We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but just not for me...”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #25 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel is just a tad away from the energy of the city centre. The hotel has a particular style which is just not for me. It lacks a chill factor, hinting at random opulence. Maximum use is made of the interior space. Reception is small (a good idea) but it does feel dark and interior. My room was large but very badly laid out. Sofa, tables etc bordered the wall. It lacked focus despite it being large with a kingside bed leavig a very odd sense. The staff is well trained and pleasant but... cold. I wish i liked it but the design is too jarring and I'm not sure if it relates to anything more than just the Celtic tiger psyche. It's priced at the high end. I'll pass on this one again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
There are newer reviews for Dylan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Very modern, luxuries hotel. Located with in walking distance to the city center. Check out the corner coffee shop for breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikhail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times and its always a treat. The rooms are very cool and individually styled - so much nicer than the generic furnishings you find in most hotels. Great bar - although the restaurant is overpriced. There are so many good places to eat within 5 mins walk for much better value. Staff are fantastic - they have nailed the concept of service! Yes its expensive but worth it for a special treat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seashell116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The building and rooms are impressive however the Dylan needs to get with the timed and realise that there is a recession in Irelsnd. The rated are still overpriced and the service is slow in general. I remember when this place was buzzing. However it is still probably the trendiest hotel in Dublin if that's what you want as The Morrison Hotel on the quays is looking dated. It's quite a walk into
Town from the Dylan so be prepared to taxi back and forth. Over rated I think.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie-in-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneRoss, General Manager at Dylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear Aussie-in-Ireland

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Dylan on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is most valuable to us.

It is with disappointment that we hear that you felt our service was slow and that our pricing too high. Our feedback from our customers has been that we are offering good value for money in a five star environment. We will certainly be taking your comments on board.

We are a 10 minute walk into Grafton Street, nevertheless in the Baggot Street neighbourhood there is a wide range of bar & restaurants for our guests to choose from.

Once again, Aussie-in-Ireland, thank you for your feedback . If you wish to discuss your stay in more detail, I hope you will contact me directly either by email grainneross[at]dylan.ie or telephone 01 660 3000.

Sincerely,

Gráinne Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at the Dylan this January excellent Hotel, Class service ease of parking great food beautifully bedroom and the Breakfast is a most enjoyable experience. The hotel is expensive but for that special occasion its money well spent and the staff are superb so if you want a really enjoyable experience I can highly recommend the Dylan Dublin

Room Tip: In fairness from speaking with guests all rooms are high quality and you can of course select rooms...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nollaig087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This place is awesome, the people , the luxurious rooms, and lounge. Very cool design in a great area. Ten very nice restaurants and pubs in an adjacent neighborhood.

Room Tip: the staff graciously upgraded us to a suite.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank landlockedcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent two nights in the Dylan close to Christmas, and had a wonderful stay. The staff were excellent, always willing to accommodate any requests. We had dinner in the restaurant one of the nights, which we both found delicious. The Dylan is a very chic hotel, but it also has a chilled out side to it, and I was a big fan of the dj who stops by a few nights during the week. The rooms themselves are exquisite, with a bose stereo system and Dylan ipod welcoming you to the room. The gym is perhaps a little small, and unfortunately there is no pool or jacuzzi, which would be a great addition, but otherwise this is a top class hotel and we had a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: A good idea is to request to have parking included in the room price.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 40Foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.0 km away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#9 of 150 in Dublin
516 reviews
1.4 km away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
1.3 km away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#14 of 150 in Dublin
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,339 reviews
1.5 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,992 reviews
1.2 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $323 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing