We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a big family or a simple quiet...”

Review of Hollyberry Lodge

Hollyberry Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hollyberry Lodge
Kitchen with Granite worktop Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Hollyberry Lodge
Kitchen with Granite worktop
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
double bedroom down stairs with bathroom & Flatscreen TV
king size room with bathroom &  Flatscreen TV
bedroom with bathroom & Flatscreen  TV
master bedroom Jacuzzi bathroom
sitting room with Freeview satelite TV &DVD
sitting room with Flatscreen TV
potio area with  Dining bench
Enter a caption for your photo
play area
Utility
Minature ponys in the field beside Hollyberry
Sunroom
potio
Chill out room
Stairs
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Donegal Town, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deirdre M
County Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a big family or a simple quiet getaway!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is in a great location, just 2 minutes outside Donegal Town and just off the main road. It's perfect for a family or as a quiet getaway house. It slept 8 of us comfortably and there are loads of couches spread all over the house to chill out on. The grounds are very well kept and the trampoline was a great bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and all the bedrooms are ensuite
Liked least: Had to contact the owner to turn on heat if we needed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UKgrown-C...
Sherwood Park
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely home, good location, great landlord.”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were 3 60+ couples wanting a comfortable home for a reunion and we certainly found it in Holly Berry Lodge. The house has all the amenities we required for a comfortable stay. (Minus closets or wardrobes as previously mentioned) but as we were travelling light, it was not a problem for us. The layout of the house with living room, sunroom and a quiet reading area on the 2nd floor gave everyone lots of space to relax. The miniature horses in the field next door were an added bonus, warranting several visits a day.

Our landlord Greg, was great fun. From my first email contact, to phone conversations and then various personal contacts during our stay, he was more than approachable and helpful, with that irrepressible Irish humour and personality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfortable
Liked least: A little more than 10 mins walk to Donegal town. ( 25 mins to centre)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevebhoy...
Howwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a great house in a very good location for Donegal Town and the surrounding areas. The only downside was the lack of any wardrobes in any of the four bedrooms. This would not however stop me from recommending this house or for visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raider90
Bluff, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet luxurious house nice distance from the city”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Coming in late after a long day driving the coast we found the Atlantic guest house and asked greg if he had rooms. He did not but did have a room available at another location after seeing the beautiful location and quality of the house (and quality of reviews in guest book) we decided to stay and were so glad we did! Beautiful country side view and all amenities covered. Would highly recommend and appreciate greg's hospitality. Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan O
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect location, perfect house”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights while attending a friends wedding at loch eske castle, the location was perfect, close to the castle and also to donegal town. Taxis were able to pick and drop us no problem and all seemed to know where the house was located. The house itself was ideal, clean, tidy, very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay-we just stocked the fridge with some food and drinks! Greg the owner was also really helpful. Would definitely recommend this place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoNoX
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ideal location and accommodation”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a great house - all bedrooms en suite and an extra toilet for the public rooms. So relaxing and spacious. Enough room for us all to spread out and read and listen to music.
Ideal location for exploring County Donegal and within walking distance of Donegal Town.
Lovely sunny patio at the back where we sat out sunning ourselves(yes in April!)
Thanks to Greg for making us welcome and getting us the turf for the fire etc.
We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and brightness of sunlounge
Liked least: Only comment would be lack of wardrobes
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgraham20...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect holiday home”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our first holiday away with our young son so we were glad to have the help of in laws! Hollyberry Lodge was perfect as everyone had their own space, big bedrooms and all ensuite. Greg and Lorraine were very helpful and accommodating from the beginning, recommending places to go. The house was a great base to explore Donegal through the day and we had some gorgeous meals in nearby hotels and restaurants. There is a beautiful Italian in the town centre. All in all it exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house had a very homely feel.
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing