We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
137
28
10
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
28
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highly recommend this b b city centre minute walk quiet neighborhood leap card within walking distance excellent breakfast place to stay comfortable beds plenty of hot water enjoyed our stay quiet at night excellent stay stayed for nights temple bar ballsbridge rds
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 175 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2016

Another great stay with Teresa at Oaklodge for the weekend April 10-13 for the Great Ireland Run. Always willing to help out with any request with a friendly smile. You will feel very welcome. Looking forward to the next visit...!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2016

We went there for a gokergame n to learn something about the culture aswell guiness.
the owner takes care about the visitors n helped us to get everything needed.

its a oldfashion building but charming. very close to the rds maybe half a hour away from the centre.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Hi Ralph, I have been very busy so had not the chance to respond to your review. It was lovely having you to stay. I hope the poker is still being lucky for you. The walk to the city is indeed beautiful, especially this time of year when the streets are lined with the beautiful orange blossom trees.
I would be happy to welcome you back if the poker classic returns to the RDS again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2016

Our family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Oaklodge. The room was lovely, the breakfast generous and delicious and the neighbourhood elegant and easy to get to. Teresa is a lovely and welcoming host. The church bells ringing were a little distracting at first but we quickly adapted. We'd happily return for another stay.

Room tip: we stayed in two different rooms - 1 and 2 - both lovely. Bathroom in room 2 is larger but both rooms lovely
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whatnameisavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Thank you for writing a review on Oaklodge and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The neighbourhood is lovely and with Herbert Park just around the corner there is always a place to go to for peaceful walk or to feed the ducks. I am surprised you noticed the church bells. I don't hear them any more and they are far enough away not to cause a disturbance. We would be happy to welcome you back, should you get the opportunity to visit our lovely city again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Teresa, the hostess, was very kind right from the start (at the booking stage). We arrived quite late (around midnight) and she was there to welcome us. We stayed two nights. Our room (the twin en-suite) was very comfortable and well decorated. The breakfast was excellent (full Irish breakfast) - Teresa: I need to get your recipe of the brown soda bread and your black pudding too!! :))
Within 20-25 walking distance from St Stephen's green and Grafton Street. Was not a problem for us (we like to walk and discover places by ourselves).
We will definitely come again (perhaps with the kids too!)
Say "Hi" to your husband who is as kind and friendly as yourself Teresa.

Keep up the good job.

Lots of love from France xxx

And Happy Saint Patrick's Day in advance :) (wish I could have stayed longer to see the celebrations and celebrate with you all!)

Amandine & Xavier

Room tip: Good value for money, very quiet place, very nice area, excellent Irish breakfast
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Thank you Amandine for taking the trouble to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and I am delighted you enjoyed our Irish breakfast and my soda bread. Did I give you the recipe. if not just send me a mail and I will drop it off to you. I can't take the credit for the black pudding but I get it from one of the best suppliers here in Ireland.
I hope you may get the chance to return and that we can once again be your hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a few nights in Dublin and we stayed at Oaklodge. Although the location is a little way out of the city centre the area is very quiet. Theresa, the owner, produces a really good quality breakfast and us always on hand with extra tea or toast. The room we had was a little dated but it was only for sleeping and we spent next to no time there.

Theresa recommend an excellent pub for our first night and was always ready with some helpful advice and tips.

The only thing which stopped this being a five star review was the 25 minute walk in to the city centre which became a bit of a drag after a while.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Dilliondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review about Oaklodge and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our breakfasts. We always appreciate constructive comments from our guests as it helps us to provide a better service.
We have gained much experience over the past 25 years in what the visitor likes and keep ourselves up to date re places of interest, restaurants, theatre, pubs, transport etc. There are many other reasons our clients visit our lovely city and we like to think we can advise on most queries and if not we will check it out and get them the information they require.
I always make it know that the walk to the city is 25 mins but there is also a very regular bus service close by. But for the person who likes to walk the journey is an interesting one, past restaurants, pubs ( some of which provide music as well as food) and shops. This route is also a bus route so if you tire you can hop on a bus for the remainder of your journey.
With regard to rooms being “a little dated” I am wondering which rooms you occupied and when you stayed, as most of the house has just been re-decorated. I appreciate that this may be a matter of taste as the house is of the Victorian era and we have kept some of the rooms true to the period while at the same time being kept in line with modern comforts .
Again I thank you for your comments and hope you may have the opportunity to return for a visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews