We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekday Lunch, Well worth the detour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Weekday Lunch, Well worth the detour”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Over the years I cannot count how many times I have had lunch in Clontarf Castle,The food has mostly been good but there have been times when I just wished someone would care a little more about the cooking and presentation of the food along with selecting a menu that reflected our wealth of wonderful products here in Ireland. On my last couple of visits the lunch menu has been quite tasty. The lounge area in the castle where the buffet lunch is served has such a pleasant ambiance and such polite staff that it is well worth a detour.. The room itself has a medieval theme with dark wood furnishings, an oak floor, two huge carved stone chimney pieces and heavy brocade drapes complete the look which is a nice occasional change from the contemporary feel to most cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the kind review. I am so glad to hear how much you have been enjoying the food in Knight’s Bar and also how impressed you are with the service of our dedicated bar staff. As a valued customer your feedback is very important and helps us to continue to improve upon the standard of service we strive to provide. I hope we continue to see you on a regular basis.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,703
    825
    269
    102
    69
See reviews for
884
1,899
79
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I recently had the Best stay ever in Clontarf Castle on the 1st April, oh and this isnt an April fools joke,lol.. From the minute we arrived the atmosphere was so warming, the interior blew us away..We stayed in an executive room, Wow it was like a mini suite, so so impressed with Our stay, we sure will be back..Could I also mention the Friendly staff in Knights Bar, especially Dympna, she was one of the nicest ladies we meet, A great Embassador for Clontarf Castle, she needs a pay rise.. Breakfast was also beautiful and the staff were excellant...You made Our stay Special, ThankYou All.. Clontarf Castle, was a great experience we did feel like King and Queen on Our stay, the staff couldnt have been any more helpful, the atmosphere was so warming, I didnt want to leave..A definate must stay, You wont be disappointed..Mary and Vic..Northern Ireland..

Room Tip: Up grade to an Executive room,its not that expensive, its like a mini suite, so much room to relax i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was a nice place to stay. We were hoping for more of a castle feel which this place lacked. All the modern updates has you forget you are in a castle. We have stayed in old castle before and I know from experience. Amenities were great. Hotel and rooms super clean and comfy. Restaurants inside were top notch but hard to get into because they were busy. Ate at the bar and food was really good. Took 12 euro cab ride to pubs in town.

Would have given "excellent" but staff will not go out of their way for you unless you ask them to and wanted more of a Castle feel. This is a busy place with a restaurant, bar and club. Also had a charity event with a live bang going on in anothe area. Breakfast was really good and added to the value greatly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFight1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the kind review. I was glad to hear how impressed you were with your room, the amenities and the bar & restaurant. I do hope you had a fantastic stay in Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again some time in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

An away from the city center hotel with lot's of tradition in the building, contrasted by the modern high quality rooms which are supurb. The fixed price restaurant menu for around 20euro is great value with locally sourced produce featured. The downstairs bar offers a snack menu as well, and when I've been there has had agreat atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_H910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I was so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how impressed you were with everything from the hotel décor to your room and the food in the restaurant. I hope you had a truly enjoyable stay in Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is now a very good hotel, particularly since it was refurbished.It has retained the "castle" features but has added the modern wing which is fitted out to a very high standard. The staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel was very busy during our visit but we were still got very good service. The only quibble we had was that the dinner menu was a little restricted . However the food was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the wonderful review. I am so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us recently and I was delighted to hear how impressed you were with everything from the staff to the décor of the hotel. I hope you had a wonderful trip to Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again some time soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I just stayed at Clontarf Castle Mar 29/29 2012 with my mother and brother. As a Travel Professional on vacation, I don't ever stop working! I was curious about Clontarf Castle, being a castle/hotel experience so close to Dublin city. This was my third trip to Ireland and I was so very happy with my stay at Clontarf Castle. The Castle itself has an interestitng history and the room we had was very comfortable. Our included breakfast was very good, our last day we had to grab breakfast at 6:30 am since my driver was picking us up at 7:00am for the airport. The woman who served us was so lovely , she overheard me say how much I loved the Irish Soda bread. Came back from the kitchen with several pieces backed up in tin foil to take away ! I was blown away by that attention to detail and her gesture. We ate a few times at the pub " Knight's Bar" the food was very good as well. I will tell you the most memorable and wonderful part of our stay was having the pleasure of meeting " Eric , the Concierge ! ". Eric is a total stand out, he is the standard by which all Concierges should live up to. Eric is just outstanding, personable, helpful, attentive, just an absolute delight ! I wanted to bring him home with me , but he is very happily married.
I must say the staff at Clontarf Castle are all very good, but Eric makes me want to come back !
I will be delighted to send ALL my Dublin / Ireland bound clients to stay at least one night with you.
The experience was so very special, I will never forget my trip to Ireland.
Thank you so much Eric for all the attention you gave my family.
Cheers,
Maria Saenz - Montrose Travel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaFSaenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us and I was delighted to hear how impressed you were with everything from the food to the service. It was also very nice to hear how Eric, our dedicated Concierge could help you with everything you needed and I’m sure he will be elated to hear your kind words. I hope you had a very memorable trip to Ireland and I would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle upon your next return.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My family and I stayed at the Clontarf Castle Hotel for two nights in March 2012. We had the pleasure of being hosted by Eric, the Concierge. Eric was so wonderful. He helped us find tours, gave us directions, found us transportation, shared a few good tales, and was always on hand with a wonderful happy smile and good cheer. He really does the Irish people, and Clontarf Castle Hotel, a marvelous service and representation. I got up at 11 p.m. at night remembering I needed to send an e-mail and walked down the hall to find a computer. There was Eric, ready to help. We would go back to Clontarf to stay just to visit Eric! Thanks for making our last two days in Ireland so fabulous!

Room Tip: We had two rooms - one was a triple and one a double. The triple was handicap accessible, and was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the lovely review. I am so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us recently and it was great to hear how our dedicated Concierge Eric could assist you with everything. I hope you had a fantastic visit to Ireland and I would be delighted to welcome you back again some time soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,546 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,216 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,944 reviews
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,602 reviews
4.0 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing