We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Times Hostels - College Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Times Hostels - College Street
Ranked #21 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed here two nights during my travel through Dublin and had an excellent time, and I was even in the 10 bed dorm! This is a bigger hostel, but there's still a big community feeling. The fact that there's a great tv and free coffee/hot chocolate/tea in the main room really helps in bringing people together in the awesome kitchen/common room. There's 24 hour staff who I always found very helpful, fun stuff planned every night at the hostel, or stuff the staff can reccommend out in town. The beds were comfy, I slept well (the guinness always helps with that...) and the bathrooms were perfectly fine. I never did try their breakfast since both nights I stayed I left very early in the morning. The location is great - 5 min walk to everything central, and there's even a great local pub next door! I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    197
    93
    38
    30
See reviews for
31
80
94
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I spent 3 nights in The Times hostel in Dublin in December 2011. The location is fantastic, literally across the road from Trinity College. It's safe, clean, warm, great value for money, nice atmosphere and the staff are lovely. There was even free food and wine on some days. A great choice if you want somewhere decent to stay and you're on a tight budget. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welliwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, fun pub crawl, comfortable beds and clean bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We were at the Times Hostel in early November and it really is downtown! Great location and close to Temple Bar and some great pubs.

We stayed in a double room which was spacious for a hostel and two people, but close to the kitchen which made it noisy in the early mornings. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Parking was a bit of a nightmare and very expensive!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed with three friends in a four bed ensuite on the 3rd floor two weeks ago. Room was spotless. Black out blinds on the windows for good sleep quality, Ensuite large and comfortable with plenty of room. Shower quality excellent both in terms of temperature and pressure controls. Free wifi network. There was even a tv in the room with clever compatable velcro strips on the tv and the remote control to stick it to the TV when not in use. Comfy couches in the common room/kitchen area which was very large and had a very social feel about it. All in all an excellent stay.

One or two very minor points.
Staff very courteous but had a feeling they were taking their time and were a bit slow when booking us in.
While the wi-fi network was free the charge to access to the computers in the reception seemed a bit stiff. But it's probably necessary to ensure regular access.
There were a small couple of spots in the bathroom where the grouting and sealant need to be redone as small black marks were starting to appear in places

But to consider this hostel as anything other than top-quality would be extremely unfair. Excellent product, excellent location and an excellent experience.



Extremely minor points.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egrealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

This wast the fist time I stayed in a hostel, stayed in a private room and everything was great. Super nice staff, room not that big but clean, friendly atmosphere, free activities - welcome drinks, city tour (which was real fun!), pancakes, dinner. Also location was amazing, just meters from Temple Bar area, which comes with some street noise, they gave me free ear plugs at the redecptio but I didn't need them in the end. Can definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I did not stay here but I lost my bank card and when I was desperate to call home the dtaffer was super friendly, very helpful and went above and beyhond by letting me use their skype phone for free so I could get in contanct with friends and family. They have tons of infomation and are just the nicest people I have met so far! Highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#41 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,587 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#56 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Hostels - College Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Hostels - College Street

Property: Times Hostels - College Street
Address: 8, College Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Times Hostels - College Street 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful old fashion building, in a fantastic location, The Times Hostel is the perfect base for all tourists and backpackers, to enjoy "The Most Lively City in Europe!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and LateRooms so you can book your Times Hostels - College Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Times Hostel - College Street Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing