We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The vampire Lestat designed on a dole-binger budget, for the cost of 5 stars”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“The vampire Lestat designed on a dole-binger budget, for the cost of 5 stars”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Dylan Hotel is a joke as a 5 star establishment. The decor is very dated .. Think the paramount hotel in NYC circa 1993 meets the vampire Lestat on a dole-binger budget. It's shabby, rundown, broken, and just plain tacky. The bathrooms smell like ashtrays because of the ventilation system, and the windows over looking the smokers balconies... it permeates the rest of the room. Tiles are cracked and broken. Shower heads don't function. and there is little or no counter space to place toiletries. Front desk staff are helpful but tomato red sweater vests over black dress shirts remind one of a saddest Mc Donald's worker.. staff with a red complexion look eternally mad because of the shade of red in the uniform. Location is isolated slightly, though on a pretty street and easy to give cab directions. Again I really can't believe this is a five star hotel .. Yuck. 3 stars at best. As such it would be right on course, however I wouldn't have chosen it. I like my five stars to mean something, and three stars don't even register for me, as this hotel shouldn't have. ( as an aside I had prepaid and booked a second stay here at the end of my trip, since it was too late to book something else I returned, the 2nd room was much better than the first, as far as smell)

Room Tip: DO ask to see another room .. make sure you go into the bath you and smell it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    213
    73
    29
    15
See reviews for
64
558
37
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Louth - Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed for a night recently at the Dylan. I really like the location in that it is really close to the city centre yet in a nice quiet area of Dublin. We stayed on a Friday and there was ice adfter work buzz around the place - good cocktails at the bar and a nice area to sit outside both front and back of the hotel.
Rooms are of a good size with decent bathrooms , all in wacky colours with quirky furniture - nice to stay in but I couldnt live with it ! Some nice extras like proper fresh milk to make tea / coffee, ipod docking station with Ipod stereo system and newspaper delivered in the morning. Staff are absolutely brilliant, and breakfast was first class with a nice a la carte menu, I had the kippers which were the best I've had for a long time.
Great place for a short break and good value for money too. One small complaint would be that the rooms could be better noise proofed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

our stay @ the Dylan was very impressive especially the room ( 305)
the girl at the desk on arrival (sorry can't remember her name) was very polite & pleasant
the room was extremely clean & very functional (loved the i.pod deck and the Bose phone)
didn't had dinner so cannot comment,however we did have breakfast and it was excellent.
overall , staff was very efficient & professional and attention to details was spot-on
will be back again !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wouldyou1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed one night at this lovely boutique hotel. Rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and I just love it that you can plug your iphone or ipod in the speakers and listen to your own music. The staff was very friendly. When we ordered coffee in the morning we drank it in the lounge and asked to put the coffee on our room bill. One of the staff was so alert and great to tell us that breakfast was actually included in our room rate so we did not need to pay for the coffee.
That felt like true personal service. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haarlemglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slaidburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The pupose of being there was for Ulster Edinburgh rugby and I met up with an old chum who had used the place previously for business and a pal who now lives in Dublin. At first I was put off by the price but went with it anyway.

Dylan is a 20 minute walk from town - only 5 mins by a Eu7 taxi though - but ideally placed for the Aviva Stadium, Dylan being close to Landsdowne Road.

On arrival got a great and friendly welcome in a clutter-free area with waitiing seating where you could go on-line FoC.

Staff were knowledgeable about the area and nothing was too much trouble - not a lot of Irish accents.

Accessed the top floor room by the lift thereafter used the stairs to my front facing room.

Hallways were immaculately clean and the room was a good, functional size with free WiFi. No bath but a shower a giant can get into - such a nice change not having to hunch in a bathtub...

The hotel bar is very well stocked and popular with the local cocktail set - didn't see anyone drinking beers just wines, champagne, spirits and cocktails.

Breakfast: we arrived bang on 11am and never left until noon - and there was no pressure then to leave. First class breakfast too but the maximum price you can pay in Ireland at Eu25 a head. Fantastic choice though - and once again, spotless, with nothing too much trouble for the staff.

Post rugby - and too many Guinness - we headed back to Dylan which was packed with with cocktail drinkers. Ordered a good Sancerre that was reasonable priced for a 5* hotel at cEu40.

Previously when in Dublin I've stayed at the 4-Seasons, some Boutique B&B's and the 5* Clarence - this topped them all and I'll def. be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room otherwise you could be looking into someones back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've toyed with staying here for special occasions for a long time but the price has put me off as there are many top hotels in Dublin city that are less expensive (and closer to the city). As it turned out, my wife and I were heading out to the RDS for an exhibition last weekend, so I decided to bite the bullet and book a room (and dinner in Roly's just down the road).
If clean, luxurious, professional, boudoir-esque is what you want from a boutique hotel, this is it. I've long used TripAdvisor for guidance when choosing hotels and it delivered again this time.
Room was large with recessed ceiling and exposed roof truss. Bed was very comfortable. Staff professional yet friendly. Breakfast in room was very good. Just to register constructive criticism to keep this review balanced, slightly burnt toast with breakfast and no bath (a double shower though).
If you want a romantic getaway in Dublin, this is the one (for us anyway)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

Lovely staff and obviously was a very good hotel when new but it is lacking investment. TV in bath did not work, bed sagged to the middle, sofa was stained and light bulbs were not replaced. It is a good walk to town but easily manageable and parking at the hotel is reasonable. Did not eat dinners in the hotel but breakfasts were excellent although they need to find away to cool the room in the beautiful morning sun.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pjasonevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,103 reviews
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Property: Dylan Hotel
Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing