We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely Hotel with some room for improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with some room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at the Clontarf Castle Hotel for 5 nights in February. We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay there again. There is a bus line that stops outside the hotel which will take you to Dublin center. There is also free parking which is a plus if you have a rental car.

The view of the hotel as we approached was so impressive. It looked especially nice when it was lit up at night. The lobby had a roaring fireplace which was so inviting.

The front desk staff and concierge staff were always welcoming and professional. We especially enjoyed Eric. He is a man who clearly loves what he does!

We had a deluxe room and it was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the amenities were fine. Our one complaint about our room, which was very near the elevator, was the noise level from the function room which is next to the lobby. There was a wedding one night and a party another. The lobby has a very high ceiling which looks very impressive but sound carries to the upper levels (when there is a noisy function it would be nice if the hotel staff would close the doors that open out to the lobby from the hallways leading to the sleeping rooms.) Our colleagues who had rooms further down the hall didn't hear the noise, so if you request a room away from the elevators noise shouldn't be a problem.

The Knight's bar is lovely with lots of dark wood. The bar, the dining room,and the breakfast room, however, really need more staff. The staff were pleasant and professional but were overwhelmed by the numbers of people that each one was trying to serve.

The town of Clontarf is about a fifteen minute walk from the hotel. It is a very pleasant walk through an upscale residential neighborhood. There are several nice restaurants there.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MermaidFlorida_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the very kind review. I am so glad you had such an enjoyable time staying with us. It was nice to hear how impressed you were with everything from the service of our staff, your room & amenities to the décor of the hotel. I do hope you had a memorable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,347
    751
    260
    100
    69
See reviews for
732
1,708
71
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Given room key and walked in on another couple who had also been given that room.On departure day came back from a poor breakfast and was locked out of room,hotel change key entry cards at 10.30 am; Lovely building poorly managed.My friend emailed a complaint didnt get a reply back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilio186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the Clontarf Castle Hotel, we love it. The hotel is stunning and the location is great just a couple of miles from the City centre but near a bus route in.

The rooms are small but fully equipped and very comfy. We have stayed in Dublin City Centre loads of times and Clontarf Castle beats them for value and it is quiet so you actually get some sleep. You would pay about 50 Euros more for a city centre hotel of equal standard.
Knight’s bar is really nice, good pub food menu.

I do agree with a lot of other reviewers that the standards are dropping though. We had dinner included in the Fahrenheit Grill as part of the package. The food was really mediocre and service was average. Both have always been brilliant before. At breakfast the food items were not replaced and the service was poor again.

The deals you get here are great and I would stay here again, but you can see the cuts and it affects the whole feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmm7levels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We were expecting a boutique hotel. It is, in fact, rather big – and a popular venue for local events.

Location : a little off center, in a green suburb. About a 10-15mn taxi ride to downtown

Room was medium sized and well equipped. All you could expect from a standard hotel room in that category. Not much to say about it, really. What you see (on the hotel website) is exactly what we got. Bathroom is in fact a very comfortable shower room, equipped with a large italian shower. We really appreciated that. That and the shortbreads provided with tea facilities.
Lobby provides several nooks and was quite welcoming.

Food is anything but worth writing home about – let alone writing TA about. Just try and go elsewhere.
We had dinner twice, tried some finger food in Knights Bar and only had breakfast once on our first day (the irish breakfast taken on the 1st floor, where we were almost the only guests in a very large beautiful but chilly room). The following days, we had breakfast in town.
As I said and from our limited experience (but which did not encourage us to experiment any further), cuisine is by far not the place’s selling point (despite what they advertise).

Staff was…. various. Some of them were really charming. After a week or so, the cerberian at reception desk engaged in a hint of a smile. Hurray !

All in all, I would say it is a good average hotel. Nothing extraordinary, nothing unforgettable, but a very decent stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomanslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to welcoming. I was happy to hear how impressed you were with your room & it’s amenities however, I was disappointed that you didn’t enjoy the food as it is something which we are often complimented on – both in the bar & restaurant. I hope you had an enjoyable stay in Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My mother, 9yr old daughter and I stayed here for one night in Feb 2012. Castle is absolutely gorgeous. My daughter loved it. The concierge, Eric went out of his way to help us in every way. He set up a fun night of Irish dancing and music in Temple Bar area, and even called ahead to notify them that my daughter was coming and is an Irish dancer who just won 1st place at All Irelands. He went even further the next day and assisted me on getting a rental car. Exceptional service thanks to Eric. Breakfast was good, typical Irish breakfast. All staff very friendly. I would definitely stay here again. :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the lovely review. I’m so glad you had such a lovely time with us and that our dedicate concierge Eric looked after you and could assist you with your needs. I hope you had a terrific stay with us and I do hope we get a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Mark Long
Nice Stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

we stayed for 1 night on 14th feb, everything was wonderful we stayed in a very large spacious room, the food in the restaurant was gorgeous and the staff were very helpful. I will definetly stay in clontarf castle again and would highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ci83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the lovely review. I’m so glad you had a wonderful Valentine’s stay with us and that you very much enjoyed your room, the food and the service of our dedicated staff. I do hope we get a chance to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

An absolute Gem. What an incredibly imposing entrance to the grounds, not to be disappointed by the incredible combination of old castle and modern architecture entrance.

A step through the doors and you find yourself in an era of yesteryear, with suits of armour welcoming you, further along into the lobby, a lovely huge warming fireplace resplendent against the original stonework of the castle, complete with Juliet balcony. Adjacent to that in the centre of the lobby is a massive steel sculpture, reaching up to the heavens and the glass ceiling.

The rooms on the other hand, are modern, well equipped and clean. Totally different to what one would expect looking at the outside of the building.

The bed was large, comfortable and spotless. All cons expected such as,minibar, tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries are welcomed.

The Knights bar was popular, well attended and a great atmosphere. Service was good and the staff helpful.

Service was very good with the reception standing out above all. Having checked in the previous evening, when checking out was greeted by name, by the reception clerk. A surprise these days when one appears to be nothing more than a number! Nice touch.

I will be coming back to Dublin and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleSigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for the wonderful review. I was delighted to hear how wonderful a time you had staying with us recently. I’m glad you were so impressed with everything from the architecture & décor of the hotel to your room & amenities and atmosphere in Knight’s Bar. I’m also delighted to hear how our dedicated staff members could look after you. I hope you had a fantastic stay in Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle on your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,226 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,635 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,106 reviews
4.5 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing