We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot chocolate, expression n churros”
Review of The Port House

The Port House
Ranked #249 of 2,638 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: Located at 64A South William Street this beautiful and solely candle lit wine cavern has been stripped back to its original features. As a traditional Spanish tapas bar it boasts a fantastic selection of authentic tapas. The Port House wine menu is varied and full of interesting wines, ports and sherries at a very reasonable price, carefully selected from Spanish and Portuguese regions. It is the ideal place for one to relax, enjoy some tapas with a glass of wine and soak up the ambiance that makes this spot a must try.
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

St Patrick's weekend visit to Dublin wandering around wi sair feet when saw the chalkboard sign ...churro just what the dr ordered. A quirky restaurant with a real buzz attentive staff and customers of all ages. Churros superb worked wonders n set us up for the evening in temple bat

Thank Mousemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Thank you for posting this review. We are delighted you enjoyed dining with us and enjoyed our churros. Come visit us next time you are in Dublin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for The Port House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

A lovely little Restaurant with excellent Tapas, we eat here on every visit to Dublin. Very friendly staff.

Thank Sandra Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for this beautiful review, Sandra. We are absolutely thrilled that we are your first choice of restaurant when you dine in Dublin. Thanks so much and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Great selection of fresh tapas, seafood is brilliant. Staff were very attentive and food and booze kept flowing at just the right pace.
Cheese board was great as well as the seafood platter, especially the whitebait.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BosB2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you for sharing your wonderfully positive dining experience with us. We are so pleased you had a great afternoon dining with us and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This tapas restaurant has elevated to my top Tapas in Dublin. The atmosphere is brilliant. Mainly by candlelight (all over the place - like Castle von Dracula). The food is 'to die for' (pardon the pun) and a really great price. Staff are great craic. Go for it

Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you for posting this fantastic review, it was a pleasure to read puns intended or not! We look forward to seeing you again soon where you can work your way through some more of our delicious food menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

An enjoyable tapas experience - great food and atmosphere. Would recommend the chorizo in wine, patatas mojo and duck and cheese cannelloni. We were disappointed that one of the dishes served to us wasn't heated through. It was dealt with properly and a fresh dish served up to us. Lunch for two with one glass of wine came to €50 - a little overpriced in my opinion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foxredlabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our food and indeed the ambience of our restaurant. We take great pride in offering the most authentic Spanish experience we can possibly deliver to our customers. Some of our dishes are priced higher than others due to their ingredients, we source majority of our ingredients directly from Spain therefore this could possibly explain why your bill was a tad bit pricey for lunch. Nonetheless, we thoroughly enjoyed having dining with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon where you can maybe sample some more of our delicious food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Port House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Port House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing