We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #7 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed here a couples of times, very enjoyable on both occasions. Highly recommendable. Last visit was in early March just before St Patricks day. Good location! Great service. A couple of niggles but nothing to detract from the overall quality experience. We booked a suite which was fantastic
Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestburyManager, Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I welcome your kind feedback on the hotel which is incredibly encouraging and greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aidan Dempsey
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,686
    707
    194
    62
    39
See reviews for
633
1,625
144
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was a wonderful hotel from the minute our cab pulled up the the front and a wonderful doorman met us. We were led up to the room, showed how everything worked, got a second luggage rack for our suitcases and anything we called downstairs for. Each evening (there were 4) we stopped down in the lobby, by a nice young piano player entertaining, for a nightcap. The first night, I ordered a Southern Comfort sour. They made it, brought it and waited to check if it was OK. The next three nights, asked me if I wanted the same, and checked when a new bartender came on. The last night we ordered a sandwich as well. I would highly recommend it. The location is perfect--right in the heart of Temple Bar, the shopping and eating district. When you want to feel like you're known and cared about, this is your spot in Dublin. It made our first trip to Ireland special.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestburyManager, Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Mary Ellen M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you experienced the true Westbury Hotel welcome and that your every need was seamlessly taken care of during your stay. Thank you for your generous comments about our friendly team and in particular our Bar Service Team. I have passed on your comments to all concerned and I know it will serve as a motivator to provide exceptional guest service to our future guests.

Mary Ellen M, thank you once again for your feedback and positive comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aidan Dempsey
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. All your needs are taken care of and although the breakfast buffet is small, you also order from the breakfast menu. Cooked eggs to order or omelettes. Anything you really need. Top class hotel and wonderful, wonderful location. The cost is high but well worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdandjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestburyManager, Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Jdandjd,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I welcome your kind feedback on the hotel which is incredibly encouraging and greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aidan Dempsey
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Westbury over St. Patrick's weekend in Dublin. Location is AMAZING just off Grafton Street in Dublin and an easy walk to everything, but tucked off a side street so the hotel itself was extremely tranquil and felt like an oasis from the madness of the St. Patrick's celebrations.

The staff was courteous and the service was unlike anything I've received elsewhere -- they called me the day before my arrival to confirm my booking, asking when our flight was due to arrive; we were arriving in the morning so they made a note to get us an earlier check-in if possible; also asked if we needed directions to the hotel which I asked about and they gave me details about bus options from the airport. We arrived at the hotel at 11:30AM on St. Patrick's day so were not surprised they did not have a room ready (normal check in time is 2 or 3pm) - they offered to take my cell phone and ring once our room was ready -- they called only 45 minutes later!

Our room was spacious, immaculately clean and very comfortable. Free wi-fi throughout.

A bit pricey (we got a good rate with my company) but worth the splurge!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestburyManager, Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Michster54,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you experienced the true Westbury Hotel welcome and that your every need was seamlessly taken care of during your stay. Thank you for your generous comments about our friendly team. I have passed on your comments to all concerned and I know it will serve as a motivator to provide exceptional guest service to our future guests.

Michster54, thank you once again for your feedback and positive comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aidan Dempsey
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel 21-25 March 2012 in room 332 we purchased a rail break from Northern Ireland Railways which incuded travel - On check in at the hotel the receptionist had no reservation for us and attempted to charge us for our accommodation which had been paid previously when we got to our room it was a twin room instead of a queen room we returned to reception where we were given a queen room it is just satisfactory in size however the bathroom is nice but very small the room was clean and bed comfortable and located at the front of the hotel on the third floor the noise from people at the near by bars was abserluty extream we got no sleep before 3.30 am where i except the hotel as no control over whats happening outside i feel no one should be put in these rooms as there is no way guests will get any sleep the hotel must be aware of this i consider this a big negative - we ordered a bottle of wine from room service which was deliverd promptly and with a nice ice bucket we also had afternoon tea in the lovely marble lounge on two seperate occations which was very nice and the service was very good - We had dinner in the Wilde restuarant service was good food was average and on the second visit my partner had lobster which was just terrible at a cost 52 euros and gave her many visits to the loo we made the manager aware of our concerns regarding the standard of this meal he replied the chiefs need more practise at cooking lobster so are we paying for the hotel chiefs to practise the trade this is not good enough the lobster MUST be removed from the menue before someone becomes seriously ill futher more there were only two couples plus us in the Wilde and this was a Friday night and on the Saturday night about 10 couples and frankly i am not surprised as the standards are just not good enough not 5 star - Breakfast was very nice and serice was good we also enjoyed a super table at breakfast on both mornings.
In summary this hotel is nice but the bad out way the good no sleep terrible evening meal and expensive call me old fashioned but its a fail as these are big issues.
my top tip if you have to stay at this hotel do not under any curcumstances except a room at the front of this hotel unless you have a pair of ear muffs and dont eat dinner in the Wilde Restaurant.
We have stayed many times in and around Dublin in the K Club, Powers Court and the Merrion Hotel i have to say the Westbury does not come close.
Disapointingly we can not recommend this hotel we will not return.

Room Tip: My top tip if you have to stay at this hotel do not under any curcumstances except a room at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbeglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestburyManager, Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear tbeglan,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are very disappointed to hear of your experiences at The Westbury Hotel. We are currently conducting an investigation into all the areas you have mentioned and have passed your feedback on to all relevant department managers who are intent on ensuring that all guests have a positive experience each time they visit the Westbury Hotel.

I would be delighted to speak to you in person about this experience and I invite you to contact me at the hotel at aidan_dempsey@doylecollection.com to fully understand and discuss your feedback further.

Sincerely,

Aidan Dempsey
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed for a special occasion with my sister. Was made to feel very welcome on our arrival. In fact had a good vibe from inital phone booking with girl in reservations who was warm and lovely.Staff were never overbearing ( which can sometimes be the case in 4+/5 star hotels). Room was great, four poster and spacious. No problem in getting a roll away bed for child.( booked in advance)

Bathroom was a little disappointing in terms of size and no seperate bath and shower. Otherwise fine. Many of the items listed for the mini bar were not actually in it. I do believe that at this price bottled still and sparkling water should be provided free of charge in the room.Ordered room service cocktails and wine - both fairly priced. Returned form an afternoon shoppping to complimentary cupcakes in our room. Nice touch!

Breakfast was ok/ a little disappointing. Nothing exciting in the continental offerings and the Irish Breakfast was a little skimpy ( it included one sausage and one slice of bacon plus other items.) Certainly not worth 25 euro. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel It was just lovely and any small issues above were just that....small issues!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eliz-ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear eliz-ire,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Westbury Hotel Dublin and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of our renowned establishment on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is important to us and your feedback is most appreciated indeed.
Comments from our guests allow us to carefully monitor and ensure the very best of standards associated with those of Leading Hotels Of The World.
I do hope that it will not be too long before I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel and thank you once again for your comments and custom.

Kind regards,
Laura Farrington
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was quality all the way. It has a friendly staff, and comfortable rooms even by European standards. The hotel has a great location; right on Grafton Street. The value here is outstanding. A 5 star hotel all the way

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestburyManager, Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Tofan123,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations on every aspect of your stay. I am also delighted to read that our fantastic location made your visit to Dublin even better!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Westbury Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Aidan Dempsey
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
0.5 km away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.5 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
1.5 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.6 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing