We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, modern comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, modern comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Hotel is located within walking distance of city centre with lots of attractions to visit, shopping, restaurants, the University nearby. Lovely spacious bedrooms with all mod cons and great bathroom with separate walk in shower as well as bath. Good breakfast with lots of variety. Stayed one night, little expensive

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethireland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear ElizabethIreland13,
Thank you or taking the time to post your tripadvisor review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of our hotel and facilities.

I do hope to welcome you back soon to the river lee Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
The River Lee Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,441
    670
    100
    46
    25
See reviews for
737
1,287
99
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just back from another wonderful stay at the River Lee...Have paid several visits to this hotel since it opened as the New Jurys back in 2007 (I think!) and it just gets better all the time....The standards, the quality, the staff, the surroundings. We couldnt honestly fault anything...Staff so attentive, nothing is a problem...rooms are gorgeous, food in the restaurant is to die for!! and a lovely ambiance in the bar....always a nice athmosphere in the hotel too....Really think this is very close to deserving 5 stars....look forward to returning again soon.....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubs4Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Dubs4sam,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor and indeed for sharing your experience with others. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed all your comments and feedback onto my staff and Management team.

I Hope to see you back soon at the River Lee Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
The River Lee Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

we have stayed in this hotel a number of times as its always our choice when we come to cork for convenience. last night was first time we have been since it became the 'river lee' and i'm glad to see standards have been maintained. the rooms are lovely and very clean. breakfast was excellentas usual. i have only 2 minor quibbles. we have always before stayed at the front of the hotel however this time we were in room 320 which is to the back of the hotel and as i always sleep with a window open i was woken early by loud chatter, when i looked to see where it was coming from it was what appeared to be a staff smoking area in the yard beneath us. maybe word about keeping the noise levels down up to 9am as sound does travel wouldn't go amiss. the duvet on our bed was also a bit limp and sad looking but these are as i said small things which shoouldn't put anyone off staying in this lovely hotel. we will be back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manningTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear ManninTipp,

Thank you for taking the time to post your tripadvisor review and indeed your continued support of the River Lee Hotel. I am so sorry about the noise disturbance and I can assure you this will not occur again and I have also instructed my Housekeeping Manager investigate the duvets we use in the rooms. I was however delighted that despite this you still enjoyed your stay and I hope we can continue to welcome you back to the Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had origionally booked into The Clonakilty Townhouse but due to their mistake they never booked our second night, so at the last minuite we booked The River Lee Hotel, due to a mixup on the hotels part i think we got the second night free which made th stay even nicer. At first glance the hotel was spectacular, very clean and very modern, the staff were very pleasent to deal with and very helpful, the room was a very good size with a nice view of the River Lee. The best thing about the room was the shower, it was fantastic. We would highly recomend a stay it this hotel. The only downside was the pillows, a small thing but there you go.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Deco21

Thank you for choosing the River Lee Hotel for your stay and for your wonderful comments about our hotel, bedrooms and staff, it is great to receive such positive feedback from customers. I hope we can continue to deliver high standards for any future stays.

I have taken your feedback about the pillows under advisement and will speak with My Housekeeping Manager in relation to this.

To advise you for future stays we do offer feather and Foam pillows for our customers so please do make sure and speak with our reservationists about any special requests.


I look forward to welcoming you back soon to the River Lee Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Béal Feirste
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Cork, and this one had nicest rooms + nicest lobby.
Service seemed to be quite good (although we weren't in the hotel a lot to really check that out).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Dermfrench
Thank you or taking the time to post your tripadvisor review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of our hotel and facilities.

I do hope to welcome you back soon to the river lee Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

myself and my partner stayed here.its as good as any hotel we ever stayed in.seldom you get such a feel good feeling about a place.staff professional and courteous.rooms and beds perfect.food very good.breakfast was tasty and well presented in a lovely dining area.we will be back for sure.!!...sinead, county clare

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Sinead B
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see such wonderful comments and see that we catered for your needs during your stay. I have shared all your positive comments with my team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the River Lee Hotel soon.
Best Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We booked this hotel after reading about it on trip advisor and were not disappointed in any way. Check-in was excellent and our room was superb. From the excellent coffee making facilities to the entertainment facilities, we would have nothing but praise for the room facilities, The food in the hotel is beautiful. Breakfast was very busy, yet there were no delays in seating us and food was plentiful. The food in the bar was excellent so much so that we ate in the bar for the 2 nights we stayed in the hotel. Definitely worth considering if you are visiting Cork.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKSuperCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear KKSuperCats,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor and indeed for sharing your positive comments with other guests. I was delighted to read your lovely review about the hotel facilities, Bedroom, staff and dining experiences.
I hope to welcome you back soon to the River lee Hotel.
Best Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing