We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #89 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Central location - I only had to walk a block or 2 down the the Talbot bus stop when getting off the Airport Express bus and just down the road from shops and hop on hop off buses. Staff were really helpful. Full Irish breakfast was great and it was free when you booked with them directly through their website. The Nights were noisey I could hear everything ( and I mean everything) from the room next door to me and the live music from the pub next door goes on until the early hours.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaRL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
There are newer reviews for Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

The hotel was easy to find and in a great location, close to shopping and the bus station and Luas Red Line. Not sure the refurbishment had made it all the way to my room as the paint ran out half way up the stairs and my room didn't look like it had any painting done. That said the bathroom looked new and clean. I was doing the Dublin Half Marathon and so would have loved a good nights sleep but the noise from the establishment next door made this impossible and closing the window made no difference. Overall not bad but expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazza02uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed at the Celtic Lodge for three nights when visiting Dublin. Celtic Lodge was very central in the heart of the city and easy to walk from to pick up the Red Bus. The place is old and rooms are small especially for international travellers with large cases (not a lot of room to keep them) and difficult for the same reason (cases) to carry up flights of stairs. The staff were helpful with tourist information. We did not have breakfast there.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

It took us a while to find the hotel, we thought it would be a quick walk from the bus from the airport. Bad directions had us walking all over Dublin, finally found the hotel, dragging our suitcases behind us. Rooms weren't ready, but we were allowed to leave our bags and grab some simple lunch. Charming place up the street, with good honest food.
We were mislead in thinking our rooms were on the first floor, they were on the second floor, up some steep steps. Our suitcases were heavy with gifts and my mother is crippled, so navigating the stairs with bags was tough. Fortunately a young man came along and helped with the bags.
Room was a decent size for central city. Bathroom was claustrophobicly small. Noise from bar under hotel was pretty loud, but the worst was the fumes from the buses outside. Couldn't leave windows open, the smell was too strong for my mother.
High point was breakfast, the wonderful ladies that served it were happy and smiling, and always made us feel welcome. Best brown bread ever!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MlleMinerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Perfect for our needs, rooms are compact but sufficient and everything is very clean. Staff are friendly, particularly Esther who served us for breakfast each morning & looked after us really well. The restaurant & bar downstairs have good menus & we'd recommend the stew and the bangers & mash.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

First, let me state the positive, the location is very convenient off of O'Connell Street, plus the Airlink Bus stop is probably within 100 yards of the place. The staff we met, and that's at least 5 in 4 days were all pleasant and well meaning. The room was clean and the breakfast was quite good. Although not connected inside to the Celt Bar next door, it was a convenient and traditional place with good music and friendly workers too.

On the negative side, our rooms (we switched after 2 nights), 111 and 304 were both very small (room 111 was smaller than an inside stateroom on Carnival Cruises, except it had higher ceilings). The main problem was the stifling stuffiness in both rooms. Dublin never got above 70 F in the day and was down in the 50's each night, but you wouldn't know it from our room which was an oven. In both rooms, the window only slanted open 5 inches. After night 1 we asked for a fan. They found one in a utility closet that we put together (bonus - it was brand new). Of course there was no outlet anywhere near the window in 111 so we couldn't get it to draw air from outside. There were pigeons cooing outside that window all night, as it looked out on a messy roof-alley. Since there were no screens I was afraid the pigeons might squeeze through the open window, but they didn't. After night 2 we requested a switch to another room. The attendant said they were booked but that bookings were turning over and that if we packed all our stuff up before we left for the day they would move us to the 3rd floor to a room with better ventilation because it had 2 windows. He warned us it would be noisier because it was at the front of the building but we didn't mind as we had earplugs. Well, that night when we returned to the hotel after 8 at night, a new attendant told us there had been a mistake and our bags were put in the wrong room. They had remedied that by leaving them in the lobby all day so that now we could bring them up the 3 flights ourselves to the new room. Lo and behold, the new room had 1 window that opened 5 inches, but it was two floors up from the roof alley and the pigeon noises were more distant. The only improvement was this room had a fan, and an outlet to have it by the window - yay! Unfortunately, being on the 3rd floor meant we had almost no hot water pressure in our shower, and with no elevator, it was a long trek. So, essentially the staff made us go through a lot of trouble to switch to worse room. By then we just had 1 more night, so we just resigned ourselves to our lot. However, we can only recommend this hotel as a winter destination given our experience and due to other drawbacks (no lobby or common space, no decent lighting to read in bed, no washcloths, etc.) we would not stay here again. However, it is inexpensive and is a good alternative to a hostel.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank tamity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Stayed here June 2017. Room was clean, but the pub downstairs was fabulous. Great music and good old tradional Irish food. Great vibe in the pub, and just loved clapping along to the fantastic music, definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room as some of the rooms are over the pub and could be a little noisy
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank catherinemE3420AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#81 of 150 in Dublin
1,151 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#101 of 150 in Dublin
1,117 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#77 of 150 in Dublin
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Shea's Hotel
#86 of 150 in Dublin
318 reviews
Hotel St. George
#83 of 150 in Dublin
697 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 150 in Dublin
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street | North City Centre, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $101 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse - Restaurant & Bar is located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and The Central Bus Station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theaters, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own Award Winning Restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a "Pint" in our Award Winning Traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live Traditional Irish Music Sessions makes a "must" after a day out. City Centre - 5 mins walk from train and bus stations, 5 min tram ride to The 3Arena from the Bus Station - the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub - The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing