We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Chester Beatty
from US$16.10
More Info
from US$66.80
More Info
Reviews (3,706)
Filter reviews
2,915 results
Traveller rating
2,189
607
93
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,189
607
93
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing collection grounds of dublin castle world religions illuminated manuscripts silk road cafe religious texts rooftop garden private collection major religions asian art collection of books library museum on display new testament free admission book lovers small museum
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,915 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Spent a solid two hours in this place and could have spent another two very easily. An absolute wealth of information and fascinating materials. Highly highly recommend and will definitely go there again

Thank 315rogerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday

Chester Beatty Collection is one of the biggest surprises of Dublin. The free collection of the Beatty offers countless of Eastern art pieces and more than 240 Qurans including one of the first ones ever written. The entry is free however I would not hesitate to pay for this collection. And I must say the collection is supported by mystic atmosphere and lightning, in the end way better exhibition and collection than Book of Kells.

Thank Flyngdtchmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

Totally worth popping in for even 30 minutes - there is an amazing collection to view and it's all free! They also have a great cafe on the ground floor.

Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

We stumbled on this accidentally at the end of our walking tour and it was such a bonus! So many great things to see. The cafe is worth the trip too!

Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

This wonderful museum is a must. It is right there at Dublin Castle, and is free to the public. Beatty's collection of Asian art is beyond anything I've seen as a private collection. The garden on the fourth floor is a great way to just relax and soak in Dublin. Truly one of the best private museums I've ever been to, and the mere fact that it was free, made it more incredible to soak up all this culture. Only in Dublin.

Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

Situated within the Dublin Castle grounds, this amazing place holds great treasures from Asia, the Middle East, north Africa and Europe. Chester Beatty bought only the finest manuscripts, prints, drawings, rare books, miniature paintings and decorative arts and you will find them here in 3 separate areas.
Highlights for me was the Walsingham Bible and the beautifully illustrated copies of the Qur'an.
It was interesting to learn of the cultures and religions of the world through this wonderful collection.
Admission is free but well worth a donation.
There is a small cafe and a gift shop on the ground floor.

Thank lgmsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

This is supposed to be a wonderful place to visit, but we planned seeing it Monday morning before we left Dublin-and it was closed. Didn't see this anywhere online or in the guidebooks. Really not their fault, but consistent hours throughout the year would be helpful.

Thank SeanO894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

This is a great museum with manuscripts from all different cultures. The admission is free and there is a suggested donation.

Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Caveat: I love books and I like history. This place is easy to find (beside the castle), inexpensive to visit and has some of the world's greatest treasures in book-making. Clay tablets from 800 BC! Versions of the Bible written just after Jesus' lifetime! Papyrus scrolls! Moghul paintings! It was not crowded and I could spend as long as I wanted peering at the exhibits. If you want to see medieval book illumination up close, this is much better than the Book of Kells (though I saw both and recommend both).

Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were taken by a guide to this amazing buidingat the back of Dublin Castle. It contains the most comprehensive range od ancient books, manuscripts and parchments dated from early Christianity. Chester Beatty must have spent a huge amount of time scouring the ancient world for all his items on display. Worth at least 2hrs , it is so comprehensive.

Thank dggstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews