We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Irish Welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

On a recent visit to Dublin I stayed at Donnybrook Hall Guest House.
What a lovely warm welcome I received from a very courteous young man. The first time I have ever been greeted with the welcomed words on arrival ---- 'would you like a cup of tea?' music to my ears after a long delay at the airport. Thank you Anthony.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    97
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
66
151
70
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

What a great find! Jerry and Anthony treated us like old friends when we stayed at Donnybrook Hall for the first time. They offer much more than a roof over the head; you are urged to eat a huge and varied breakfast, and, when we left at 6.00am, there was juice and a muffin waiting for us, since we had turned down the offer of sandwiches for our trip. Jerry gave us loads of information about what to do, where to go, etc. Just around the corner is O'Connells, one of the best places I've eaten in Dublin, or beyond for that matter. And the Donnybrook Fair supermarket, also a stone's throw away, is wonderful and also has a great restaurant upstairs. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, looking out on to a very quiet road. Two large beds. Very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uwcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The owner, Terry, and his staff are highly helpful and informative. They are always ready to help you if any question or concern about your trip in Dublin. This accommodation is located in a little bit outside of the city's core, which means it is far from city noise and very calm at night but I must add that the neighborhood is just amazingly lovely. There is a nice restaurant and some shops for buying snacks or liquor just nearby. Still, it is very easy to access to the city central, maybe 10 to 15 minutes ride to O'Connell street, if take bus. Breakfast is great and I think they can customize your breakfast if you want. Actually they added unique flavor to each one of our breakfasts when we were staying there for 4 nights. Given all those I have experienced, I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacKosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Donnybrook Hall Bed & Breakfast in Dublin and it was lovely. The rooms are really nice, the location is good, breakfast fantastic (from eggs benedict to their own fresh fruit and home-made yoghurt) and the staff are the best asset! I would have no hesitation in recommending Donnybrook Hall. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Phil & Pauline Carrick
Northern Ireland

Room Tip: I didn't take any photo's during my stay but did upload a video testimonial. Loved the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We started off with what appeared to be the wrong foot arriving earlier than expected and no one able to let us in. However, once settled we had a grand time of it. Terry and his staff were always ready to do anything they could to make our trip enjoyable. From the well prepared breakfast to travel arrangements, they were always asking if they could do more. We expect to return to Dublin as our daughter is attending UCD and we will be staying at Donnybrook Hall.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aldo15_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

This is a good quality B&B in a side street in a south suburb of Dublin. It will suit visitors to Donnybrook village or stadium. I was visiting UCD at the time. Our initial experience was somewhat comical in retrospect - the person on duty did not hear me ringing the doorbell but other guests did and opened the door, saying they were looking for the owner too. I phoned the landline only for the phone to ring in the front room with the other guests,which left us all a bit nonplussed. Fortunately the staff member on duty turned up and offered to park our car for us - valet parking is not common in B&Bs! The car park is behind, a couple of minutes walk away. Room, smallish but adequate for two, was on the ground floor but the area is quiet. All the expected facilities were there - TV, hairdryer, and a nice touch of free Wifi (I didn't have time to use it). Breakfast was nicely presented by quietly-spoken Terry. There is the usual array of tourist info available.
A safe recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GYWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The Staff and Proprietor were really wonderful. Room was very nice. Breakfast was very good and the coffee was exceptional. Clean, safe neighborhood. Location was perfect for us but not as close to Dublin City Centre as some might like. Airport and City Buses nearby. Great place down the street to eat and drink. Store and Bank within a short walk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
4.5 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,354 reviews
1.5 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
5.3 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
1.8 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.5 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Property: Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Address: 6 Belmont Avenue | Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnybrook Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Embassy Belt of Dublin 4, our Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to University College Dublin, the RDS Showgrounds, Lansdowne Road Rugby and Dublin City Centre. Donnybrook Hall is a family owned and run Bed and Breakfast. We offer clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation in the central Dublin neighbourhood of Donnybrook. Nine of our bedrooms feature ensuite bathrooms, wood floors and restful furnishings.Three of our bedrooms open onto a lovely garden. A comfortable sitting room is available to all our guests. Donnybrook Hall in Dublin has 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Donnybrook Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing