We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel
Ranked #43 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom penthouse with 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. Not as glamorous as it sounds but a great price. One small TV in Living area one coffee cup for the 4 of us. The pub was the best we went to. Friendly barkeeps and great music. The pub food was also good. This
hotel has the best location! Walked every were and felt safe late at night. The young lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravSFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

A group of 6 of us stayed in one of the hostel dormitories for 2 nights. We were 2 female adults and 4 kids ranging in age from 11 - 15 yrs old. We had a set of 3 bunk beds and a private bathroom. While the room was basic (as expected in a hostel), the room was very cold and drafty. There was a small wall heater that didnt do much to heat the room. The bedding was really warm so at night, this wasnt a problem. It is definitely located in the heart of the Temple Bar district which is also conveniently located to many sights. A free drink and breakfast was included in the price. We took a Pub Crawl tour which left from the upstairs room of the bar which was a lot of fun, even for the kids.

If you are renting out beds in the hostel with young children, be forewarned that you need to rent an entire room out (even if you dont need that many beds) due to the underage kids. This wasnt a problem for us as there were 6 of us and we had a room with 6 beds. But its good to know if youre traveling with a smaller group.

I expected the room to be louder since we were located above the bar, but it wasnt. Slept well.

Staff were nice and helpful.

Great Kabob place across the street if youre looking for quick, cheap, good food.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tienchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My partner and I and two friends (also a couple) shared a four bed dormitory. The room was very basic but was fine for what we needed. The room was always cold and the heater that was provided only helped a little bit. Outside the window was lit by floodlights meaning the room was very light even with the blinds shut until approx 3am, they need to put in blackout blinds to improve this. It was a little noisy in the early hours of the morning but this was expected as it is located above a pub in the middle of Temple Bar. Having said that the location was excellent, very central to all of Dublins main attractions. It is also about 10 minute walk from O’Connell street (where the buses from the airport stop). The staff were very friendly and the continental breakfast was fine. A free pint of Guinness or a Baileys on arrival in the bar was lovely. Oliver St John Goggarts play live music every night and there is a fantastic atmosphere in there.
Overall I would definitely recommend staying here, the great location, and friendly staff outweigh the fact that the room was cold!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotty02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We spent 3 nights here in a delux apartment. The location is great outside of the Morgan Hotel's Bar is acros the street. The noise that comes from every time the door opens every five minutes wakes the dead until 2 am. It is insane. Mom and two kids sleep on two single beds on the otherside of the apartment while Dad stared at the ceiling due to the noise. The space has a kitchen, dining, living, two bathrooms, and two bedrooms. Great view of the cityscape from the penthouse patio. Loved it. But for the noise. The Gogarty pub was enjoyable...good Irish music from live crew. Friendly bartender. Have to say overall that Dublin is one of the friendliest cities we have visited and we have hit more than forty countries. Fantastic visit.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment inside the main, not on the roof overlooking the Morgan.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed in the apartments and it was great location, good facilities. Clean towels every day, hair dryer and cleaning items supplied. Could do with a little nurturing and this would be fantastic but suppose this is down to others staying and disrespecting the apartments.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossy2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We came here for food and entertainment and I have to say we found both, it was great craic, from the live Irish music to the Guinness bread, it was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr-G-Irwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband and I, plus our grown daughter and a friend, stayed in the Penthouse apartments above the hostel for three nights in October, 2011. When we checked in, we could barely get the front door open, the dishwasher door wouldn't open, the blinds over the front windows were trashed, some lights didn't work, and the coffee table collapsed due to just having a broken leg propped under it. We also had to pay a 20 euro deposit for a blow-dryer. We weren't thrilled about all this, but were just going to live with it for the 3 days. However, the next morning when my husband was showering, something electrical malfunctioned, leaving him all soaped up with no running water because the shower was powered by electricity. After a maintenance man said that it was more than a blown fuse, we were able to move to an adjoining room. This room was in slightly better condition than our original room, except that the TV power button was broken and there was no remote as there had been in our first room. When we went to ask for another remote, we were made to leave another 20 euro deposit.
I sent an email to hostelworld to let them know we were unhappy, as there was only one guy at a small desk for the apartments and hostel both. I didn't hear anything back until I sent a second email after we arrived back home. I was told that they were looking into this and would get back to me. It's been a month since then with no reponse.
Needless to say, I would not recommend these apartments to anyone.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#15 of 120 in Dublin
792 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#7 of 120 in Dublin
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#8 of 120 in Dublin
1,061 reviews
South City Centre
Ashfield Hostel
Ashfield Hostel
#11 of 120 in Dublin
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel

Address: 58/59 Fleet Street, cnr Anglesea | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $20 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver St. John Gogarty`s Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing