We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveller rating
1,037
92
19
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,037
92
19
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade scones tony avril the main house wonderful hosts breakfast was delicious university college cork irish hospitality liberty grill gave us a map minute walk every morning cork city off street parking sat nav full irish breakfast stayed longer quiet location
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

For our first stay in a b&b and our first trip to Ireland, we couldn't have chosen better. Tony and Avril truly live up to the high praise in these reviews. They run a very comfortable b&b and are so helpful and caring themselves, you feel like you're staying with family! And they are such a lovely family! They give so much of themselves, you wonder how they keep up. They go over and above anything you could expect without extra fees for so much extra service. We stayed with them off and on for most of our visit (Nov 13 - Nov 29, 2012). They made reservations for us, assisted in transportation, lent us needed items, and always had a room ready when we returned. From the mornings start of a delicious, filling breakfast to the wonderful nights sleep in very comfortable beds, I can't imagine a better place to stay. If we are every lucky enough to return to beautiful Ireland, a reservation with Tony and Avril will be the first thing we make!

Room Tip: We stayed in several different rooms and found them all to be equally quiet and comfortable!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbyPark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful, room was really comfortable with a great choice for breakfast too. Highly recommend Fernroyd House if you're planning a visit to Cork!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sineadcatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I can only second what basically everyone said about this place. So welcoming and friendly, comfortable, clean, the best breakfast we've had in Ireland. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome, recommend places, booked us tables, and were generally just lovely people. It is close to the city, close to the beautiful campus of University College Cork, there is parking available, the rooms are so comfortable, lovely and big... I could go on and on but basically, if you are looking for a place to stay in Cork, look no further, this is the best B&B I've ever been to. And of top of it all, they have the most adorable little doggy. I would come back any time, positively can't wait!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L0upin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wonderful welcoming from Avril & Tony !
Quiet and lovely room, one the best breakfast we had in Ireland !
5/10 minutes walking from the city centre, ask Tony he will recommend lots of very nice places !
If you need a warm and friendly place to stay in Cork, DON'T HESITATE !
Jose & Vanessa

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The room was much nicer than I would ever have expected from a B&B, and very cosy at night. The highlight was definitely the breakfasts, especially the homemade scones. The owners will tell you which attractions to see in Cork, and the B&B is only around 10-15 minutes from the city centre, and right next to UCC and the main park. It's also on the right side of town for the Gaol (prison), which was the most interesting tourist attraction.
The B&B was exceptionally clean and well-maintained, and I would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Cork.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJ0286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews