We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First visit to Dublin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abigails Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abigails Hostel
Ranked #6 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
“First visit to Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Over the decades (!!) Alan and I have used many hostels in a variety of countries, with our most recent experiences being in the UK and Italy.

WE WERE DELIGHTED with Abigails !!
We would rate it THE BEST WE HAVE HAD (ever!). Its location,price, facilities and staff are all EXCELLENT!!
Thank you to all at Abigails

Room Tip: Ones at the front have the view....and the traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    276
    104
    23
    20
See reviews for
22
60
176
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Abigails is very central as it lies right on the quays by Temple Bar. The rooms are not too bad but the bathrooms don't get cleaned as often as they should be and therefore stink up the whole room. The staff are very friendly and helpful however. They do have wi-fi which is nice and a nice big telly in the common area. The breakfast they serve is healthy and good as well. The kitchen area is large and people are usually good about cleaning up after themselves. Personally I wouldn't stay here again just because of the noise and dirt factor but if you're young enough, I suppose you wouldn't care all that much.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yuhjah727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Abigails is one of the best hostels I've stayed in anywhere in Europe. Stayed with 5 friends and had a excellent time. Hostel really close of all the bars etc of Temple Bar area. The place is clean and the breakfast (which is provided in the price) is really good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu Town, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed here a few weeks ago. The room was in a complete mess, there seems to be no rules in this place - if you want to smoke in the rooms, no problem. If you want to yell and scream in the hostel all night that is also ok.

Big piece of advice for anyone staying here: Tell them every morning which room you are in and that you are staying for another night. There was a mix up with one girl's booking while she was there and when she came back in the evening someone was in her bed, her stuff had all been taken to the reception and her toiletries had been thrown out. Pretty horrible thing to have happen on a holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Super N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, Co Down
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Myself and a group of friends stayed in this hostel after enjoying a night out in Dublin for my birthday and we were all so shocked at the great value it provides! You have to make your own bed but for 11 euro a night, the place is suprisingly clean and well decorated! Would definately recommend it! And whilst we didn't take breakfast, it is also included in the price! Staff are so pleasant and all in all it was a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sinead1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We planned to stay two nights but left after one. The Hostel is clean and very well located. Staff was friendly and helpful and a nice breakfast was provided. The common areas seemed a bit sterile and harsh to me. Our room was a double twin, large with a nice bathroom. The only real problem was that our room faced the front main street and there was a bus stop directly below us. The window was located right at the head of my bed and, since we were several stories up and there was no air conditioning or fan, it was necessary to keep it open. Loud buses, exhaust and VERY noisy people kept me awake most of the night.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for a room that doesn't face the street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Very Basic Hostel, not very clean but acceptable. Average Breakfest. Stayed in 2 different dorm rooms with a large difference in room quality (for the same price of course). Helpful Staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swertyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
The Morgan
#29 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 101 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigails Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigails Hostel

Property: Abigails Hostel
Address: 7/9 Aston Quay | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abigails Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently converted from a hotel, Abigail's Hostel is located in Temple Bar, overlooking the River Liffey and Ha'penny Bridge.All our rooms have private bathrooms, central heating and hairdryers. Our reception is open 24/7 and our friendly staff are happy to help you with tourism information or anything you might need to enjoy your visit to Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Abigails Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing