We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Canal Hotel - good but not great”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grand Canal Hotel - good but not great”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Grand Canal Hotel is conveniently located, quiet and clean. The staff is courteous and efficient. The rooms however, are small and the showers/baths only average.

Room Tip: stay away from the side of the hotel where the bar is located. I heard bottles being dumped in the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Hello
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is important to us and we will look into the operation of the shower as normally these have good strong pressure.
I am glad you enjoyed your time in Dublin and thanks again for posting your comments.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    764
    227
    47
    26
See reviews for
223
690
80
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The stay at Grand Canal was an eminent part of my Dublin Trip. The only reason that I stayed here was the location of the hotel . It was very centrally located and close to my workplace too. Otherwise the service was average.

I ordered food a couple of times and most of the times sandwiches which were pretty good. However, the biggest issue was the room size. The rooms were really small with very little moving space. If that is something you could adjust to, then its a perfect stay.

There was no issue of cleanliness - all towels were replaced regularly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay. Feedback is important to us and we will certainly work on improveing our service standards as we aim for much higher than average.
All the rooms are well equiped with free Wifi, Irons, tea & coffee making facilities, wide selection of TV and vide channels. We do have executive rooms some of which are larger in size with additioanl facilities. If you were traveling again perhaps you could request one of these directly with us.
Again many thanks for the feedback.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here for one night in April while attending a concert in the O2 and found it to be great value, the room was top class and spotless as was the bathroom. The staff were very welcoming and helpful from the very pleasant guy who checked us in to the bar staff. The hotel also provide a shuttle service to and from the O2. It is within walking distance of lots of Dublin attractions. All in all a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couple5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Hello
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will get to see you again in Dublin soon.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here in April 2012, everything was perfect, the staff in particular were really nice, the girl at reception was friendly and the waiter who served us at breakfast (didn't catch his name, but he did tell us he was from Poland), was particularly nice and funny.
We ended up with an executive room, even though the price was quite low (68 euro for a double). The room was spotless and comfortable and had a view of the Aviva stadium. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Grand Canal theatre. We really enjoyed staying here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arantimeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Hello,
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience one of the newly decorated executive rooms.
Hope we will see you back again soon.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife and I stayed her during a recent theatre visit for 3 reasons; the proximity to the Bord Gáis Theatre, the only rate (with complimentary breakfast) and the fact that I had stayed her before on numerous occasions for business purposes, albeit the last time was 2 years or so ago.
This was a leisure trip so we were delighted to be allocated a room on the executive floor. The soft spongey carpet gives you a feel of whats to come as you walk through the door into bright, modern and spotless rooms complete with all facilities including flat screen tv, tea/coffee, iron and ironing board, egyptian cotton bedding (so my wife said!) and even dressing gowns. A good night's sleep was had.
Before the theatre we ate in the Gasworks. As always, a hub of activity but service was fast and the food was excellent. Breakfast in the morning in the restaurant provided a good choice of hot and cold breakfasts and again no complaints.
The location is only 10 minutes from the theatre, 10 minutes from the Aviva Stadium and we walked to Grafton Street in 15 minutes.
Plus Free Parking!!
Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCCo.Derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad to hear the newly refurbished rooms were to your liking and do hope it won't be so long before you are able to stay again soon - on either business or pleasure.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here recently when attending a concert in the O2 and I can honestly say that we totally enjoyed our stay. We had stayed here a good few years back and we were glad to see that the standards had not slipped. The underground car parking is just fantastic as parking in the area can be a nightmare with the close proximity to different venues.
The staff on reception when checking in we're very polite and helpful, and yes people might say,,it's their job but believe me when I say it was totaly genuine. We really liked the security aspect of the hotel also, as you can not gain access to the rooms without swiping your room key in the elevator to go up. The bar food was lovely and the staff were also brilliant. The room was clean and comfortable. Only problem we did have was with wifi in the room but this did not bother us to much.
We will certainly be staying here again. It was such a comfortable relaxing stay eventhough it was only for one night. Also we found out that the hotel do packages for "The Grand Canal Theatre" shows which are great and should be looked into if anyone is travelling for a show. We will certainly be keeping this in mind. I should have said "Bord Gais Energy Theatre" , but I did prefer the original name...:0)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Hello
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
There are some great shows and concerts coming this summer so hopefully we will get to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Brook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My husband and I spent 2 evenings at this hotel as part of our CIE Tour of Ireland. Of all the hotels we stayed at, this one was the only disappointment. The location is good (about a 10-15 minute walk into the city center) but that's about the only positive thing that I recall.

Some comments:
-We returned to our room one evening to find our "message" light blinking on the phone. Though the front desk staff assured me several times that we did NOT have a message (despite the fact that we couldn't stop the red blinking light, and had to cover it to sleep), we then received a call from them in the middle of night with our message....
-We requested a continental breakfast be delivered to our room on the day we were departing for our flight back home. The delivery was about 10 minutes late, which made it too late for us to eat (we quickly shoveled some bites into our mouths before having to scramble out of our room). Considering that the time slots you check off on the room service order form are a 15-minute window (i.e. 7:00-7:15AM), I find it unacceptable that our food was still late...especially on a day when we are clearly checking out and have travel plans.
-Our room was small, dark, and very basic. It felt almost depressing to be in it.

I would not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lg9567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgrandcanalhotel, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that these two incidents occurred and marred your enjoyment.
I have addressed both with the night staff involved and apologise again for the inconvenience caused.
Kind regards
Sheila Baird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
2,301 reviews
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#12 of 151 in Dublin
1,344 reviews
3.9 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
513 reviews
2.7 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,546 reviews
3.7 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing