We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$262
US$241
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Academy Plaza Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$240
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$295
US$277
Riu.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$385
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
US$192
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Generator Hostel Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$142
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
156
269
165
60
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
269
165
60
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalbot streetcelt pubfull irish breakfastbar next doorno elevatortesco expresslive music every nightirish musicwithin walking distanceevery eveningcentral locationexcellent locationbreakfast includedminute walk to temple baro'connell stbreakfast staffshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 691 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2017

It took us a while to find the hotel, we thought it would be a quick walk from the bus from the airport. Bad directions had us walking all over Dublin, finally found the hotel, dragging our suitcases behind us. Rooms weren't ready, but we were allowed to leave our bags and grab some simple lunch. Charming place up the street, with good honest food.
We were mislead in thinking our rooms were on the first floor, they were on the second floor, up some steep steps. Our suitcases were heavy with gifts and my mother is crippled, so navigating the stairs with bags was tough. Fortunately a young man came along and helped with the bags.
Room was a decent size for central city. Bathroom was claustrophobicly small. Noise from bar under hotel was pretty loud, but the worst was the fumes from the buses outside. Couldn't leave windows open, the smell was too strong for my mother.
High point was breakfast, the wonderful ladies that served it were happy and smiling, and always made us feel welcome. Best brown bread ever!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MlleMinerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

Perfect for our needs, rooms are compact but sufficient and everything is very clean. Staff are friendly, particularly Esther who served us for breakfast each morning & looked after us really well. The restaurant & bar downstairs have good menus & we'd recommend the stew and the bangers & mash.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

First, let me state the positive, the location is very convenient off of O'Connell Street, plus the Airlink Bus stop is probably within 100 yards of the place. The staff we met, and that's at least 5 in 4 days were all pleasant and well meaning. The room was clean and the breakfast was quite good. Although not connected inside to the Celt Bar next door, it was a convenient and traditional place with good music and friendly workers too.

On the negative side, our rooms (we switched after 2 nights), 111 and 304 were both very small (room 111 was smaller than an inside stateroom on Carnival Cruises, except it had higher ceilings). The main problem was the stifling stuffiness in both rooms. Dublin never got above 70 F in the day and was down in the 50's each night, but you wouldn't know it from our room which was an oven. In both rooms, the window only slanted open 5 inches. After night 1 we asked for a fan. They found one in a utility closet that we put together (bonus - it was brand new). Of course there was no outlet anywhere near the window in 111 so we couldn't get it to draw air from outside. There were pigeons cooing outside that window all night, as it looked out on a messy roof-alley. Since there were no screens I was afraid the pigeons might squeeze through the open window, but they didn't. After night 2 we requested a switch to another room. The attendant said they were booked but that bookings were turning over and that if we packed all our stuff up before we left for the day they would move us to the 3rd floor to a room with better ventilation because it had 2 windows. He warned us it would be noisier because it was at the front of the building but we didn't mind as we had earplugs. Well, that night when we returned to the hotel after 8 at night, a new attendant told us there had been a mistake and our bags were put in the wrong room. They had remedied that by leaving them in the lobby all day so that now we could bring them up the 3 flights ourselves to the new room. Lo and behold, the new room had 1 window that opened 5 inches, but it was two floors up from the roof alley and the pigeon noises were more distant. The only improvement was this room had a fan, and an outlet to have it by the window - yay! Unfortunately, being on the 3rd floor meant we had almost no hot water pressure in our shower, and with no elevator, it was a long trek. So, essentially the staff made us go through a lot of trouble to switch to worse room. By then we just had 1 more night, so we just resigned ourselves to our lot. However, we can only recommend this hotel as a winter destination given our experience and due to other drawbacks (no lobby or common space, no decent lighting to read in bed, no washcloths, etc.) we would not stay here again. However, it is inexpensive and is a good alternative to a hostel.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank tamity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017

Stayed here June 2017. Room was clean, but the pub downstairs was fabulous. Great music and good old tradional Irish food. Great vibe in the pub, and just loved clapping along to the fantastic music, definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room as some of the rooms are over the pub and could be a little noisy
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank catherinemE3420AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017

Excellent location (5min walk from O'Connell), the room was small (and bathroom tiny!) but clean enough. A little noisy at nights because of the traffic and pubs in the streets.
Staff at reception was ok, you just have to ask if you need anything because they won't ask you first, Esther (in care of breakfast) is lovely and funny.
No wifi in the hotel apart from the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank missChachou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews