We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast in the world!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 31

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Number 31
Ranked #48 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
exeter
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at No31 while we planned a "get away from it" weekend and was not disappointed by No31. The house is beautiful, tastefully decorated and spacious rooms. The host and staff are warm and welcoming and made you feel like nothing was to much to ask.
Great location and only a five minute walk to the centre of Dublin.
What can we say about breakfast but "the best ever" So much choice and everything so nicely presented and very tasty.
You will not be disappointed if you book Number 31 and will defiantely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luludExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    151
    43
    27
    20
See reviews for
132
334
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at Number 31 just one night as we took a layover in Dublin on our way to Amsterdam, but this hotel suited us perfectly and went above my expectations. We arrived very early in the morning, and received a complementary (candle-lit, as the sun wasn't due to rise for another hour) breakfast even though we weren't checking in for a few hours. After breakfast the owner gave us the lowdown of the neighborhood and Dublin in general, picking out on a map the best attractions and places to eat in the one day we had in the city. Our room was beautifully decorated, breakfast was as great as all of the other reviewers note, and we had a wonderful time. We'll be back when we return for a tour of Ireland.

Room Tip: Check their website, it gives a good description of the features of each type of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Mife wife and I live in Dublin and are reasonably busy at the moment with two young children. No 31 had been recommended to us by a friend as an ideal place for a quiet night away (nana babysitting) with easy access to town and a great breakfast. I will not bore you with too long a description of all that is good about this place but at the same time I want to do it justice. Hosts: fantastic. The proprietor met us in person and attended to each and every one of our needs. Room; Extremely tastefully decorated with beautiful high ceilings and elaborate decor. Nice bathroom also. Bed very comfortable. Hotel in general is extremely interesting, a fine example of Georgian splendour with added bonus of famously designed mews building where breakfast is served. Breakfast: EXCEPTIONAL. The finest I have ever enjoyed. Fresh fruit (try the rhubarb fool/compote? to start) was the best I have ever tasted on these shores. The cooked breakfasts were exquisite (I have eggs Bendict cook to perfection and my wife had the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon). My only problem was that i was just staying for one day and couldn't try more. The location in town was also ideal. We had a pre-theatre dinner in One Pico and retired to the Shelboure for a few drinks.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

My 3 friends and I were in town to visit a conference for 3 days and from the moment we walked in the door we were made more than welcome by the friendliest hotel owner I have ever met. Despite our arrival time being before regular check in time, we sat us down with tea and cake and organised the room to be ready for us immediately. without much check in formalities we were given keys and showed key spots on the map, and taken to our room. Breakfast was delicious, it made me want to sneak the entire bowl of the homemade granola home and they made eggs fresh to order. Beds were comfortable, bathroom clean, great shower, and the building is just spectacular. Look no more, you simply must stay here.
5 out of 5 in every aspect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LotjeChili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Once in a really rare blue moon you stumble on a humdinger of a hotel and this is one of them.
Set in two separate buildings with a hidden garden between them it's a cross between Austin Powers groovy ( sunken lounge, white tiles, sixties ambience ) and old-style Georgian ornate that shouldn't really work but does beautifully.
Our room ( 19 ) was another mix of thrown-together furniture and high-tech bathroom that somehow worked brilliantly and from the moment we walked into the hotel to be met with the offer of a pot of tea by the legendary Noel to the excellent breakfast the following morning after a long night's carousing in the carousingist city of them all we couldn't find a single fault.
Free parking,a comfortable bed and excellent helpful hosts made this a proper hostelry.
This is a gem of a hotel just a Guinness-stagger away from St Stephen's Green and in an age of bland, faceless hotels it was, if you'll excuse the cliche, a home from home.
Especially if your home is groovy baby !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wahaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kalamazoo, mi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

A lovely boutique hotel a few minutes walk from the city center. Kind and passionate staff, incredible breakfast. I won't consider any other accommodations when I return to Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamiek830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed five nights at Number 31 in January 2012. I really enjoyed my stay, it really felt like staying in someones home. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast amazing and my room had its own private garden! The best part, however, was the bed! I don't think I've ever slept in a better bed! It was simply amazing!

The only problem was the door to my room, it was incredibly difficult to unlock the door! I probably spent at least a minute trying to unlock every time! I notified one of the staff members, so hopefully it's been fixed already!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilronan House
#40 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Waterloo House
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Property: Number 31
Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 31 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing