We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Ranked #107 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Athlone, Westmeath, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb,”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This place was amazing, Get a room at either end of the hotel, they're twice the size of the rest of the rooms!

Room Tip: Get a room at either end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bílly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Billy H,

Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our larger end rooms - they certainly do come in handy if you like more space!

We hope to see you again one day soon!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    318
    215
    122
    112
See reviews for
196
342
102
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a lovely stay, reception was very helpfull and hotel was very clean, we did eat in the restaurant once and foos was nice. Deffinately worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Gayle R,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel and thank you for your good comments. I will pass them on to all of our team.

We hope to see you again next time you visit Dublin.

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisdoonvarna, Clare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times with our two year old daughter and the staff always make us feel so welcome. Special thanks especiialy to Joanne, Michelle and Sarah for making our stays so enjoyable. The staff are very accomodating - when we travel by van they let us park in the coach bay out front and although the first time we stayed we were a little worried by the location we have never had any problems and hope Ballymun will continue to regenerate. The rooms are large and always nice and clean and the breakfast is great - what more could you want. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the courtyard at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Emma L,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel.

Thank you also for your great feedback - I will ensure Joanna, Michelle and Sarah and the rest of our team are aware of your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The pluses: clean and secure with bigger rooms than the European average.
However, it's in a grim newer area of Dublin with extremely noisy neighbors. (The rear-facing rooms back on a courtyard surrounded by highrises. At 3:00AM an extremely drunk singer belted out "Happy Birthday to You".
Also, even without a burnt-out bulb, the room was under-lit.
I'm not saying don't stay there, just be prepared.
Also, I was surprised that the phones in the rooms don't allow out-going calls. Carry a mobile or be prepared to Skype if you need to make calls. (Internet access works well, but costs 5 Euro a day.)

Room Tip: Check in early enough that you can adjust the temperature without leaving the window open overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRuke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear B Ruke 1

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel.

I was please to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and the size of our rooms however I was dissapointed to read that you were disturbed by the adjacent appartments during the night. I can assure you this is not a regular occurance.

In relation to the lighting in the rooms we are currently looking at options of brighter lights in some of our rooms as we are aware of this issue in several of our rooms.

Once again thank you for your feedback!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had one night in the Ballymun Travelodge, fantastic rooms all as new really was a surprise.
Great staff everything you could want in a hotel, yes as some of the reviews said Ballymun is not a great area but we find having stayed at other hotels in the area no worse than any large city. We will look forward to another stay there.

Room Tip: Take bus 4 or 13 from O Connell Street get off at Ballymun Shopping Centre hotel on your right
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonaldJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Ronald James,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel.

We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our rooms and our team. I will pass on your comments to my fellow team members.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Conveniently situated right by the bus stops to/from city centre where you can use (at least) two buses (numbers 4 & 13). Get a Rambler bus ticket from airport and it covers airport buses and all city buses too.

Clean, secure and quiet hotel location with friendly helpful staff.

All usual travelodge facilities (tea/cofee etc)

I got it for 19 euros - fantastic bargain

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Jrapeter,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our hotel. We greatly vlue our guests feedback and I will pass on your nice comments to our team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and hope you manage to avail of more of our 'bargains' throughout the year!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Hotel is relatively new so clean!! (i can see a downward trend as the years pass though) The beds are small but the rooms are big. the bathrooms are clean. There is decent free carparking in a secure basement. Its a 5min drive from the airport, or a 30min bus trip into the city centre. Its not a hotel for tourists - more transit or visiting the area.

i paid 39eur for the room. you just cant beat that.

restaurant was nice...the staff were local and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Manager1, Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Marcus 2000,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we greatly value our guests feedback.

I'm pleased to see you find our team friendly and the rooms spacious.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Travelodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel

Property: Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Address: Apartment 62 The Plaza Shangan Road | Ballymun, Dublin 9, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun is ideally located 4 km from Dublin Airport and 5km from Dublin City and offers spacious modern rooms at budget prices. The hotel operates a shuttle bus service to/from the airport every 20 minutes for €3.00 Per passenger. The service runs from 05am-9am and 5pm -9pm. Stay in Dublin for less this year, for business, catching a flight from Dublin Airport or visiting Dublin City for shopping and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun Hotel Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing