We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Time around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“2nd Time around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel 10 years ago and it just opened and it was a lovely boutique hotel in a great loaction.. This time it is still a good hotel in a great location albeit it is looking a bit tired and worn in places. Our Room was on the 3rd floor and we had a view of a office block and a bit of grass inbetween us, as we arrived on a Friday the office was still in use so had no real privacy! They told us we had been upgraded but the room was still small by "superior" standards! That being said it suited us.. We ate in Thorntons which was nice and we did budget for this , i did not think that there was a lot of atmosphere in the restuarant even though it was full.. the food was and typically Michellin ..it was nice though. The conceirge worked very hard to get us somewhere to eat on the Saturday night and when everything we fancied was booked he recommended a great steak house which was fantastic! Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for one with another view other than the office block
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddsmithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    579
    201
    61
    41
See reviews for
347
1,115
106
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here for my boyfriends birthday in January, it was a surprise for him and we were both very happy with all the hotel has to offer. They went beyond what you'd expect to make our stay a memorable one! We got a room upgrade and a birthday treat for my boyfriend. I think it shows a lot when a hotel makes the extra effort if they know you're there for an occasion! We had dinner in Citron, the food was AMAZING!! Breakfast was delicious, especially the hot chocolate! highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybirds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Great hotel on the edge of St Stephen's Green. Locaton couldn't be better. Service is exceptional, and the quality of rooms is high. Ask for a balcony room overlooking the Green. Restauant is great value.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony room overlooking the Green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroTrav_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanVallely, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear EuroTrav_99,

I am delighted you take such fond memories of your time with us at the Fitzwilliam Hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers and potential visitors to our Dublin City.

The team and I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Alan Vallely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeastern PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We were in Dublin for St. Paddy's day...what a great trip. The Fitzwilliam was close to all of the activities...the parade, the bars and all of the people dressed in their finest Irish attire.

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougBomberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanVallely, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear DougBomberger,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on this most recent stay.

I am delighted to read of your enjoyment of so many aspects of your experience in our care.

The team and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.

Kind Regards,
Alan Vallely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is not a 5 star hotel. It definitely was not what one would expect from a 5 star experience.
Grubby room, with tatty stained carpet was the least of it. I asked not to be put in a smokers room, instead they put me in a non-smoking room on the smokers floor. I wondered why the whole place smelled so rank. The pillows were stained, as was the duvet. We were told it was a 'garden room', but it looked out onto a building opposite, there was no garden. The service was non-existent. There is no atmosphere. You could be in an ordinary 3 star hotel anywhere in the world, yet you're paying 5 star prices. If you have to be in Dublin because of an emergency and there is no-where available to stay, then it's bearable, but if you can find a room anywhere else then take it and count yourself lucky - just don't waste money on this place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miriam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Comfortable rooms and central location make this my first choice business stay in Dublin.
Staff are very professional and helpful.

Rooms overlooking St Stephen's Green are sought after but noisy, if you want a peaceful sleep get one overlooking the garden instead.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanVallely, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear andrew j,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.
I am delighted to read such a positive review of the services and experience we continue to provide you with.

We look forward to continuing to be your first choice hotel when visiting Dublin City and I am sure future guests will benefit from your insider knowledge.

Warmest Regards,
Alan Vallely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at the Fitzwilliam last summer. The location of the hotel is central and we found a lot of restaurants in the area. The check in employees was friendly, but we reserved a Superior Room with Park view and got an Executive Room to the backyard. Well, after returning to the reception and complaining, we received the claimed room. The accommodation was very comfortable, stylish and the bathroom is scrupulously clean.

After an opulent dinner outside the Hotel we came back pretty late. Before I went to bed I need to smoke a cigarette. Yes, some of us still smokers - sorry. I went to the lobby and asked about a smoking area. The night clerk negated and told me, I have to go on the street in front of the hotel. He brought me to the door, opens it, sent me out, locked up and gone away.

I felt very unkomfortable. What do you think about a blond woman, standing alone in the middle of the night in front of a hotel and smoking? Yes – the male pedestrian thought the same. After a few clear offers, I revolved to the door and have to knock like a maniac to come in.
Well, the positive result was, I reduced the nicotine for the rest of our stay, but I did not come to the Fitzwilliam Hotel, pay €239.00 per night, to feel like a floozie.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hilaritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanVallely, Front Office Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear hilaritas,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.
Thank you for providing feedback on your most recent visit to Dublin City.

I am delighted to read that you found our service(s) to be friendly, comfortable, stylish and scrupulously clean. It is a pity however that your overall rating does not reflect these sentiments.
As with guest feedback of a positive or regrettable nature, it is imperative to drive to the root of the cause and examine factors leading to the feedback received. I thank you for allowing me the opportunity to do this.

I note from your review that you have awarded just 3 out of 5 points for cleanliness yet felt compelled to acknowledge our accommodations, as above, "scrupulously clean"

Please allow me to sympathise regarding the discomfort experienced by the actions of our night team representative securing the door behind you, prompting you to knock for re-entry to the property. I do however feel it would be irresponsible of the hotel to shoulder/assume blame for the nature of late night Dublin city revellers and their reaction to your presence and/or appearance.
We do also have a doorbell at the front door for after hours entry or re-entry to the hotel.

hilaritas, I am available at the hotel at any time to discuss any outstanding feedback you may be able to offer regarding your stay and invite you to contact me directly if I may assist in any way.

With Kind Regards,

Alan Vallely
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,696 reviews
0.6 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
0.3 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.6 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing