We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in the world!”
Review of Number 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Number 31
Ranked #46 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at No31 while we planned a "get away from it" weekend and was not disappointed by No31. The house is beautiful, tastefully decorated and spacious rooms. The host and staff are warm and welcoming and made you feel like nothing was to much to ask.
Great location and only a five minute walk to the centre of Dublin.
What can we say about breakfast but "the best ever" So much choice and everything so nicely presented and very tasty.
You will not be disappointed if you book Number 31 and will defiantely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luludExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at Number 31 just one night as we took a layover in Dublin on our way to Amsterdam, but this hotel suited us perfectly and went above my expectations. We arrived very early in the morning, and received a complementary (candle-lit, as the sun wasn't due to rise for another hour) breakfast even though we weren't checking in for a few hours. After breakfast the owner gave us the lowdown of the neighborhood and Dublin in general, picking out on a map the best attractions and places to eat in the one day we had in the city. Our room was beautifully decorated, breakfast was as great as all of the other reviewers note, and we had a wonderful time. We'll be back when we return for a tour of Ireland.

Room Tip: Check their website, it gives a good description of the features of each type of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Mife wife and I live in Dublin and are reasonably busy at the moment with two young children. No 31 had been recommended to us by a friend as an ideal place for a quiet night away (nana babysitting) with easy access to town and a great breakfast. I will not bore you with too long a description of all that is good about this place but at the same time I want to do it justice. Hosts: fantastic. The proprietor met us in person and attended to each and every one of our needs. Room; Extremely tastefully decorated with beautiful high ceilings and elaborate decor. Nice bathroom also. Bed very comfortable. Hotel in general is extremely interesting, a fine example of Georgian splendour with added bonus of famously designed mews building where breakfast is served. Breakfast: EXCEPTIONAL. The finest I have ever enjoyed. Fresh fruit (try the rhubarb fool/compote? to start) was the best I have ever tasted on these shores. The cooked breakfasts were exquisite (I have eggs Bendict cook to perfection and my wife had the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon). My only problem was that i was just staying for one day and couldn't try more. The location in town was also ideal. We had a pre-theatre dinner in One Pico and retired to the Shelboure for a few drinks.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My 3 friends and I were in town to visit a conference for 3 days and from the moment we walked in the door we were made more than welcome by the friendliest hotel owner I have ever met. Despite our arrival time being before regular check in time, we sat us down with tea and cake and organised the room to be ready for us immediately. without much check in formalities we were given keys and showed key spots on the map, and taken to our room. Breakfast was delicious, it made me want to sneak the entire bowl of the homemade granola home and they made eggs fresh to order. Beds were comfortable, bathroom clean, great shower, and the building is just spectacular. Look no more, you simply must stay here.
5 out of 5 in every aspect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LotjeChili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Once in a really rare blue moon you stumble on a humdinger of a hotel and this is one of them.
Set in two separate buildings with a hidden garden between them it's a cross between Austin Powers groovy ( sunken lounge, white tiles, sixties ambience ) and old-style Georgian ornate that shouldn't really work but does beautifully.
Our room ( 19 ) was another mix of thrown-together furniture and high-tech bathroom that somehow worked brilliantly and from the moment we walked into the hotel to be met with the offer of a pot of tea by the legendary Noel to the excellent breakfast the following morning after a long night's carousing in the carousingist city of them all we couldn't find a single fault.
Free parking,a comfortable bed and excellent helpful hosts made this a proper hostelry.
This is a gem of a hotel just a Guinness-stagger away from St Stephen's Green and in an age of bland, faceless hotels it was, if you'll excuse the cliche, a home from home.
Especially if your home is groovy baby !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wahaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A lovely boutique hotel a few minutes walk from the city center. Kind and passionate staff, incredible breakfast. I won't consider any other accommodations when I return to Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamiek830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed five nights at Number 31 in January 2012. I really enjoyed my stay, it really felt like staying in someones home. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast amazing and my room had its own private garden! The best part, however, was the bed! I don't think I've ever slept in a better bed! It was simply amazing!

The only problem was the door to my room, it was incredibly difficult to unlock the door! I probably spent at least a minute trying to unlock every time! I notified one of the staff members, so hopefully it's been fixed already!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#58 of 152 in Dublin
852 reviews
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 152 in Dublin
1,236 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 152 in Dublin
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 152 in Dublin
1,574 reviews
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
The Dean
#72 of 152 in Dublin
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $135 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 31 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is one of the most beloved boltholes in Georgian Dublin City Centre. A luxury Guesthouse renowned for our personal service, top notch breakfast and luxuriously laid-back atmosphere. Number 31 is Dublin’s premier tucked away place to stay, combining the best of two worlds; a classical Georgian townhouse and a light filled modernist mews. It is an oasis of peace and quiet, hidden behind a high creeper-clad wall, right on the city’s Georgian Mile. A popular choice for design enthusiasts, here light colour and texture all combine in a a gentle ambiance of peace and calm. The combination of spacious and supremely comfortable accommodation, warm hospitality, an exceptional location and Number 31’s renowned breakfast has made here a destination of choice for many a seasoned traveller and sealed its reputation as serving the Best Breakfast in Dublin among those in the know. No surprise it was awarded Georgina Campbell’s 2017 Guesthouse of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Number 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing