We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly refurbished rooms a great improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Newly refurbished rooms a great improvement”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed in one of the refurbished rooms which are a great improvement.

Breakfast is a good spread of full Irish and continental.

The bar and the bar food are both good.

The staff can appear to be distant but are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PavlH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,698
    825
    268
    102
    69
See reviews for
879
1,898
79
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I booked this hotel after some research with the intention of making a marriage proposal on new years eve and with the help of the concierge Ankhar was able to produce the perfect scene for the proposal which happened on the stroke of midnight and we still managed to make the knights bar for the piper, an excellent hotel well worthy of it's 4 star status, we intend to return for our first wedding anniversary

Room Tip: We had an upper floor room and on new years day we woke to choir like music which proved most uplift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinP1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review. I was delighted to hear about your special proposal in our hotel and I am so glad our dedicated concierge & staff could assist you with everything. I am so glad you had such a great stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again for your anniversary.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for just one night in January and had a great night. The hotel is half modern hotel half old castle and looks great inside and out.
Service was great and the room was nice. Breakfast was good, in a nice room in the castle part.
We'd stay again no problem.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the lovely review. I am so glad you had such a nice stay with us and I was delighted to hear how impressed you were with the service, your room and the food. I hope you had a great stay in Dublin and It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This castle is quite a sight, esp when illuminated at night. Coats of armor, tapestries, and warm fire greet you upon arrival. The rooms are nice and fixed with all that is-- modern but extra charming because of the fusion with the old. It does get loud when a wedding or function is going on but all else is grand.
Eric is the nicest human being I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. He gave great advice, directions, and conversation. He is truly one of the bright spots of our stay. Give him a raise!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so glad you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed everything from the hotel’s décor to your room. I will pass on your lovely comments to Eric, our dedicated concierge. I hope you had a terrific stay in Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently for business and whilst there is nothing wrong with it, I just found it very average.
The original castle is lovely (what is left of it) however, when you envisage a castle, you don't expect it to be slap bang in the middle of a housing estate. From the breakfast room you can actually see into peoples houses!

We arrived late and were a bit dismayed to see the hotel was packed with a private party, lucky the noise didn't transfer to our room. The lady at reception was pleasant and helpful, but I was suprised to see her back on again early the next morning. In fact she seemed to be on duty permanently, as there was a distinvt late of other staff.

Our room was fine, cold but clean and a reasonable size. Bathroom modern, with walk in shower, actual rain shower was a bit limp, the hand shower attachment had much more pressure. Bed was hard as were the pillows, so didn't get great nights sleep, but the noise from outside the window, where staff were depositing glass bottles to be recycled at all hours and other guests slamming their doors was worse!

Breakfast was included in our rate and was pretty standard, I skipped the fried everything myself, but my boyfriend said it was ok. There was a reasonable choice from the buffet, including healthier options and you could order a few things like porridge. Staff were polite and efficient, despite it being very busy.

In conclusion, it's fine, it's not to far into the City by bus so location is reasonable, but it's nothing fantastic and I wouldn't make a special trip here. We stayed because it was pre arranged for a business meeting (at my expense) so didn't have any preconceived ideas. However if you are going for pleasure, don't go thinking you are staying in an Irish castle set in rolling grounds, or with lavish rooms and furnishings. When you walk along the corridors to the bedrooms, you could be in a Premier Inn or in fact anywhere.

Also point to note, this hotel has lots of functions such as private parties and Dancing competitions that go on very late, so it's busy/noisy in addition to its guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing towards the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanoir_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at the Clontarf Castle Hotel for 5 nights in February. We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay there again. There is a bus line that stops outside the hotel which will take you to Dublin center. There is also free parking which is a plus if you have a rental car.

The view of the hotel as we approached was so impressive. It looked especially nice when it was lit up at night. The lobby had a roaring fireplace which was so inviting.

The front desk staff and concierge staff were always welcoming and professional. We especially enjoyed Eric. He is a man who clearly loves what he does!

We had a deluxe room and it was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the amenities were fine. Our one complaint about our room, which was very near the elevator, was the noise level from the function room which is next to the lobby. There was a wedding one night and a party another. The lobby has a very high ceiling which looks very impressive but sound carries to the upper levels (when there is a noisy function it would be nice if the hotel staff would close the doors that open out to the lobby from the hallways leading to the sleeping rooms.) Our colleagues who had rooms further down the hall didn't hear the noise, so if you request a room away from the elevators noise shouldn't be a problem.

The Knight's bar is lovely with lots of dark wood. The bar, the dining room,and the breakfast room, however, really need more staff. The staff were pleasant and professional but were overwhelmed by the numbers of people that each one was trying to serve.

The town of Clontarf is about a fifteen minute walk from the hotel. It is a very pleasant walk through an upscale residential neighborhood. There are several nice restaurants there.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MermaidFlorida_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the very kind review. I am so glad you had such an enjoyable time staying with us. It was nice to hear how impressed you were with everything from the service of our staff, your room & amenities to the décor of the hotel. I do hope you had a memorable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Given room key and walked in on another couple who had also been given that room.On departure day came back from a poor breakfast and was locked out of room,hotel change key entry cards at 10.30 am; Lovely building poorly managed.My friend emailed a complaint didnt get a reply back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilio186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,541 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,211 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,936 reviews
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,602 reviews
4.0 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing