We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character”
Review of The Forge

The Forge
Ranked #2 of 12 Nightlife in Donegal Town
Attraction details
Reviewed May 8, 2017

Visited most of the pubs in Donegal, some have advantages over others, the Forge in my opinion is the best for character, a lovely pub that is kinda quaint and everything you would hope an Irish pub would be. Was not open lunch times. Bar staff friendly, and a nice pint.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"in town"
in 9 reviews
"eye catching"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful person"
in 2 reviews
"half door"
in 2 reviews
"great atmosphere"
in 5 reviews
"old world"
in 2 reviews
"a real irish pub"
in 3 reviews
"friendly barman"
in 2 reviews
"pint of guinness"
in 3 reviews
"before dinner"
in 2 reviews
"live music"
in 4 reviews
"return visit"
in 2 reviews
"great night"
in 3 reviews
"top class"
in 2 reviews
"joe"
in 8 reviews
"pubs"
in 8 reviews
"sweeney"
in 2 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

Best Pub in Donegal. Full of character, ceol agus craic. Hard to leave. A place you will yearn to return to!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank xxflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic pub. Well worth a visit. You enter through a split stable door and the gorgeous smell of burning peat from the open fire welcomes you in.
The Guinness is delightful and we sat on stools under the sloping roof, listening to a girl singing away with her guitar. It amazes me how this full of character and delight can not have any bright lights, it's quite dimly lit with a few flickering red / orange lights yet this keeps a really cozy atmosphere.
A real gem across the river - only heard local accents and laughter as well which was a treat!!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Ynys-Chickpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2017

You risk becoming part of the furniture as you don't want to leave! The owner is a hoot and his staff also provide great banter. You will definitely feel welcomed and if you're lucky will be treated to some traditional music.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank AHMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2016

This is an old, dark and dingy pub which some people might like. The night we visited for a drink on our way into town for a meal, there were a few people there, but it was very dark inside and there was an odd smell in the place. We wondered if it was bleach, but was quite strong.
We had a drink and left. Not a place I would return to.

Date of experience: October 2016
4  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Forge also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing