We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay very affordable and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Ranked #5 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Great location and very traveler friendly! Make sure you do the Dublin bar crawl it was a great way to see Dublin bar scene and meet other travelers And the locals

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelsoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

It was great to stay here.
The Staff is really helpful and very friendly.
Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlos r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Three of us stayed here just before Christmas to attend attend a concert and we were pleasantly surprised. A 10minute walk from the bus station and we were right in the heart of Temple Bar. The hostel is right in the thick of it but we had a quiets night stay and the receptionist was very welcoming. We had a private room with four beds and a private bath on the top floor which was warm and comfortable. There is free Wi-Fi in the kitchen area but we were just there for the night. Would recommend for short stays again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechGuy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed here with a group of eighteen on a stag weekend and we were split into two rooms, which meant we didn't have to share with anyone we didn't know. The rooms are basic, clean and contain a decent shower with lots of hot water (although reading some reviews this might be down to most being up early). We were read the riot act when checking in about behaviour but it didn't take long and we were each given a room key which opened a security door and our room door so our luggage was pretty safe in our room.

The hotel is right in the heart of Temple Bar and once you leave Barnacles you are in the thick of it which suited us, but if you are planning peace and quiet forget it. The noise from the bars goes on into the early hours which is then followed up by Dublin Council's fleet of road sweepers. The windows do not block out the noise at all.

For a small fee we used the left luggage facility on the last day to save carrying our bags round and the reception staff organised a couple of minibuses to take us all back to the airport. As for the price, we each paid around £18 for two nights which is a bargain, In fact it's the only bargain you'll find in the most overpriced city I've every visited.

Also for a great breakfast (for the bargain price of £10) try the Stage Door Cafe which is just round the corner from Barnacles.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyschippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Just comeback from the trip in Dublin and sleep in this hostel was really nice we book the room for 6 people in 1 room was clean, has a bathroom inside and is in the perfect location if you would like to go out in typical irlish pubs. Hostel has a fully equipment kitchen with is really nice. I would recommend this hostel to anyone with wants to stay couple of days in Dublin and be in the centre location.

Room Tip: Privite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rado1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed in the Barnacles Temple Bar hostel for 3 nights in August. The hostel is in an absolutely fantastic location, only a couple of minutes to the bars, within walking distance to pretty much all of the attractions and only a few minutes away from the bus tour bus stops as well!

The staff were really helpful and friendly and gave me loads of advice on where to go, what to see and even discounts that I could get.

Free breakfast was a plus and the reading lights above the individual beds were useful as well.

It is very loud at night so if you do want to sleep this probably isn't the best place for you but if you're looking to enjoy the Dublin nightlife and meet some new people then this really is the place to be!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed there 2 nights in late September and it was clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was nice. It got a little loud in the hall one night, but to be expected in the Temple Bar area. They recommended a walking tour, which was great. It is only a few blocks away from The George, where I saw an awesome drag show. Lot's of good pubs and restaurants near by.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 126 in Dublin
2,231 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 126 in Dublin
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#8 of 126 in Dublin
1,115 reviews
Sky Backpackers
#9 of 126 in Dublin
354 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#7 of 126 in Dublin
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar

Address: Temple Bar House | 19 Temple Lane South, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $35 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar, the perfect location to explore Dublin City. Barnacles hostels in Dublin and Galway are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar Hotel Dublin
Barnacles Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing