We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to land”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #31 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene OR
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to land”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This very well run guesthouse proved perfect for arriving after an overnight flight from the US. It is quiet, clean and well located to transportation. The garden dining room was especially welcoming on rainy days. Staff were all helpful with directions, recommendations and cultural observations.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have view and less noise, not that the place is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GringoBob42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    182
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
96
255
62
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Me and my family stayed here for two nights in Dublin. The staff was very accommodating and the breakfast is delicious. A great location with a couple really nice pubs just down the street. A bus stop is very close as well that you can use to get around the city. I highly recommend you consider staying here if you are in Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great spot for visit to Dublin. Excellent breakfast, clean comfortable rooms, very helpful good humoured staff.

Room Tip: Walk to city centre or take a short bus ride from across the stree
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EddieWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at Waterloo House with my partner and we both found it vey relaxing.
Being a nice 15 minute stroll into the heart of Dublin (Grafton Street and Temple Bar), the staff were extremely friendly and helpful at any stage throughout our trip.
We arrived 3 hours prior to our check in time, with the intention of leaving our bags until we were scheduled to be in the room, yet the staff were very thoughtful and made the room up quickly so we could check in earlier and get on with our trip.
I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anybody and would have no qualms about returning. It is wonderfully priced for its location and the staff will treat you will.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank TommyTucker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We got the name of this wonderful Bed and Breakfast from a travel book. We wanted a place near to all the sites, but not in the middle of town. It was easy to reserve rooms, and we were assured it would be quiet. The service was wonderful, the rooms lovely, clean, and very comfortable. Breakfast became our favorite meal in the charming room off the garden ...fresh fruit, baked breads, fish, pancakes. We could walk easily to St Stephens Garden and there was easy access to all transport. We would highly recommend this wonderful place to all. A special treat were the two very charming dogs, Charles and Molloy, who entertained us each day. Our rooms were wonderful, but Room 22 is especially lovely with the fireplace.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on different floors looking out to the garden, and they were quiet and lovely. Room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We thought this might be too far out for walking etc, but infact it was a nice stroll to the city centre etc. breakfast was fine, except my toast never arrived. I was in the conservatory, and maybe should have said, but it wasa disappointment as I LIKE toast . It came 25 minutes after my partner had gone back to room , and when I asked. Othe rthan that breakfast was nice, place was very clean. was good to have the free parking ( though parking spaces are limited). Nice places to eat nearby ( we tried the mexican place) and the walk into the city centre was nice rather than a drag. I'd recommend, though a part of me would like to preserve it as a secret

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmm_messiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a 2 night stay for Valentines and honestly could not have asked for more. The day before we were due to check in we recieved a call off the manager saying that she had upgraded our room to a King Size, when we arrived I was surprised by 12 red roses and a bottle of Moet champagne which my boyfriend had arranged - and Evelyn (hotel manager) had chosen a beautiful card with a note inside it from my boyfriend. The guest house has a lovely, homely feel to it - bedroom was clean and fresh towels given to us the next day. We had breakfast in bed one morning which was delicious and they were constantly there if you needed anything! We spent a lot of time in the city centre, visiting pubs etc so got a taxi there and back as it's a little too far to walk.. it costs between 9 and 13 Euro per cab ride into town (depending on your driver) I would also recommend taking a visit to the Guinness factory - it's open 7 days a week and is a fun day out :) On our last day our flight wasnt until eveing time so they let us leave our bags in the hotel whilst we went out for the day. All in all I couldn't fault this place what so ever! It was a perfect weekend and i was absolutely gutted to be going home! Take no notice of any bad reviews because this place was perfect :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
1,172 reviews
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
1,345 reviews
0.3 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,603 reviews
0.4 km away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#73 of 151 in Dublin
787 reviews
1.0 km away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#18 of 151 in Dublin
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing