We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant at Harvey's Point

The Restaurant at Harvey's Point
Ranked #3 of 68 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$49 - US$59
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Unveiled in early 2014, this new look Lakeside Restaurant at Harvey's Point is set to Wow new guests and regular guests alike! The creation of a new theatre style open kitchen allows you to 'come into' the Kitchen and view the gastronomic dishes being prepared. At the same time you feel like you are outside looking in with the magnificent vista across Lough Eske. Matched with the finest personal service, this gastronomic experience at Harvey's Point rivals any in the country. Our Restaurant team will assist you in choosing the perfect wine or champagne accompaniment to each course of your meal - the right wine can totally transform a dish. If you are looking for a romantic break- Allow us to provide the perfect setting for you!
Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Such a beautiful place, with great food, attentive friendly staff and fine big bedrooms. A real treat.

Helpful?
Thank Mac057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at The Restaurant at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Harvey’s Point again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    58
    26
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derry
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced and under staffed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My heart went out to the poor staff of Harveys point, they were trying their best but there simply wasnt enough staff on,

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at The Restaurant at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and naturally we will take your comments on board, even in the absence of specific details. We do try to have the balance right in terms of staffing levels and hands up if we got it wrong on this occasion. Hopefully we will have a chance to restore your faith in Harvey’s Point sometime in the future. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you need a treat this is the place for you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Fantastic location on the edge of a beautiful lake a short drive from town. It's a real get away from it all treat. Comfort service quality are assured, excellent all round restaurant and hotel. Not typically Donegal in style you feel you could be anywhere in the world and its ambiance is quite continental. Sunday carvery lunch is a real experience and great value, night time menu priced at the upper end of the market but is well worth splashing out over.

Helpful?
Thank 670Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at The Restaurant at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Dear Andrea, Many thanks for your kind words in relation to the dining experience at Harvey’s Point. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Finest fine dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The meals at dinner were wonderful. They wait staff were very accommodating to our children's simpler taste buds and we all had a wonderful evening. The breakfast was delicious and fresh with a wide variety of choices. Can't wait to return!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ellsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at The Restaurant at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Harvey’s Point Experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a chill out weekend in Harveys Point, Donegal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Liked everything, , , setting on lake, scenery, rooms and staff were excellent

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Valerie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollygirl66, Owner at The Restaurant at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear Valerie, Many thanks for your kind words which are most appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Harvey's Point also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to The Restaurant at Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing