We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation - Dublin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
43
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Clean, comfortable room with private bathroom. Delicious complete breakfast. Easily accessible by bus from Dublin airport. Walking distance from pubs and about 30 minute walk to the city center. Teresa is very pleasant, helpful & accommodating.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our irish breakfast satisfying and delicious. As you say there is no shortage of pubs and restaurants locally and of course lots more in the city.
If you have the opportunity to return again we would be happy to welcome you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2016

Another great stay with Teresa at Oaklodge for the weekend April 10-13 for the Great Ireland Run. Always willing to help out with any request with a friendly smile. You will feel very welcome. Looking forward to the next visit...!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We went there for a gokergame n to learn something about the culture aswell guiness.
the owner takes care about the visitors n helped us to get everything needed.

its a oldfashion building but charming. very close to the rds maybe half a hour away from the centre.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Hi Ralph, I have been very busy so had not the chance to respond to your review. It was lovely having you to stay. I hope the poker is still being lucky for you. The walk to the city is indeed beautiful, especially this time of year when the streets are lined with the beautiful orange blossom trees.
I would be happy to welcome you back if the poker classic returns to the RDS again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Our family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Oaklodge. The room was lovely, the breakfast generous and delicious and the neighbourhood elegant and easy to get to. Teresa is a lovely and welcoming host. The church bells ringing were a little distracting at first but we quickly adapted. We'd happily return for another stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in two different rooms - 1 and 2 - both lovely. Bathroom in room 2 is larger but both room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whatnameisavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you for writing a review on Oaklodge and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The neighbourhood is lovely and with Herbert Park just around the corner there is always a place to go to for peaceful walk or to feed the ducks. I am surprised you noticed the church bells. I don't hear them any more and they are far enough away not to cause a disturbance. We would be happy to welcome you back, should you get the opportunity to visit our lovely city again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Teresa, the hostess, was very kind right from the start (at the booking stage). We arrived quite late (around midnight) and she was there to welcome us. We stayed two nights. Our room (the twin en-suite) was very comfortable and well decorated. The breakfast was excellent (full Irish breakfast) - Teresa: I need to get your recipe of the brown soda bread and your black pudding too!! :))
Within 20-25 walking distance from St Stephen's green and Grafton Street. Was not a problem for us (we like to walk and discover places by ourselves).
We will definitely come again (perhaps with the kids too!)
Say "Hi" to your husband who is as kind and friendly as yourself Teresa.

Keep up the good job.

Lots of love from France xxx

And Happy Saint Patrick's Day in advance :) (wish I could have stayed longer to see the celebrations and celebrate with you all!)

Amandine & Xavier

Room Tip: Good value for money, very quiet place, very nice area, excellent Irish breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you Amandine for taking the trouble to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and I am delighted you enjoyed our Irish breakfast and my soda bread. Did I give you the recipe. if not just send me a mail and I will drop it off to you. I can't take the credit for the black pudding but I get it from one of the best suppliers here in Ireland.
I hope you may get the chance to return and that we can once again be your hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a few nights in Dublin and we stayed at Oaklodge. Although the location is a little way out of the city centre the area is very quiet. Theresa, the owner, produces a really good quality breakfast and us always on hand with extra tea or toast. The room we had was a little dated but it was only for sleeping and we spent next to no time there.

Theresa recommend an excellent pub for our first night and was always ready with some helpful advice and tips.

The only thing which stopped this being a five star review was the 25 minute walk in to the city centre which became a bit of a drag after a while.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Dilliondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review about Oaklodge and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our breakfasts. We always appreciate constructive comments from our guests as it helps us to provide a better service.
We have gained much experience over the past 25 years in what the visitor likes and keep ourselves up to date re places of interest, restaurants, theatre, pubs, transport etc. There are many other reasons our clients visit our lovely city and we like to think we can advise on most queries and if not we will check it out and get them the information they require.
I always make it know that the walk to the city is 25 mins but there is also a very regular bus service close by. But for the person who likes to walk the journey is an interesting one, past restaurants, pubs ( some of which provide music as well as food) and shops. This route is also a bus route so if you tire you can hop on a bus for the remainder of your journey.
With regard to rooms being “a little dated” I am wondering which rooms you occupied and when you stayed, as most of the house has just been re-decorated. I appreciate that this may be a matter of taste as the house is of the Victorian era and we have kept some of the rooms true to the period while at the same time being kept in line with modern comforts .
Again I thank you for your comments and hope you may have the opportunity to return for a visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I would definitely go back there when I'll return in Ireland. The couple who are hosting the bed and breakfast are very devoted. The breakfast is amazing, the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. We had the chance to enjoy also a little bit the living room, which's really great for a talk with a tea. You'll sleep tight in the quiet neighbourhood. Definitely worth the price ( 30 - 45 Euros per night /people). :)

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quentin-Alexand... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

We appreciate your taking the time to write a review on Oaklodge and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you say the living room is a welcoming place to relax after a long days walking in the city and is especially useful where guests are occupying more than one room, as it gives them the chance to get together before or after they go out in the evening. It is always available for guest’s use but surprisingly underused.
As you mention the area is quiet and as we are not on a main road there is not a disturbance from traffic.
I would be happy if you have the opportunity to return for a visit in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
1 km away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
6.7 km away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 150 in Dublin
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
1.1 km away
Andorra B&B
Andorra B&B
#11 of 150 in Dublin
218 reviews
1.6 km away
Aaron Court
Aaron Court
#4 of 150 in Dublin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 Pembroke Park | Ballsbridge, off Clyde Road, Dublin D4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaklodge is a superb Victorian residence situated in Dublin's prestigious Ballsbridge area. It is within walking distance of vibrant Stephen's Green and the famous Grafton Street. Experience the thrill of walking down Dublin's main shopping thoroughfare with it's elegant shops, tour the city's many museums and galleries or just soak up the atmosphere and charm of Ireland. No matter what you decide to do Oaklodge is the ideal place to stay for a short break in Dublin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing