We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

No complaints what so ever, The hotel is very clean and could not fault the breakfast Terry and Rosemary made you feel very welcome and so did Anthony on our arrival. We only stayed Friday night and all day Saturday and went home Sunday however it seened longer as there was no pressure when we returned to the Hotel, Terry was very helpfull with any information about Dublin
Our room was very clean comfortable,

Room Tip: Room looking over the back garden
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnedon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Donnybrook Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

My garden room was clean and well-kept, though a little small. The innkeepers Terry and his wife Rosemary more than made up for the small room with their big welcome. The coffee is hot and good, and the bus into center city stops a block away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TysTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

It was quiet, clean, and eco-conscious. Even though the shower water pressure was relatively low, the water got quite hot. The best part was Terry, the owner. We found him very charming - especially when taking our breakfast orders. He paid close attention to details, and he did everything to make our stay comfortable and memorable. He went far and beyond what anyone would expect. We will be forever grateful to him for his generous hospitality. The breakfasts were wonderful - the most enjoyable out of the 3 bed & breakfasts we stayed at during our journey. The location is just outside of the city centre, so it was perfect for staying close to the action, but away from the noise. The toilet in our bathroom was unreliable. We had to ask to have it fixed once a day. Also, the toiletries provided were sparse. However, we didn't find it a significant inconvenience. If we ever have the chance to go back to Donnybrook Hall, we will!

Room Tip: We were in room number 6. It is on the top floor, with the window overlooking the courtyard. We hear...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wzms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

On a recent visit to Dublin I stayed at Donnybrook Hall Guest House.
What a lovely warm welcome I received from a very courteous young man. The first time I have ever been greeted with the welcomed words on arrival ---- 'would you like a cup of tea?' music to my ears after a long delay at the airport. Thank you Anthony.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

What a great find! Jerry and Anthony treated us like old friends when we stayed at Donnybrook Hall for the first time. They offer much more than a roof over the head; you are urged to eat a huge and varied breakfast, and, when we left at 6.00am, there was juice and a muffin waiting for us, since we had turned down the offer of sandwiches for our trip. Jerry gave us loads of information about what to do, where to go, etc. Just around the corner is O'Connells, one of the best places I've eaten in Dublin, or beyond for that matter. And the Donnybrook Fair supermarket, also a stone's throw away, is wonderful and also has a great restaurant upstairs. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, looking out on to a very quiet road. Two large beds. Very comfortable
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uwcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The owner, Terry, and his staff are highly helpful and informative. They are always ready to help you if any question or concern about your trip in Dublin. This accommodation is located in a little bit outside of the city's core, which means it is far from city noise and very calm at night but I must add that the neighborhood is just amazingly lovely. There is a nice restaurant and some shops for buying snacks or liquor just nearby. Still, it is very easy to access to the city central, maybe 10 to 15 minutes ride to O'Connell street, if take bus. Breakfast is great and I think they can customize your breakfast if you want. Actually they added unique flavor to each one of our breakfasts when we were staying there for 4 nights. Given all those I have experienced, I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacKosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Donnybrook Hall Bed & Breakfast in Dublin and it was lovely. The rooms are really nice, the location is good, breakfast fantastic (from eggs benedict to their own fresh fruit and home-made yoghurt) and the staff are the best asset! I would have no hesitation in recommending Donnybrook Hall. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Phil & Pauline Carrick
Northern Ireland

Room Tip: I didn't take any photo's during my stay but did upload a video testimonial. Loved the place...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.5 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,620 reviews
4.5 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,583 reviews
5.3 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
1,369 reviews
0.8 km away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#17 of 150 in Dublin
2,172 reviews
2.1 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Address: 6 Belmont Avenue | Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $134 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnybrook Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Embassy Belt of Dublin 4, our Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to University College Dublin, the RDS Showgrounds, Lansdowne Road Rugby and Dublin City Centre. Donnybrook Hall is a family owned and run Bed and Breakfast. We offer clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation in the central Dublin neighbourhood of Donnybrook. Nine of our bedrooms feature ensuite bathrooms, wood floors and restful furnishings.Three of our bedrooms open onto a lovely garden. A comfortable sitting room is available to all our guests. Donnybrook Hall in Dublin has 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Donnybrook Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing