We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay very affordable and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #4 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay very affordable and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Great location and very traveler friendly! Make sure you do the Dublin bar crawl it was a great way to see Dublin bar scene and meet other travelers And the locals

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelsoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    380
    134
    39
    26
See reviews for
38
150
228
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

It was great to stay here.
The Staff is really helpful and very friendly.
Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Three of us stayed here just before Christmas to attend attend a concert and we were pleasantly surprised. A 10minute walk from the bus station and we were right in the heart of Temple Bar. The hostel is right in the thick of it but we had a quiets night stay and the receptionist was very welcoming. We had a private room with four beds and a private bath on the top floor which was warm and comfortable. There is free Wi-Fi in the kitchen area but we were just there for the night. Would recommend for short stays again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TechGuy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed here with a group of eighteen on a stag weekend and we were split into two rooms, which meant we didn't have to share with anyone we didn't know. The rooms are basic, clean and contain a decent shower with lots of hot water (although reading some reviews this might be down to most being up early). We were read the riot act when checking in about behaviour but it didn't take long and we were each given a room key which opened a security door and our room door so our luggage was pretty safe in our room.

The hotel is right in the heart of Temple Bar and once you leave Barnacles you are in the thick of it which suited us, but if you are planning peace and quiet forget it. The noise from the bars goes on into the early hours which is then followed up by Dublin Council's fleet of road sweepers. The windows do not block out the noise at all.

For a small fee we used the left luggage facility on the last day to save carrying our bags round and the reception staff organised a couple of minibuses to take us all back to the airport. As for the price, we each paid around £18 for two nights which is a bargain, In fact it's the only bargain you'll find in the most overpriced city I've every visited.

Also for a great breakfast (for the bargain price of £10) try the Stage Door Cafe which is just round the corner from Barnacles.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyschippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Just comeback from the trip in Dublin and sleep in this hostel was really nice we book the room for 6 people in 1 room was clean, has a bathroom inside and is in the perfect location if you would like to go out in typical irlish pubs. Hostel has a fully equipment kitchen with is really nice. I would recommend this hostel to anyone with wants to stay couple of days in Dublin and be in the centre location.

Room Tip: Privite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rado1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed in the Barnacles Temple Bar hostel for 3 nights in August. The hostel is in an absolutely fantastic location, only a couple of minutes to the bars, within walking distance to pretty much all of the attractions and only a few minutes away from the bus tour bus stops as well!

The staff were really helpful and friendly and gave me loads of advice on where to go, what to see and even discounts that I could get.

Free breakfast was a plus and the reading lights above the individual beds were useful as well.

It is very loud at night so if you do want to sleep this probably isn't the best place for you but if you're looking to enjoy the Dublin nightlife and meet some new people then this really is the place to be!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed there 2 nights in late September and it was clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was nice. It got a little loud in the hall one night, but to be expected in the Temple Bar area. They recommended a walking tour, which was great. It is only a few blocks away from The George, where I saw an awesome drag show. Lot's of good pubs and restaurants near by.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#41 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
The Morgan
#33 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,644 reviews
The Clarence
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Property: Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing