We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$318
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$191
US$172
Riu.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$161
US$124
Croke Park Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Academy Plaza Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
156
269
165
60
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
269
165
60
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalbot streetcelt pubfull irish breakfastbar next doorno elevatortesco expresslive music every nightirish musicwithin walking distanceevery eveningcentral locationexcellent locationbreakfast includedminute walk to temple baro'connell stbreakfast staffshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 691 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

Perfect for our needs, rooms are compact but sufficient and everything is very clean. Staff are friendly, particularly Esther who served us for breakfast each morning & looked after us really well. The restaurant & bar downstairs have good menus & we'd recommend the stew and the bangers & mash.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

First, let me state the positive, the location is very convenient off of O'Connell Street, plus the Airlink Bus stop is probably within 100 yards of the place. The staff we met, and that's at least 5 in 4 days were all pleasant and well meaning. The room was clean and the breakfast was quite good. Although not connected inside to the Celt Bar next door, it was a convenient and traditional place with good music and friendly workers too.

On the negative side, our rooms (we switched after 2 nights), 111 and 304 were both very small (room 111 was smaller than an inside stateroom on Carnival Cruises, except it had higher ceilings). The main problem was the stifling stuffiness in both rooms. Dublin never got above 70 F in the day and was down in the 50's each night, but you wouldn't know it from our room which was an oven. In both rooms, the window only slanted open 5 inches. After night 1 we asked for a fan. They found one in a utility closet that we put together (bonus - it was brand new). Of course there was no outlet anywhere near the window in 111 so we couldn't get it to draw air from outside. There were pigeons cooing outside that window all night, as it looked out on a messy roof-alley. Since there were no screens I was afraid the pigeons might squeeze through the open window, but they didn't. After night 2 we requested a switch to another room. The attendant said they were booked but that bookings were turning over and that if we packed all our stuff up before we left for the day they would move us to the 3rd floor to a room with better ventilation because it had 2 windows. He warned us it would be noisier because it was at the front of the building but we didn't mind as we had earplugs. Well, that night when we returned to the hotel after 8 at night, a new attendant told us there had been a mistake and our bags were put in the wrong room. They had remedied that by leaving them in the lobby all day so that now we could bring them up the 3 flights ourselves to the new room. Lo and behold, the new room had 1 window that opened 5 inches, but it was two floors up from the roof alley and the pigeon noises were more distant. The only improvement was this room had a fan, and an outlet to have it by the window - yay! Unfortunately, being on the 3rd floor meant we had almost no hot water pressure in our shower, and with no elevator, it was a long trek. So, essentially the staff made us go through a lot of trouble to switch to worse room. By then we just had 1 more night, so we just resigned ourselves to our lot. However, we can only recommend this hotel as a winter destination given our experience and due to other drawbacks (no lobby or common space, no decent lighting to read in bed, no washcloths, etc.) we would not stay here again. However, it is inexpensive and is a good alternative to a hostel.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank tamity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017

Stayed here June 2017. Room was clean, but the pub downstairs was fabulous. Great music and good old tradional Irish food. Great vibe in the pub, and just loved clapping along to the fantastic music, definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room as some of the rooms are over the pub and could be a little noisy
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank catherinemE3420AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017

Excellent location (5min walk from O'Connell), the room was small (and bathroom tiny!) but clean enough. A little noisy at nights because of the traffic and pubs in the streets.
Staff at reception was ok, you just have to ask if you need anything because they won't ask you first, Esther (in care of breakfast) is lovely and funny.
No wifi in the hotel apart from the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank missChachou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Location was good, not a far walk from O'Connell street and a 15 minute walk to Temple Bar. Room was very basic, but clean enough for what we needed. My father and I stayed 3 nights before joining a bus tour. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. Great breakfast to start the day. I was sorely disappointed in our room for a few particular reasons. I had researched heavily before booking and the guesthouse looked like what we needed. However, the pictures are deceiving, our room was very small (which I expected) but it felt like our room was a converted utility room. I never thought I would have to ask specifically for a room with a window at eye level. It was ridiculous and certainly would not pass Canadian fire codes. The whole trip we had a running joke about how nice our other hotels were because we had a window. The window in this room was near the ceiling, and had a mickey mouse cord tied to a handle to open and shut it. Further more, 'open' was not much. The room was quite hot, at least we had the smallest fan I've ever seen to cool us down. ha. So if you are booking here, because of the location, breakfast, and price, please remember to ask for a room with a window you can see out of. If it wasn't for the staff I would be rating this lower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window at eye level
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nataliemccluskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews