Crosshaven Slí na Sláinte. It is a 5km route (km return) which can be started at either the Kilnagleary Car Park near Carrigaline or in Crosshaven, near the Royal Cork Yacht Club (the oldest sailing club in the world).Along the walk are picnic areas, seating, railway memorabilia and wildlife viewing points. The 5 mile walk follows the saltwater course of the Owenbue Estuary as it careers towards Crosshaven and on to Cork Harbour. So if there were visitors who were on a cycling tour of Ireland they could easily include Fort Camden on their itinerary. So Fort Camden is definitely worth a visit and is great value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mgt147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ireland's newest treasure”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This fort is in the early stages of redevelopment - but what a wonderful job they are doing. The guides/volunteers are incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the site.
There's lots to see there and they had a very entertaining re-enactment which they invited a few viewers to join! There was a lot of guns banging and people falling over 'dead'.
The coffee shop is wonderful. The indoor room is so atmospheric - like walking into a 1940s movie. And the outdoor area - all I can say is -get there at opening time and get the best seat at the right hand end of the deck. You can sit there and watch the ships come in to Cork harbour and the yachts going out. Truly spectacular.
Go there now - this place can only become a huge success.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank diamond010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“breathtaking views”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The setting of the fort is stunning with views of the harbour, Spike Island and Cobh. The staff/volunteers truly deserve every success as they are so welcoming and generous with both their time and knowledge. Their relentless hard work and dedication shines through. Amazingly 65% of the fort is underground with some amazing architectural features and as the volunteer guide explained the majority of construction work was done by convicts. With an entry fee of four Euro and a delightful cafe, the fort is a fascinating way to spend a weekend afternoon for both adults and children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rebels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You haven't been yet???”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is easily the best afternoon activity in Cork. It's accessible, great value for money (€4 pp) and steeped in history.

The volunteer guides are friendly, helpfu land stationed at exactly the right spots as you wander around.

See Cork Harbour in breath-taking panorama - from Cobh all the way to Roche's Pt Lighthouse, and beyond. See where the Titanic docked, explore underground caverns, walk up to the Lookout post, and if you're lucky, get there for a re-enactment - all well advertised.

When the mood takes you, step in to the Tea-rooms. The menu is a bit limited - snacks and sandwiches, but the coffee's good and the prices are reasonable. Sit out on the deck and watch the Harbour go by - wonderful, wonderful views.

Lots of history, fresh air, walks (some a bit challenging for the less-mobile, but there's something for everyone!) and a lovely place to rest your legs for a few minutes.

The best bit....it's staffed almost entirely by volunteers! People who are proud of the history and who are learning more and more about this historic site. Renovations continue apace, so it'll be worth coming back regularly. 4 differeent exhibitions in situ in Aug 13 - all interesting.

Camden FT Meagher is max 30 mins from Cork city by car, and there is a bus service to Crosshaven from Parnell Plce, Cork City

Check for opening times etc.....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PDCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camden Fort Meagher also viewed

 

Been to Camden Fort Meagher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing