We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking”
Review of Botanic Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Botanic Villa
Ranked #20 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We were so happy that Sandra had a room for us since we only booked a week before. Unfortunately my daughter was in a car accident in county Donegal. She was in the hospital for a week and when she was released we needed a place to stay in Dublin until we can book our flight home. I phoned Sandra and explained our circumstance. We were lucky that there was a room available. The room must have been the former attic and she did warn us that they were about 30 steps to get up there but we didn't mind that. The room was small but had one double bed and two twin beds and just enough space to walk in between the beds. The room and the tiny bathroom were spotless. The one small window opened to the roof so it felt a little claustrophobic sometimes but we did not really spend a lot of time in the room. The breakfasts we had were good. The location was great for public transport or catching a taxi. We actually picked up the hop on hop off bus at Hedigan's pub which was about a two minute walk from there. We ended up staying four nights. There was one evening when we walked in and smelled cigarettes. The cigarette smell drifted all the way up to our room and lasted through the late evening. We let Sandra know this the next day and she seemed surprised and skeptical about it. This is the only negative thing I can say about the B&B. We had a great stay otherwise. When it was time to leave Sandra arrange for a cab to take us back to the airport and we really appreciated that.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stayed in a double room with en suite. Breakfast was amazing the the hosts Sandra and Ken were wonderful and extremely helpful. Would highly recommend and would stay there again if we were to visit Ireland.

Room Tip: Double room on top floor was very quiet and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

We had a very late arrival, which was no problem for the hosts. A cab from the airport was less than 25 Euros.
We were shown to our accommodation, which was spotlessly clean and met all our needs. We had a separate annex at the back of the property which consisted of 2 double bedrooms and a bathroom. Then it was straight to the local pub which a is 2 min walk!
A hearty breakfast the next morning was delicious! The bus stop into town is 2 mins away (opposite the pub!) and just 2 Euros. Took less than 10 mins.
Sandra is a brilliant host, so welcoming and friendly. We were unprepared for the very wet weather we had that weekend, we were going to an outdoor concert, so Sandra very kindly let me borrow her rain coat which was an absolute life saver!! Borrowed her hair dyer too!
Nothing was too much trouble.
Couldn't recommend Botanic Villa enough, we will definitely be back!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Danni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

My wife and I spent five nights in this friendly B+B recently and have nothing but good memories of it. Although we arrived late at night we were given a warm welcome by Ken and met Sandra at breakfast the following morning. The full Irish breakfast was delicious and Sandra was very helpful with advice about places worth visiting in Dublin. We found the 30 minute walk to town a welcome morning exercise although buses are available. We had good wi-fi in our room which was spotless. The local pub (Henigans Brian Borus) was the best in the area, with a jam session greeting us on our first evening there. Dublin is beautiful, although a little 'tired'. Altogether Botanic Villa was a great place to stay and we will certainly stay there on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back must be quieter at B+B on main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Soakedtotheskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Dublin is a high demand, expensive hotel city. We were in search of a bus convenient, reasonably priced B+B and found it at Botanic Villa. When I created a complication in our reservation, the owner Sandra was extremely accommodating. When my daughter had a passport issue, Sandra was there rendering moral support and assistance.
Irish breakfast was filling and delicious, and Sandra was more than happy to provide a lighter breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutti53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Ken and Sandra were very friendly and helpful. Our room was tidy and the breakfast was very good. I can really recommend this place. There are shops, pubs and sights in the close proximity. After a walk of about 25 minutes, we were in the heart of Dublin. Sometimes, we went by bus. So, we arrived there ten minutes later.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Sandra and Ken Very friendly . Rooms clean
busy road. Good for city centre and on main bus route
Great Irish breakfast to set you up for the day.
The room was equipped with typical overnight stay necessities.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank stbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
Botanic View B & B
Botanic View B & B
#3 of 150 in Dublin
781 reviews
2.4 km away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#11 of 150 in Dublin
303 reviews
2.9 km away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 150 in Dublin
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Egans House
Egans House
#27 of 150 in Dublin
458 reviews
2.2 km away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
1.3 km away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#15 of 150 in Dublin
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Villa

Address: Botanic Villa 13 Botanic Road | Glasnevin, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $143 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botanic Villa, a value priced B&B, is situated less than 15 minutes by bus or car from Dublin city centre. The airport is 20 minutes away by car. We have a choice of double rooms, twin rooms, family and single rooms all with en suite facilities. All our Guest Rooms are equipped with cable television. Tea and coffee making facilities are available to all guests. Secure parking facilities available. Breakfast consists of full Irish breakfast, and for those who wish, a vegetarian and continental is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Botanic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing