We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Recently returned from a 2 night stay. We had a deal with travel zoo that included dinner on the first night and breakfast.
We arrived quite early and were greeted with hot towels to freshen up. We were incredibly pleased to find that our room was ready even at 10am!

Our room was very clean and we also had use of the executive lounge where there was complimentary drinks and fresh fruit.
Our evening meal was very pleasant, the waitress made the mistake of pouring my wine in to my water glass. She was very apologetic and replaced the wine immediately.
It was a good 20 minute walk in to town but we didn't mind as it was good to burn off the lovely breakfast each morning!!
The only slight niggle was that we had to ask for tea and toast each morning at breakfast as the waiting staff were not really paying attention to who was coming in.
All in all we had a good stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donsiewonsiewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,042
    1,103
    201
    28
    20
See reviews for
979
1,816
164
512
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Like NastyAnderson said, they overbooked their rooms so we were bumped to another hotel as well. I also booked this through Scepter Tours. It actually turned out for the best, because we were put in the another 4-star hotel closer to the city centre. If we would have stayed at The Croke, we would have needed a taxi to get to and from the city centre. Instead we just had a short walk. So it was a blessing in disguise for us. Plus, The Croke was very accommodating in paying for our cab to and from The Croke to our assigned hotel, so it wasn't a loss at all.

So I can't really comment on much, because we didn't get to experience anything outside the lobby.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GuinnessMeASAP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My mother and I stayed here twice, and found it very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The rooms aren't enormous, but there is plenty of space and convenient coffee/tea service in each room. They have free parking underground, which was a huge bonus! The breakfast room was fantastic, and we received vouchers for a discount.

The location isn't central (unless you are going to Croke Park Stadium for an event). But it is close enough to the bus line, and also very quiet and tucked away from the touristy part of Dublin. I haven't stayed here when there is an event at Croke Park Stadium, but I imagine it would be sort of crazy at this hotel since it is directly across the street!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulaedwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were booked thru scepter tours at the Croke Park in Dublin for the last night in Ireland. I called ahead and found out there was underground parking available,so we parked and came up the lift to check in about 5:30.We were told there was a glitch. They had overbooked. How does that happen????? And they were moving us to the Gresham on Oconnell st. We left our car there took a cab to the other hotel checked in...found out they had parking as well...not told that. The room was ok. A queen bed for 2 women. Tight. Had to get up much earlier next morning to take cab back to Croke Park,get reimbursed for cab fare,get parking stamped and no time for breakfast because of all the hustle. No reimbursement for that! Too much hassle to stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Call ahead make sure you still have a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NastyAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My mum and dad have just returned from a long weekend at the Croke Park Hotel (myself and my brothers sent for dads 70th and their 50th wedding anniversay ). They cannot praise this hotel enough. I had emailed hotel before they went to tell them about their celebrations.
1st they upgraded them to the executive suite, 2nd they put banners and balloons up for their arrival, 3rd 2 mini bottles of bubbly were there complementary for them and 4rth the staff were all so very friendly, curtious and helpfull to them. My mum and dad were bed and breakfast and they stated that the breakfast was delicious there was a vast variety of food for them to choose from both hot and cold foods available. The room was spacious, clean and tidy. they cannot fault anything about their stay here and would definately stay again if returning to Dublin.
I would like to thank ALL the hotel staff for making thier celebrations memorable and their stay comfortable for them, and will definately reccomend this hotel to anyone I know that will be going to Dublin. Once again thank you so much x

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsD(Airdrie)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a really decent place. The rooms were clean, everthing functioned well and the staff was helpful and pleasant. I was on the executive floor, so had access to WiFi and a lounge. On lower floors, you only get wired internet. The hotel is a bit far from the city center, but the bus stop is close by. You can get to the Temple Bar/Trinity College/St. Stephen's Green areas in about 15 minutes for around 2 euros via the city bus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnTinEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed there over a weekend. Never again..We had no internet so we had to call down to get cables sent up to our room to get it. Ate in the restaurant which was nice, watching the rugby on the big screen. As for the night sleep, was woke up constantly from 1am-5am by people/drunks. Actually could hear 1 guy stumbling & falling about in his room, next door to us then his snoring. Walls way to thin. Never will stay there again unless I'm out on a drinking weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gaelic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
2.8 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
2.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.3 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing