We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy + Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

What a lovely hotel the rooms are so cosy the lighting in the rooms make it so relaxing you want to stay in bed and not get up, the beds are so cosy and big, the staff are just wonderful we had the pleasure of meeting Eric on front desk who was so helpful in giving us great information in and around Dublin thank you so much Eric we took all of your advise, the breakfast was great plently to choose from, the dinner we had was in the bar which I have to say was not great but that would not put me off from going back to stay again.

The maid service excellent the lady on the 3rd floor was so helpful a big thank you to her for keeping our room so clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Front 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mckinneybelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the lovely review. I am so glad you had such a great stay with us. I was delighted to hear how much impressed you were with your room, the service of our staff and the breakfast in our restaurant. I hope you had a terrific time in Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,329 - 3,335 of 4,164 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed here about two years ago and loved it!! Stayed again two weekends ago and loved it again!! Great open fires lighting, plenty of chatter in the bar, food lovely as usual. Trying to get a drink at the bar proved to be a tad slow but other than that it was great. Room was gorgeous and had a great sleep, woke up and had a lovely breakfast except for the fried eggs which were not really edible. but really enjoyed everything else, we'll definitely be back!! Well done....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. I’m delighted you had such a terrific stay with us and enjoyed everything from your room to the atmosphere and food in the bar and I hope to welcome you back once again sometime soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

had to call reception in the middle of the night due to noise on corridors......eventually had to go downstairs to complain. Noise continued until the morning. I don't understand why people weren't removed from the hotel when other paying customers were unable to sleep. Other people on the 2nd floor also complained.

Breakfast was understaffed. Filthy tables everywhere. Long queues of people waiting to be seated. Dirty ware being given out.....buffet not being replenished.....rubbish service.

Managements response was unhelpful and frustrating when issues were brought to them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank segadimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The management/owners of this place seem intent upon destroying its reputation through understaffing. We used to drop in there regularly for dinner. It was good food. In the past two years service has got much worse. The service during our last number of visits has been unworthy of a hotel as classy as this. It has included, waiting up to 90 minutes for food, and when the food came out it was either not hot enough or was not what we ordered. It is commercial suicide to have such appalling service.

Yesterday we were there for a function and from start to finish the service was dreadful. The wait between dinner and coffee was almost an hour. And this was after they annoyed the host by not giving food that they had agreed beforehand, and which was consequently on the menu which Clontarf Castle printed. The function was also for somebody with an Irish name. Do you think the staff had the basic cop-on to keep the fadaí on the name which they had been given? No. Small things, basic things. I don't think the person who paid for all this is going to go back in a hurry.

This problem of terrible service is one created entirely by the management/owners who clearly are deliberately understaffing the place. It is a pity because Clontarf Castle used to be a nice place to go to for dinner on an evening (when it didn't have soccer blaring on the tvs in every corner of the room) after walking on Dollymount Strand.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeadarODoirnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Being a regular traveller, it is nice to find a hotel where you feel at home. Clontarf Castle has all the amenities and home comforts needed when away, the staff are always friendly, helpful and accomodating the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the food is always excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the lovely review, I’m so glad you had such a nice stay with us. It’s always good to hear when a guest is impressed with everything especially the service of our staff and the comfort of our rooms. I’m delighted you had such a great stay and I hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Loved this place. It was a unique place to stay. Very beautiful in the inside, staff was AMAZING and very friendly. Clean rooms with great beds. Would absolutely recommend this place and go back! It is a little far from downtown Dublin so you need to ride a bus to get to where the fun stuff happens but if you are looking for a place that is quiet but still a reasonable distance from the city it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how impressed you were with everything from our dedicated staff to your room and the location. As you mention we are located in a quiet area a stone’s throw from the city centre. The hotel is serviced frequently by the 130 bus which takes roughly 10-15 minutes to reach the hustle and bustle of the city. I hope you had a wonderful time in Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle on your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed 1 night with my wife, lovely reception, staff friendly, large modern room on gound floor, bar very nice, good bar food, expensive restaurant, very good buffet breakast, close to centre Dublin, enjoyed this short relaxing break.
Would recommend staying here, short drive/bus to centre Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeathJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am delighted you had such a visit and I was so happy to hear how impressed you were with everything during your stay with us. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again some time soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,662 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,451 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,643 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,673 reviews
4.0 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $175 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing