We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #90 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Stayed here June 2017. Room was clean, but the pub downstairs was fabulous. Great music and good old tradional Irish food. Great vibe in the pub, and just loved clapping along to the fantastic music, definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room as some of the rooms are over the pub and could be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank catherinemE3420AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

Excellent location (5min walk from O'Connell), the room was small (and bathroom tiny!) but clean enough. A little noisy at nights because of the traffic and pubs in the streets.
Staff at reception was ok, you just have to ask if you need anything because they won't ask you first, Esther (in care of breakfast) is lovely and funny.
No wifi in the hotel apart from the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank missChachou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Location was good, not a far walk from O'Connell street and a 15 minute walk to Temple Bar. Room was very basic, but clean enough for what we needed. My father and I stayed 3 nights before joining a bus tour. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. Great breakfast to start the day. I was sorely disappointed in our room for a few particular reasons. I had researched heavily before booking and the guesthouse looked like what we needed. However, the pictures are deceiving, our room was very small (which I expected) but it felt like our room was a converted utility room. I never thought I would have to ask specifically for a room with a window at eye level. It was ridiculous and certainly would not pass Canadian fire codes. The whole trip we had a running joke about how nice our other hotels were because we had a window. The window in this room was near the ceiling, and had a mickey mouse cord tied to a handle to open and shut it. Further more, 'open' was not much. The room was quite hot, at least we had the smallest fan I've ever seen to cool us down. ha. So if you are booking here, because of the location, breakfast, and price, please remember to ask for a room with a window you can see out of. If it wasn't for the staff I would be rating this lower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window at eye level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nataliemccluskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Few people seemed to know how to get to Talbot street so we dragged our suitcases up and down O'Connell trying to find a sign for Talbot. We discovered that there are many people living here who are from other countries.

I explained in my correspondence that I have difficulty climbing stairs. He wrote back that we would be on the first floor which pleased me until we arrived and learned that the Irish have the same floor numbering system as Europe and the first floor was up a long staircase. This is where we first met Esther who was cleaning the stairs and she made sure to dry them well so I wouldn't slip. Esther also served breakfasts and her warm humor, her delightful laugh and her concern for the clients was heartwarming. There was also a younger girl working along with her weekdays who was so very nice.

Reception was polite but nothing more. The front rooms are adequate size however the bathroom was very tiny. The major problem with room 101 was the noise and if we had the window open to get fresh air, the fumes from delivery trucks would fill the room. Avoid front rooms.

The breakfast was more than enough for us and their dark break that is made in the kitchen is delicious. We will miss the bread so much as well as Esther.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Gale43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel was basic but everything you need if you're just looking to explore Dublin and don't want to spend too much money on a place to sleep! Room was small but comfy and clean. Free breakfast was great. Wifi was rather spotty so don't plan to do work or streaming there. Location was really convenient - we had heard that it was a rough area but we were totally fine even late at night. Bar downstairs is very cute and fun

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kbrzoznowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place. It was clean with adequate amenities, and I can't fault the location it was perfect.

However the wifi barely worked, not just in our room but most of the building. There was a strong smell of cigarettes in our room and the hallway on the second floor. Also there were several times when no one was at the desk to let us in even though the reception is 24 hours. They came after the bell was pushed. If our key had opened the external door that wouldn't have been an issue, but it doesn't.

I left wishing I had paid more to book somewhere else and not gone for the relative "bargain". It really wasn't a bargain at all.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tashacaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

I arrived at 2 am, after a terrible ferry crossing. Nice Irish guy on the desk got me a single room, I was up next morning at 9 am to a full Irish breakfast, lady with Dublin accent was very helpful and friendly. Nice shower, WC, bed. Not a cheap option, but all the staff I encountered were warm and kind, esp South American (?) man on reception.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#81 of 150 in Dublin
1,180 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#100 of 150 in Dublin
1,156 reviews
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#110 of 150 in Dublin
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
995 reviews
Maple Hotel
#134 of 150 in Dublin
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street | North City Centre, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $74 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse - Restaurant & Bar is located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and The Central Bus Station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theaters, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own Award Winning Restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a "Pint" in our Award Winning Traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live Traditional Irish Music Sessions makes a "must" after a day out. City Centre - 5 mins walk from train and bus stations, 5 min tram ride to The 3Arena from the Bus Station - the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub - The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing