We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, boutique Hotel in Dublin”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #26 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cool, boutique Hotel in Dublin”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed here on a business trip in 2011, and thought this was a great hotel. Cool and quirky and just a fun place to stay. Nice bar and restaurant, it's also in a good location, 10-15mins from the city centre on foot

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandJane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    219
    77
    30
    17
See reviews for
68
573
39
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We were drawn by the hip environment. W-like, youthful and colorful with fun decorative splashes. WiFi everywhere. In a residential neighborhood about a 20 min walk from the center city - a great walk as you'll pass many well ranked restaurants. Went for the upgraded room and it was so worth it - spacious, comfortable, heated floors in the bathroom, hot water maker for tea, and an excellent AC/heater that was even quiet! A few minuses... there is no place to work out on premises - and the place they have access to is minimal - so if a gym is important this place won't work well. The hotel restaurant's wine list is lacking for new world options... and the bottles we had were clearly not stored well at all. But overall we are glad we stayed.

Room Tip: go for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalCohenMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed at the Four Seasons in Dublin for two nights and then at the Dylan and it's the Dylan that wins without question. The rooms are lovely, helpful and friendly staff are on hand (Madison when I booked the room in particular). The place has style (does risk being a little OTT) but gives it a lot more character than places like the Four Seasons where you'd think you were staying in your Grans spare bedroom. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel is just a tad away from the energy of the city centre. The hotel has a particular style which is just not for me. It lacks a chill factor, hinting at random opulence. Maximum use is made of the interior space. Reception is small (a good idea) but it does feel dark and interior. My room was large but very badly laid out. Sofa, tables etc bordered the wall. It lacked focus despite it being large with a kingside bed leavig a very odd sense. The staff is well trained and pleasant but... cold. I wish i liked it but the design is too jarring and I'm not sure if it relates to anything more than just the Celtic tiger psyche. It's priced at the high end. I'll pass on this one again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Very modern, luxuries hotel. Located with in walking distance to the city center. Check out the corner coffee shop for breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikhail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times and its always a treat. The rooms are very cool and individually styled - so much nicer than the generic furnishings you find in most hotels. Great bar - although the restaurant is overpriced. There are so many good places to eat within 5 mins walk for much better value. Staff are fantastic - they have nailed the concept of service! Yes its expensive but worth it for a special treat.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seashell116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The building and rooms are impressive however the Dylan needs to get with the timed and realise that there is a recession in Irelsnd. The rated are still overpriced and the service is slow in general. I remember when this place was buzzing. However it is still probably the trendiest hotel in Dublin if that's what you want as The Morrison Hotel on the quays is looking dated. It's quite a walk into
Town from the Dylan so be prepared to taxi back and forth. Over rated I think.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie-in-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneRoss, General Manager at Dylan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Aussie-in-Ireland

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Dylan on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is most valuable to us.

It is with disappointment that we hear that you felt our service was slow and that our pricing too high. Our feedback from our customers has been that we are offering good value for money in a five star environment. We will certainly be taking your comments on board.

We are a 10 minute walk into Grafton Street, nevertheless in the Baggot Street neighbourhood there is a wide range of bar & restaurants for our guests to choose from.

Once again, Aussie-in-Ireland, thank you for your feedback . If you wish to discuss your stay in more detail, I hope you will contact me directly either by email grainneross[at]dylan.ie or telephone 01 660 3000.

Sincerely,

Gráinne Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.0 km away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#18 of 151 in Dublin
438 reviews
1.4 km away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
1.2 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#19 of 151 in Dublin
1,878 reviews
1.5 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
0.9 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Property: Dylan Hotel
Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing