We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Irish!”
Review of The Forge

The Forge
Ranked #2 of 12 Nightlife in Donegal Town
Attraction details
Reviewed December 13, 2017 via mobile

A warm and cozy little place that was thoroughly enjoyed by us. A truly authentic experience complete with a wonderful family running it

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank PinkTravel1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"in town"
in 9 reviews
"eye catching"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful person"
in 2 reviews
"half door"
in 2 reviews
"great atmosphere"
in 5 reviews
"old world"
in 2 reviews
"a real irish pub"
in 3 reviews
"friendly barman"
in 2 reviews
"pint of guinness"
in 3 reviews
"before dinner"
in 2 reviews
"live music"
in 4 reviews
"return visit"
in 2 reviews
"great night"
in 3 reviews
"top class"
in 2 reviews
"joe"
in 8 reviews
"pubs"
in 8 reviews
"sweeney"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 65 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2017

It's a very comfortable atmosphere, low-key with lots of local patrons and a good share of visitors who are looking for a quiet setting

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank CharlieMcGrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017

Our taxi driver from The Donegal Manor recommended this pub - and it was amazing. we went in early before dinner and were luckily enough to be the only ones in there at first so we got a great look around the eclectic collections of pictures and ornaments, and got chatting with the owner's daughter who filled us in on its history and lots of entertaining family stories - you have to get them to tell you about the donkey and the rooster :) We chatted with some elderly customers who had travelled a long way and were staying locally as they andvisisted the pub for years. after dinner and a jaunt around a couple of other pubs we came back here to a heaving night of live music, more fab family members behind the var and a group of customers (locals & visitors) who were all happy to engage with each other

Date of experience: October 2017
3  Thank BarbaraS3528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

My friends and I stopped in The Forge on our first night in Donegal Town. We were fortunate to meet Joe Sweeney, owner and perfect pint pourer!! Through Joe and his kids (who work the bar many nights) you felt most welcome. The place is full of character and should be a "must see" for anyone looking for a real Irish Pub experience. On Friday night during one of our visits, there was a young lady singing and playing some guitar. She was incredible! Our one hour planned visit turned into 3 and 1/2 hours of fun and great entertainment. I actually met a young lad, Manus Brennan who had traveled to the US to work on the Bernie Sanders campaign in New Hampshire. Wonderful person! In fact everyone we met at The Forge were true Irish folk who made the four of us traveling together feel most welcome. It didn't hurt that The Forge is about a 3 minute walk from the Gateway Lodge where we were staying!!!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

This is by far the best pub in town!! It oozes character and charm from the moment you open the old half door. Open fires, low ceiling, old world decor and great craic! You could spend all night in this place, excellent pints and you can have some great banter with the staff.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank kjoseph82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Forge also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing