We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$210
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$248
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$364
US$346
Westbury Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$442/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$209
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$267
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$187
US$166
Riu.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Generator Hostel Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
157
267
161
60
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
267
161
60
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalbot streetcelt pubfull irish breakfastbar next doorno elevatorlive music every nighttesco expressirish musicrooms are smallwithin walking distanceevery eveningexcellent locationcentral locationminute walk to temple barbreakfast includedo'connell stbreakfast staff
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 683 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017

The hotel was easy to find and in a great location, close to shopping and the bus station and Luas Red Line. Not sure the refurbishment had made it all the way to my room as the paint ran out half way up the stairs and my room didn't look like it had any painting done. That said the bathroom looked new and clean. I was doing the Dublin Half Marathon and so would have loved a good nights sleep but the noise from the establishment next door made this impossible and closing the window made no difference. Overall not bad but expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazza02uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

We stayed at the Celtic Lodge for three nights when visiting Dublin. Celtic Lodge was very central in the heart of the city and easy to walk from to pick up the Red Bus. The place is old and rooms are small especially for international travellers with large cases (not a lot of room to keep them) and difficult for the same reason (cases) to carry up flights of stairs. The staff were helpful with tourist information. We did not have breakfast there.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

It took us a while to find the hotel, we thought it would be a quick walk from the bus from the airport. Bad directions had us walking all over Dublin, finally found the hotel, dragging our suitcases behind us. Rooms weren't ready, but we were allowed to leave our bags and grab some simple lunch. Charming place up the street, with good honest food.
We were mislead in thinking our rooms were on the first floor, they were on the second floor, up some steep steps. Our suitcases were heavy with gifts and my mother is crippled, so navigating the stairs with bags was tough. Fortunately a young man came along and helped with the bags.
Room was a decent size for central city. Bathroom was claustrophobicly small. Noise from bar under hotel was pretty loud, but the worst was the fumes from the buses outside. Couldn't leave windows open, the smell was too strong for my mother.
High point was breakfast, the wonderful ladies that served it were happy and smiling, and always made us feel welcome. Best brown bread ever!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MlleMinerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

Perfect for our needs, rooms are compact but sufficient and everything is very clean. Staff are friendly, particularly Esther who served us for breakfast each morning & looked after us really well. The restaurant & bar downstairs have good menus & we'd recommend the stew and the bangers & mash.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

First, let me state the positive, the location is very convenient off of O'Connell Street, plus the Airlink Bus stop is probably within 100 yards of the place. The staff we met, and that's at least 5 in 4 days were all pleasant and well meaning. The room was clean and the breakfast was quite good. Although not connected inside to the Celt Bar next door, it was a convenient and traditional place with good music and friendly workers too.

On the negative side, our rooms (we switched after 2 nights), 111 and 304 were both very small (room 111 was smaller than an inside stateroom on Carnival Cruises, except it had higher ceilings). The main problem was the stifling stuffiness in both rooms. Dublin never got above 70 F in the day and was down in the 50's each night, but you wouldn't know it from our room which was an oven. In both rooms, the window only slanted open 5 inches. After night 1 we asked for a fan. They found one in a utility closet that we put together (bonus - it was brand new). Of course there was no outlet anywhere near the window in 111 so we couldn't get it to draw air from outside. There were pigeons cooing outside that window all night, as it looked out on a messy roof-alley. Since there were no screens I was afraid the pigeons might squeeze through the open window, but they didn't. After night 2 we requested a switch to another room. The attendant said they were booked but that bookings were turning over and that if we packed all our stuff up before we left for the day they would move us to the 3rd floor to a room with better ventilation because it had 2 windows. He warned us it would be noisier because it was at the front of the building but we didn't mind as we had earplugs. Well, that night when we returned to the hotel after 8 at night, a new attendant told us there had been a mistake and our bags were put in the wrong room. They had remedied that by leaving them in the lobby all day so that now we could bring them up the 3 flights ourselves to the new room. Lo and behold, the new room had 1 window that opened 5 inches, but it was two floors up from the roof alley and the pigeon noises were more distant. The only improvement was this room had a fan, and an outlet to have it by the window - yay! Unfortunately, being on the 3rd floor meant we had almost no hot water pressure in our shower, and with no elevator, it was a long trek. So, essentially the staff made us go through a lot of trouble to switch to worse room. By then we just had 1 more night, so we just resigned ourselves to our lot. However, we can only recommend this hotel as a winter destination given our experience and due to other drawbacks (no lobby or common space, no decent lighting to read in bed, no washcloths, etc.) we would not stay here again. However, it is inexpensive and is a good alternative to a hostel.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank tamity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews