We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, but noisy room”
Review of Amberley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amberley House
Ranked #41 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Excellent location: right at the airport bus stop and walking distance to practically anywhere in Dublin. We had a decent sized room, with a double bed and shower. The hot water pressure is rather week, it can be disturbing. The bigger problem is the noise. Both the external and internal walls are very thin, so no need for an alarm clock: you wake up when your neighbours or when the traffic starts in the morning. They probably have rooms not facing the main road, so try to ask for those. Staff is nice, but knows very little about the city.

Room Tip: try to ask from a room not on the street side
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Haware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina G, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear Haware

Thank you very much for sharing the experience you had with us and with others here on Trip Advisor.
We really appreciate you positive comments about our location and the room you were allocated.

I have taken note of your comments regarding the water pressure and this is something that our maintenance is looking into.

As a city centre property we do occasionally get guest comments about external noise however as we are in a quieter area of the city it is far less then in the livier areas of Dublin. We do as you mention have rooms that don't face the main road and if we do have availability we will move guests to these rooms should they wish or if requested we will do our best allocate these rooms to guests.
I hope that on your next visit to Dublin you will choose to stay with us again. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back!
With much appreciation,
Christopher Kenny
Group Marketing Manager
theKeyCollection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Amberley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017

The room was big, nicely decorated, and quiet, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Lots of coffee and tea, with tasty cookies! Bed very comfortable, all amenities that I needed. Unfortunately the shower was too cold for me (I was on the top floor, maybe that has something to do with it, but I want a hot shower) so I could not wash my hair: bummer. I was on a business trip and working and the chair's seat was worn so not very comfy to sit on, it felt like the seat could fall through any minute. Put a new chair in room 9 and make sure it has hot water and this would have been an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 77aki77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina G, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with us and with others here on Trip Advisor.

Following your review we have indeed placed the chair in your room. Sorry that you felt that the water in the shower wasn't hot enough for you, this isn't something that we have come across before but our maintenance team is investigating this and will take any corrective action necessary.
I hope that on your next visit to Dublin you will choose to stay with us again. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back!
With much appreciation,
Christopher Kenny
Group Marketing Manager
theKeyCollection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Four of us stayed at the Amberley guesthouse and apartments for 3 nights early March we stayed in a two bedroomed apartment, we arrived early on a Monday morning we went straight to the guest house from the airport where we could leave our cases in a secure room leaving us free to explore Dublin. We returned at 16:00hrs check in was quick and a very nice young man showed us to the apartment which was in the next block along from the guesthouse just around the corner a 1 minute walk.

The apartment had all we required the public areas such as lift and hallway were all clean the apartment was nicely decorated, a small kitchen with everything you would need although we never used it don’t go on holiday to cook, a lounge with tv and free Wi-Fi, bathroom with bath and shower and two nice bedrooms with double bed.

The apartments were perfectly located a five walk to O’Connell Street then another five minutes across the river to temple bar area.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the area near the apartments for breakfast and an evening meal there’s O’Sheas just across the road then The Celt just around the corner for evening meal and a few pints of Guinness, a couple of nice pubs one on Marlborough street Sean O’Cassey’s a locals pub very friendly and cheaper than those across the river and The Flowing Tide on the corner of Marlborough Street and Abbey Street again a bit cheaper than most. If you fancy a change from pub grub there is a hotel on Abbey Street called Wynn’s Hotel that serve good food at very reasonable prices (The same as you would pay in the pub) in very nice surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloodaxe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina G, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the travel experience you had with Amberley House with others here on tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive review and your kind words about our location and staff.
Also it was fantastic to read that you enjoyed your visit to Dublin so much, you certainly seem to have found some of the more local places to visit.
I hope that on your next visit to Dublin you will choose to stay with us again. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back!
With much appreciation,
Christopher Kenny
Group Marketing Manager
theKeyCollection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

I booked this place to bring my boyfriend for his birthday. Having read some of the reviews I was nervous that it wouldn't be very nice. However I was pleasantly surprised. The room was fresh, new, beautiful & clean. Cleaners came in daily. The hotel staff were very helpful. This b&b is great value for money. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Polkadotty8097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja M, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for believing in us and trusting your instincts. I am very happy that you were positively suprised and did enjoy your stay with us.
I am glad that we didn't disappoint you and that your Boyfriend's Birthday celebration was a success.

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience . I do appreciate it.

Kind Regards,
Maja Morawiec
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

excelent value for money. just in the hart of Dublin, few minutes walking to the spire/ O`Connel Street.

the room was clean, the personal was helpfull, and in the room we had commplementary tea/coffe/water.

i do reccomand

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja M, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear Vali A,

Thank you very much for all kind words about Amberley Guesthouse. I am delighted that you have enjoyed the stay with us, were satisfied with a room and with our team.
I am glad our location suits you well.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent value for money! We stayed here for 3 nights, around 5 minute walk from O'Connell street which is where all the tour buses start from and just over the road from all shops and restaurants!
We had an early flight An arrived a lot earlier than check in the reception happily checked if our room was ready and if not said they would look after our suitcase! Luckily the room was ready, we came dumped our cases the room. We had a large room with a double bed and we had a single also... the bathroom is very big with a shower and a bath with a very large mirror! For us the room was lovely the furniture is a bit old but who is bothered it does the job of having clothes in and holding glasses... our room was lovely An warm and I had 3 great nights sleep didn't wake up until the morning, heard no other guest either! This is great value for money and all reception staff are very friendly and helpful saying hello and goodbye as you come in an out.. I like that you had a door into the room with the bathroom on your right then a door for the main bedroom, it was a solid door so this I think kept a lot of the sound out! Well worth staying in the guesthouse! Clean, close to all the bars, shopping and restaurants!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja M, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear Katherine M,
Reading your review that's an absolute pleasure. Nothing makes us here at Amberley more happy than knowing that we did good job looking after you during your stay with us.
I am glad you felt comfortable in the room, even though we are located in the city centre you didn't find it noisy.
Yes our location is good - both for sightseeing, shopping, also main transportation lines for bus, train, dart and luas (tram) services are nearby.
We are also lucky that Airlink bus to the airport stops just next to Amberley Guesthouse.

My team will be delighted when I will pass your nice comments.
Thank you very much for staying with us.

Kind Regards,
Maja Morawiec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Stayed here last week on a short getaway to Dublin. The room we had (19) was massive and beyond expectation. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. bathroom equally as big and the decor throughout was lovely.
The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. Especially the young gentleman on the door around 4pm Wednesday who advised all the best spots throughout the city and gave great directions.
Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja M, Manager at Amberley House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Charlie M,

Thank you very much for finding the time to write the review. It's the nicest way to make us here at Amberley appreciated . Knowing that customers who are the most important to us do value our work feels really good and makes it easier.
I am delighted you were happy with the room and bathroom.

Thank you for making us smile.

Kind Regards,
Maja Morawiec
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Hotel St. George
#83 of 150 in Dublin
697 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#24 of 149 in Dublin
659 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#19 of 149 in Dublin
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kildare Street Hotel
#55 of 149 in Dublin
413 reviews
Trinity Lodge
#28 of 149 in Dublin
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley House

Address: 34 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $146 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amberley House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amberley House B&B is located on Lower Gardiner St Dublin 1, only 2 min walk to O Connell Street, the centre of Dublin. The main bus and rail terminals are also only 5 min walk away. We offer en suite bedrooms, double, triple and quad beds. Each room is equipped with TV, tea/coffee, telephone and ironing facilities. 24 hour reception available with our friendly staff willing to assist you with any queries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Amberley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing