We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar”

Merchants Arch Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 298 Nightlife in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Really good place to go if you fancy a beer and some food! quite expensive but I think Dublin isn't cheap anyways! Good music and lots of beer on tap!

Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at Merchants Arch Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Hi there and thank you for your review today.

Call back and see us again soon!

Slainte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"live music"
in 71 reviews
"great atmosphere"
in 28 reviews
"ha'penny bridge"
in 11 reviews
"cottage pie"
in 5 reviews
"sat upstairs"
in 4 reviews
"irish breakfast"
in 5 reviews
"upstairs restaurant"
in 3 reviews
"chicken wings"
in 4 reviews
"the pub"
in 11 reviews
"irish songs"
in 4 reviews
"great guinness"
in 3 reviews
"pint of guinness"
in 7 reviews
"musicians"
in 16 reviews
"accordion"
in 3 reviews
"barman"
in 5 reviews
"sean"
in 5 reviews
"ireland"
in 12 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 377 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Brilliant pub, fantastic service and good Guinness.. Frank the Barman was great - even gave us lots of places to visit as well, we will be back!

Thank MsALH_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at Merchants Arch Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Hi there and thank you for your review today.

We will pass on your comments to Frank!

Slainte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Beautiful building and layout with good music. It’s a shame the service here was lousy from the moment we came in. Although two tables were available along the second floor railing overlooking the live music, the hostess tried to lead our party of four up another staircase. She shook her head at us and walked away after another waitress said we could have a table at the second floor railing. When ordering drinks, we asked what menu item “goujons” was, this was mistaken as an order. Since we were hungry, we ate the goujons and fries as an appetizer. After our initial alcohol order and goujon drop-off, our waitress never came around voluntarily, we had to flag her down to order additional alcohol, our main dishes and finally the bill. Each time she came to our table, I asked for a glass of water - the third time was the charm. We were friendly and polite each time, but our waitress had no interest in exchanging pleasantries with us or asking if our meals were okay. The second floor stayed full, but didn’t appear to be short staffed. We weren’t expecting 5-star service but didn’t expect to be treated as if we were a bother either. The buffalo chicken wings were smaller than what you would receive in the states, but were very good. The goujons (basically chicken nuggets) were okay, the chicken breast with stuffing and gravy was good.

Thank Navigate730991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at Merchants Arch Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Hi there and thank you for your review today.

We're sorry to hear you did not get to experience our usual high standard of service.

We do hope to see you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

This pub is located scenically at the south end of the 200 year old Ha’penny foot bridge across the Liffey river, bordering the Temple bar quarter. This two storey pub is beautifully decked out according to typical Irish pub fashion and tradition. We were here early Saturday night. The duo playing and singing popular songs accompanied by guitar and small accordion were excellent and got the crowd up dancing and singing. Great atmosphere and great stop for a Guinness or two in the Temple bar district! We didn’t have food, but the pub boasts a great menu as well. Get a seat on the second floor, which provides a great view of the action below and is a little more comfortable if you want to have dinner.

Thank lldekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at Merchants Arch Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Hi there and thank you for your review today!

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Slainte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Good Irish pub food. I enjoyed steak sandwich, tasty and tender beef, and my wife enjoyed a hearty mushroom soup. Service was short handed, slow.

Thank 430bertv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at Merchants Arch Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Hi there and thank you for your review today.

We're sorry to hear you had a slow service and that it was not up to our usual high standard.

We do hope you come back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merchants Arch Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Merchants Arch Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing