We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable and convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #41 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Stevington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2012 and found it to be a great experience. The room was clean and warm (extra heaters were not needed) the shower was excellent and the staff were all you could expect from staff. The communal areas were well presented. Breakfast offered a wide variety of hot and cold fayre, too easy to over indulge! The hot food on sunday was perfect but on monday and Tuesday not as good (The bacon was undercooked with the rind (fat) over grilled to give the appearance of being fully cooked, scrambled eggs were over cooked and the fried eggs under cooked). For the price we would highly recommend and will return shortly. Hoping for the Sunday cook!

Room Tip: Select a room on an upper floor on the eastern side (opposite side to Buskers, a late night club). H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Calum M,

Thank you for your detailed review. I am delighted that you were happy with your experience of Temple Bar Hotel and the overall service provided by us and our staff. Thanks for bringing the issue with breakfast to my attention, I will make sure to talk to the Head Chef about this immediately.

Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards,
Guy Thompson.

General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally located Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    764
    352
    109
    79
See reviews for
250
786
132
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Very impressed when we arrived at 9.30am looking to leave our bags somewhere safe and we were told that our room was ready, check in is not until 3pm. The rooms themselves and good, they are spacious and well thought out. The beds were very comfy. However the shower was poor, it just dribbled on you, I got round it by having multiple baths, the bath was great. Didn't see the point in complaining as it was obviously the design of the shower head.

The main issue for us was the noise level which the hotel warns you about so we did expect a general level of noise. We were placed in room 300 which was round the front of the hotel and quickly realised that we couldn't cope with the noise so asked to be moved. The receptionist was very helpful and kindly moved us to a larger room around the side. This was fine on the Thursday night but on the Friday night the noise level really goes up several levels and we struggled to sleep. We are both fairly light sleepers so it may not bother others as much.

The location was brilliant which is the main reason we we picked the hotel. The breakfast was fairly good and the free wifi was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sazrina27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Sazrina27,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate the comments you have made and I am glad you brought some things to my attention. It is unfortunate that you did not tell us about the issue with your shower as we would have been happy to sort this for you straight away.

We do advise guests about the noise level in the area and unfortunately this is not something we can prevent but I am pleased to hear that our staff moved you to a quieter room around the side of the hotel.

I hope you come back to the hotel again soon Sazrina.

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I am a regular guest at Temple Bar Hotel ,and I would recommend it with a few reservations (excuse the pun!). The location is at the heart of Dublins vibrant centre, on the 'lead in' to Temple Bar nightlife , but also 5 minutes from all city centre locations.

The service is good and the rooms are OK, although in need of a spot of TLC i would add. If you are looking for a peaceful night sleep and have early next day appointment, be aware of the nightclub which is in the basement. You can also get noise from drunks shouting and roaring and also the dreaded road sweepers (damn those hygiene enforcers)!
To ensure best chance of peace, ask for a room towards top (there are 4 floors) and towards the back.
The Breakfast is good, with hot and cold buffet.
So if you think you are OK with possible noise issues, the location is superb. Temple Bar pubs start 100 m away...Grafton street is about 5 mins by foot. Trinity College is about 200m away. O connell Bridge is 3 mins away..
My vote...Go for it! Thumbs up.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brinelarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Brinelarkin,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of the hotel, we really appreciate the feedback. You’re right, the hotel is located in a popular Dublin area so some noise is to be expected but we always try to ensure that our guests are advised of this upon booking. I’m delighted to hear that you are a regular guest of ours and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks for the thumbs up!

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights with a friend. Got a great deal of 94 euro each for two nights' B&B. Excellent location as we had two gigs to go to in Temple Bar over the two nights. Our room was on the second floor looking over the main thoroughfare of Temple Bar. It was noisy but not so loud that it kept us from sleeping. The room was very comfortable - but note that if you want the room to be heated, you must leave one of the key cards in the slot when you're out and about, otherwise the heat goes off.
Good choice of breakfast in the morning and very helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again and maybe request a room at the back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seven08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Seven08,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the comfort of the room. The tip about the heating is a good one as some customers may forget about this! I will make sure to pass your praise to the relevant staff here at the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

this hotel is located at a very good place close to the center of dublin. it has access to goo parking across the road at a special rate of 15 euro for 24 hour stay.

Room Tip: you should ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheehan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Sheehan 1960,

I am delighted to hear you were pleased with the hotel location. I agree, the hotel is very central and the car park across the road is great for those who drive to the city. I hope you will be back in the hotel again soon.


Best wishes,
Guy Thompson, General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My Mum and I stayed at the Temple Bar Hotel for 1 night in January. We stayed in room 234 which was over looking the side street. We slept very well and didn't experience too much noise.

ROOMS
Rooms were very spacious and clean with table and chairs and still lots of room to move around. The beds were VERY comfy :-) checkout is 12pm or you can pay 15 euros for late checkout of 3pm. The hotel can also store your luggage free of charge if you want to go site-seeing before leaving :-) there is a hair dryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

STAFF
The staff were so friendly at the hotel; nothing was too much trouble and they were all nice and chatty. The only problems we incurred during our stay was that the room had no teabags and the TV didn't work but we mentioned this to reception who resolved both problems quickly.

LOCATION
This hotel is 5* for location. Right in the middle of the Temple Bar area, next door to a bar with loads of other places to eat and drink nearby. A 5 minute walk to O'Connell Street - great for shopping. Right opposite a Tesco store too.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Laura D,

Wow what a great review! Thank you for taking the time to write this. I am pleased to hear you were happy with your stay with us. I’m glad to hear that the small issues you had with your room were quickly seen to by our staff and that didn’t affect your stay in any way. We look forward to your next stay at the hotel Laura.

Warmest regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Went to a show and stayed here for one night with a small group. The location is excellent and within walking distance of most venues,with good restaurants and bars in the locality. The room itself(131) was spacious if a little 'unloved' looking. The bathroom was a little grubby and the dust behind the door was a tell-tale sign that the room is used to getting a 'quick lick' when it comes to the cleaning routein..and it shows. The shower spat out a little water, but certainly was not working properly. The remote for the TV was not working either. both were reported to Reception.The room had large windows looking onto a side lane, which provided great light, but also horrendous noise at night. I have NEVER encountered such noise. We did not get a wink. We returned to our room at 2am, exhausted after a very enjoyable evening and the noise from the street was deafening. Between the revellers streaming from the nightclub and the street sweeping machines, it was relentless. Then to add to the nuisance, the fire alarm was set-off at 4.30 am, and switched off again after a minute. Breakfast was fine; standard full Irish, continental ( don't expect fresh watermelon!) in a buffet style. Overall in my opinion this hotel is a two star hotel in need of updating it's rooms, noise proofing its front windows, giving the doors a varnish and the bathrooms a really good scrub.This hotel is perfect for hens or stags.....but I'd go elsewhere if you like a decent chance at sleep!

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the front or side of the building or on the first floor; if you plan to get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassiopeia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Cassiopeia1,



Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback which we do appreciate. I was disappointed to hear your issues and I can assure you we will address them immediately. I was surprised to hear your comments regarding the cleanliness as we have received several awards for this. I do apologise for the noise you experienced during your stay.



I will speak with the relevant managers regarding all your issues and again thanks for your feedback.



Kind regards,



Guy Thompson, General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#50 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
The Morgan
#32 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#67 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#76 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing