We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #43 of 149 Hotels in Dublin
Barrow-in-Furness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Rooms were excellent. The hotel was in a great location for shopping, sightseeing and the night life. Be sure to ask for a room away from the front of the hotel as it can be quite noisey. Staff were excellent, couldn't do enough for you. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear MrsG76,

Thank you for taking the time to write the above comments. I am delighted that you were satisfied with the hotel and the services we provide. I will be sure to pass on your praise to all the staff here at the hotel.

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    748
    346
    109
    79
See reviews for
234
761
129
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel is in a great location for nightlife, shopping, sightseeing etc. It's right in the heart of the city centre and everything is within walking distance.

The rooms are fairly basic but comfortable, clean and alot bigger than I was expecting (I've stayed in many smaller rooms in 4 star hotels). The standard double room was less than €100 which in my opinion was a good price based on the location.

Free wifi is always a big plus for me, and the breakfast was great. Overall a very pleasant stay and I'd definitely consider staying here again when in Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Seamr0g,

Thank you for your detailed review above. I am delighted with your positive feedback on our hotel. Location is very important for our guests and is one of the main features of the property but I am happy to read that you were also equally impressed with the bedrooms, food and facilities.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel is in a great spot - right at the centre of Dublin. The room we got was very clean and fine for a city break. Be sure to ask for a room away from the bar and nite club or you won't get much sleep! The breakfast room is lovely and bright and the food was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the nite club
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Murp21,

Thank you for your review above. We appreciate the comments you have made. I am happy that you liked your room, the breakfast and the hotel location. We do have a nightclub and bar located on the ground and basement floors of the hotel property but we are happy to allocate our guests to quiet rooms where applicable.

We look forward to your next stay with us at Temple Bar Hotel.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow,ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great place right in the heart of Dublin. Ideal for visiting the city, for night life and other attractions

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanCarlow_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear SeanCarlow_Ireland,

Thank you for your comments above. We look forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed here last month during my birthday weekend celebrations in Dublin. The location was fab and the rooms were very clean and spacious. The en suite was superb also. Will definately stay again the next time we're back in the big smoke!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloriaStevens P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear GloriaStevensP,

Thank you for your review above. I am glad that your stay in the big smoke was to your liking! I’m glad also that you liked the en-suite bathrooms as these were newly fitted just last year.

I hope you return to us again in the coming year and have a stay as great as your last.

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had found Temple Bar on tripadvisor before our journey to Dublin and selected it because of its central location and convienent car park across the street. I had prebooked the room for two nights upon arrival in Dublin and opted to pay for the 'early check in' option. We are so glad we did! We arrived at the hotel at about 6:30am and our room was waiting for us immediately! What a blessing to be able to freshen up and rest a few hours of jet lag before heading out to sightsee! We were concerned about the other reviews that talked of excessive noise at night (The Hard Rock Cafe is next door) but it was not bad at all! Breakfast was great and everything was clean and beautiful. Stay here! We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizshugart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Lizshugart,

Thank you very much for your praising review above. I am delighted that your stay with us here was satisfactory and pleasant. We love to accommodate our guests when they arrive early as we know how bothersome it can be to come off a long haul flight and then have to wait for your room!

We hope you come stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We just *happened* to be in Europe during St. Patrick's Day 2012, and my childhood friend just *happens* to live in Dublin, so we thought, Why not?!

Temple Bar Hotel was literally the only place in town that had an open room for under 250 euro/night on St. Patty's weekend, but it turned out to be a perfect place to stay.

Pros:
- Location is absolutely perfect for experiencing night life and excitement in Dublin. Very close to the river, down the street from Trinity College, and immediately around the corner from the Airbus stop that will take you to/from the airport for a very convenient fee (I think it was 12 euro round trip or "return" as they say in Dublin).
- The room was clean, spacious, and pretty comfortable.
- Staff were very friendly and helpful. (Shout-out to Jenny, who answered all our stupid questions with a graceful smile!)
- Breakfast was a good spread with a lot of great options.
- Bathroom was spacious, with a good shower and tub.
- Free wifi worked just fine; my husband even used it for a work-related Skype call with no problems.

Cons:
- The bed wasn't particularly comfy; the mattress felt old and full of springs, so we tossed and turned all night and felt it every time.
- The door to the hallway was kind of thin, so we could easily hear anyone passing by outside. But if you go to bed late enough and wake up early enough, it's not a problem, because most people are in bed when you're trying to sleep.
- Not a lot of electrical outlets in the room! We had to unplug the TV to recharge our computers, etc.

Overall, a lovely experience. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Mimhope,

Thank you for your detailed and honest review above! I appreciate the time you took to outline your thoughts on the hotel. I’m glad you were pleased with the standard of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff-I will make sure to praise Jenny for her great work as well as the other employees from the weekend. I am unhappy to hear that you were not satisfied with the mattress in your room. I will address this issue to the Accommodations Manager urgently.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next ‘random’ visit to the city!

Warm regards,
Guy Thompson.
General Manager

Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin's Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#50 of 149 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#64 of 149 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
The Morgan
#29 of 149 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 149 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#79 of 149 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelsforEveryone and Booking.com so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing