We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a hike to downtown, but a great hotel”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Bit of a hike to downtown, but a great hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We recently stayed here for a few days at the start of a walking trip in more rural Ireland. The only mild negative was that it was a longer walk downtown to sights and most restaurants than we anticipated, but weather was good, so we didn't mind. Our room was very comfortable, and we opted at check-in to upgrade to the 4th floor, where we enjoyed the lounge and the excellent continental breakfast. All the hotel staff we met were friendly and efficient. Food in the hotel restaurant was very well-prepared. The neighborhood was not the greatest, but the hotel itself is a really nice place.

Room Tip: The extra amenities on the 4th floor we felt were worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,122
    1,129
    203
    29
    20
See reviews for
996
1,866
167
531
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The room was quite and spacious, bathroom fantastic - separate bath tub and shower cabin. Nice choice in the mini bar and it is autamatically calculated to the room number when you lift up anything from the mini bar, which is quite comfortable - no need to memorize what you took:) shampoo, shower gel and body lotion are quite handy and are refilled everyday. Comfortable bads. Very nice food in the restaurant and resonabely priced. Very attantive service and breakfast is huge with evrything you can desire. Not far to anything really. No need to take a hop on hop off bus as you can just walk this distance around the city in just several hours (if you fond of walking:).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laststation45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
On behalf of the entire team here at The Croke Park Hotel, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. As is the case with all businesses, the greatest advertising we can aspire to is that of “word-of-mouth” from our loyal, regular customers.

It is my goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future. If there is anything else I can be assistance with, please feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards

Russell Hadley
Operations Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed here for a night recently and had to submit a review based on the staff. We felt really welcomed and the staff seemed genuinely happy in their jobs - there's nothing worse than a miserable receptionist/waitress.

Would recommend staying here, it's a 10 min walk to O'Connell Street and is opposite Croke Park stadium.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoifemc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete your kind review regarding your recent stay with us here at The Croke Park Hotel Dublin. Your kind comments were welcomed by the entire team. Sitting close to both Dublin city centre and the airport, The Croke Park Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in Dublin, with fresh, spacious, contemporary interiors, luxurious bedrooms, a tempting bistro and bar, a hotel business centre and three meeting rooms.

It is my goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future. If there is anything else I can be assistance with, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Russell Hadley
Operations Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel does the little extras to make your experience great. We got hot towels on check in and water bottles on checking out. They were very accommodating with reservations or arranging transportation. The rooms were very nice and the breakfast buffet plentiful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MO2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Please allow me the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete your most humbling Tripadvisor review regarding your recent stay with us here at The Croke Park Hotel.

As a member of The Doyle Collection, our Proud values are that we meet every guest with a smile, a greeting and an enquiry, we care about the well-being of our guests and actively look for opportunities of how to enhance their experience. I am thus delighted to hear of your positive and hopefully memorable experiences whilst with us.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The Croke Park Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Russell Hadley
Operations Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3

russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here based on other reviews, and was very impressed by the staff, the room and the breakfast buffet. Left the rental car in the hotel parking area and took a taxi for €10 to town for drinks. It's not that far from downtown, and didn't want to worry about parking in town. Booked on galahotels.com and got the breakfast included for a very special rate. Great hotel experience, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with all of our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon as it is my goal to retain you as a satisfied customer. If there is anything else I can be assistance with, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Russell Hadley
Operations Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
Tel + 353 (0) 1 8714444
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here for four nights at the end of March and we were both really impressed with everything about the hotel. The staff were pleasant and friendly and the room was spacious and welcoming - a bit more than a standard hotel room. The location is a little out the way of the centre of Dublin, about a 20 minute walk, but that's not enough to detract from an otherwise really enjoyable stay. For those who would rather take a Taxi into the centre it shouldn't cost any more than 10 Euros. If you're taking a taxi from the airport, it cost us 20 Euros. Would happily stay here again and recommend to friends and family. Thanks to all the staff for a really enjoyable stay!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
It gave me great pleasure to read your review, thank you so much and I am delighted to hear that we continue to provide a service that you enjoy throughout the hotel. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to the rest of my team and I`m sure they will be very appreciative.

I hope that we will be welcoming you back very soon, please let me know if I can help with future reservations or in any other way.

Kind Regards

Russell

Russell Hadley
Operations Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baumholder, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Had a great time in Dublin in February 2012. First visit, wife found hotel on internet and it was good price (99euros a night). Got lucky and a helpful guy at the airport told us how to get to the hotel using a city bus. Wife told me it was across from a park, it isn't quite a park so much as a GIANT soccer stadium. If you are going to some type of event at this stadium it would be the closest possible place you could stay. If your there to see the city, it is about a ten euro taxi ride from temple bar/anywhere else in the tourist area. No direct bus or tram lines we could find to get into the city, so it was kind of out of the way for us. when we checked in they offered us the 10 euro per person free breakfast, which turned out to be worth it, as it comes with access to free bottled water and a nice lounge area. Also got a free drink at their very nice hotel bar for each night of visit. I recommend this place if you are going to any event in the stadium, otherwise save the taxi fare and stay in the city.

Room Tip: Based on the proximity to the stadium I doubt any room would be quiet if there was an even happening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your detailed review regarding your recent stay with us here at The Croke Park Hotel Dublin. The Croke Park Hotel, just across from the home of Gaelic sport, is a luxury Dublin hotel that aims to capture the hearts of all its guests, whichever part of the world they are from, and whatever the reason for their visit.

It is my goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future. If there is anything else I can be assistance with, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Russell


Russell Hadley
Operations Manager
The Croke Park Hotel
Jones Road
Dublin 3

russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,894 reviews
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,435 reviews
1.3 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,890 reviews
1.8 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing