We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Patty's in Dublin -- stay at Temple Bar Hotel!”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We just *happened* to be in Europe during St. Patrick's Day 2012, and my childhood friend just *happens* to live in Dublin, so we thought, Why not?!

Temple Bar Hotel was literally the only place in town that had an open room for under 250 euro/night on St. Patty's weekend, but it turned out to be a perfect place to stay.

Pros:
- Location is absolutely perfect for experiencing night life and excitement in Dublin. Very close to the river, down the street from Trinity College, and immediately around the corner from the Airbus stop that will take you to/from the airport for a very convenient fee (I think it was 12 euro round trip or "return" as they say in Dublin).
- The room was clean, spacious, and pretty comfortable.
- Staff were very friendly and helpful. (Shout-out to Jenny, who answered all our stupid questions with a graceful smile!)
- Breakfast was a good spread with a lot of great options.
- Bathroom was spacious, with a good shower and tub.
- Free wifi worked just fine; my husband even used it for a work-related Skype call with no problems.

Cons:
- The bed wasn't particularly comfy; the mattress felt old and full of springs, so we tossed and turned all night and felt it every time.
- The door to the hallway was kind of thin, so we could easily hear anyone passing by outside. But if you go to bed late enough and wake up early enough, it's not a problem, because most people are in bed when you're trying to sleep.
- Not a lot of electrical outlets in the room! We had to unplug the TV to recharge our computers, etc.

Overall, a lovely experience. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Mimhope,

Thank you for your detailed and honest review above! I appreciate the time you took to outline your thoughts on the hotel. I’m glad you were pleased with the standard of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff-I will make sure to praise Jenny for her great work as well as the other employees from the weekend. I am unhappy to hear that you were not satisfied with the mattress in your room. I will address this issue to the Accommodations Manager urgently.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next ‘random’ visit to the city!

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,563 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

Ive stayed at this hotel about 6-7 times now and think, all things considered it is the best hotel in Dublin
The location, value for money, cleanliness, service etc makes it cracking value

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meddlingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear MeddlingMike,

Thank you very much for your very kind review above. We are delighted that you consider us as being the best hotel in Dublin and think our property and service is cracking value!

We look forward to your next 6-7 visits!

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

You really thinking of paying for the location here.
If you're into the Dublin night life and bar-hopping, this is certainly the place to be.
The room was too small, and somewhat outdated.
Free wifi is nice, but you have to pay if you want to print your boarding pass.
The breakfast was decent.
Despite located in the busy area, the room was really quite and had no trouble resting at night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anakbabiilang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Anakbabiilang,

Thank you for taking the time to leave the above review. I’m surprised you thought the bedrooms were outdated as we only redecorated last year. I’m glad you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you had a good night’s sleep. It’s great to be near the local amenities and shopping destinations.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Locted Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Excellent location, nice room, friendlly helpful staff, great barman in the lounge! In response to anotheer reviewer, my room was in the back and very quiet. Great value for the money, and among the best rates I found for decent lodgings and location. If you want cheap, stay at a hostel.And oh, yes, enjoy the "full Irish" breakfast buffet at the resaurant. If I came to Dublin regularly I would probably make this me "go to" place.

Alyssa H.

Room Tip: The hotel is arranged in a square pattern. The rooms in back are plenty quiet. Although with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ally1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Ally 1009,

Thank you very much for your kind review above. I have passed your comments onto all our staff to compliment their good work. I’m glad that you agreed that our rates are great value for money! I will make sure to inform the chef also about your impressive comments about breakfast.

We look forward to your next visit Ally.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We were in Dublin to party, and this hotel located in the heart of Temple Bar was a great place to stay. The rooms were clean, the service good and the breakfast was more than satisfying. The only downside is the noise from the street at night. But if you´re out late yourself, this is no big deal. I would go here again!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjorn P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Hi Bjorn P G,

Thanks for your review above. It sounds like you had a great time during your stay which is great to hear. Thanks also for the room tip, our staff are more than happy to take room requests from our guests.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We had a great week long stay here. It really is a perfect location, we walked to all the major sights in the city and the restaurants and bars are right outside the door. The rooms are small,but cozy with a nice comfortable bed. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Dinner at the restaurant was very good in a nice quiet setting :) It does get noisy on friday and saturdays, but the location and price definitely outweighed the noise. Also, there is a grocery store right across the street which was convenient to pick up snacks and drinks for the room. Thanks temple bar hotel, I'd recommend it to all family and friends traveling to Dublin!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele5166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Hi Michele5156,

Thank you for your detailed review above! It’s great to hear that your week here went well. You’ve mentioned some very positive things about the hotel which I’m delighted about. It’s always good to hear back from a happy guest.

We look forward to meeting you again and maybe some of your friends and family too.

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were a nice size and very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent and they offered anything and everything you could think about. The restaurant in the hotel also had great food and was open late. Its located next door to the Hard Rock Cafe and across the street was a grocery.
This hotel was great. Conveniently located. We could walk to anywhere in Dublin.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Doug M,

Thanks a million for your kind and detailed review above. It’s great to hear such good feedback from our guests. I’m glad to hear you would consider staying with us again so we look forward to that!

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#58 of 150 in Dublin
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,420 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $192 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Bar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing