We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveller rating
323
291
146
85
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
291
146
85
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country weekend market house sister hotel next door national holidays public car park hen party town square coach tour caledonian travel third floor lovely hotel double bed hotel bar enjoyable stay course meal reel inn room was large
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 914 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Very lucky to be invited to wedding at Abbey Hotel and stay over for 2 nights. Staff couldnt have been more pleasant and helpful. Will certainly make effort to return for visit but would request room at back of hotel due to how busy the diamond is at front of hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nellymac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Dear Neil

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Abbey Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and attending a Wedding at our hotel. Please do reach out and let us know when you are planning your return stay and i can arrange a Bayview room for you
Kind regards
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Stayed here for a night and the room I was got was fab.....modern decor, fab bed & Amazin bathroom, I was tempted not to leave the room! We ate downstairs then in the restaurant and went for the steak on the stone , it was the nicest steak I have ever had, so tasty and you cook it yourself so you get it just the way you like it ....Augusta served us and was so helpful and friendly , nice to see staff like this is still about! The receptionists are so friendly and warming and overall the hotel has a lovely warm friendly feeling to it. Great selection of wines & drinks in dining room / bar. Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SaGaDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018

On our round the north of Ireland trip we stopped off in Donegal town, booking into the Abbey Hotel because of its excellent central location. The staff were exceptional, advising us on all aspects of things to see and do in the area.

Room tip: Don't book a front view room as there is a bus stop immediately outside
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambrose214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Dear ambrose214
Thank you kindly for your lovely review of your recent experience staying in the Abbey Hotel
Donegal Town is a wonderful location and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay . We are very lucky to have such exceptional staff and they are passionate about Donegal and all we have to offer on our doorstep
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

We arrived with our 89 year old mother in law who was put in a tiny single room without a window or a chair to sit on. We asked right away at reception if she could be moved. The receptionist replied ‘I have a family of 5 coming in, perhaps you would like me to put THEM in there?
Next morning, the new receptionist was sooo helpful. She immediately got my mother in law moved to another room.
More members of our family were joining us the following night. We were all guests in the hotel yet we were told that we could not reserve a table in the bar area for dinner ‘in case it gets busy’.
A shoddy hotel with a shoddy attitude. Won’t be back.
Very disappointed.

Room tip: Asking for one with a window would be nice!!!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday night as a night in the local bars was planned with friends. Living a 30 minute drive away I decided to visit the hotel reception at 6pm on the Friday evening to enquire about room availability. I was quoted a room rate of €80 for the night but before paying I checked the official hotel website which had the same room available at €67.50. I felt dissatisfied that this would be the case and when I told the receptionist of the price difference she offered me the lower price but no apology or explanation. Overall my stay was fine. Breakfast was of a very high quality which I was delighted with and drinks were served in the main bar until late. Sleep quality was good and shower worked well. But overall I was let down by the experience when checking in

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 461mrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews