We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Thai in Dublin”
Review of Red Torch Ginger

Red Torch Ginger
Ranked #24 of 2,889 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: We are Modern Thai Eatery serving delicious Thai food, craft beers, funky cocktails and wines from around the world. We offer all this in a relaxed ambiance with friendly service and plenty of value. We feature a very popular Set Lunch which includes starter, main course and a drink for €14,95. We also offer our Early Bird menu every evening from 4.00 Which costs €21,95 and includes a starter, a main course and tea or coffee. Our Wine Sale includes all wines at half price on Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays . We are very centrally located between Temple Bar and Grafton st.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

Love this place! Food is amazing, excellent friendly customer service. The green curry is the best! The Dessert cocktails are delish, highly recommend. Will go back again and again. Great for groups too.

Thank Emmatrip76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, Owner at Red Torch Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Hey Emma
Thanks a million for the terrific comments. We are all delighted to see that you enjoy visiting Red Torch Ginger so much. Thanks very much for sharing the love here on TA! We look forward to seeing you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2017

Check out this Thai restaurant in Dublin 2, a few blocks from one of the main shopping districts in Dublin - Grafton Street. We pre-booked this lively restaurant for Saturday night (26th August 2017). Gary, the owner, took our booking and he was more than accommodating. After a drink at the cosy bar, we we given a nice seat (for two) on the ground floor and the night went from good to great, particularly when the food arrived. I went for the most popular dish - The Green Curry (with chicken). It was excellent, as was the spicy calamari for starters. This place is worth a look-in. Waiters are attentive and friendly and the cook is a keeper! I can't rate the place highly enough; however, it's no secret in Dublin as Red Flame Ginger is very popular.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, Owner at Red Torch Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Danny, we all thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are very popular as you say, but its because of people like you! Word of mouth reviews have made us busy so thank you for taking the time to share the love here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Had lunch here recently . Food was very tasty and reasonable . Plenty of choice . Didn't try the wine which looked a tad expensive but stuck to the beer and water .

Excellent service also even as restaurant was busy .

Good value all round

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnrQ3209KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, Owner at Red Torch Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Thank you John for the lovely review. Our Lunch menu is only 15.95 for a starter, mains and drink ( homemade lemonade, iced tea etc) and its very popular with our guests. I am happy that you felt welcome and well cared for.
I am surprised that you find our wine expensive though. A glass of House White or Red is only Euro 6- which I believe is very reasonable for the city centre. Our House Red and White bottles are only Euro 24 which we think is competitive for the area.
Thank you for the very kind comments about our food and service. we re happy to see that you enjoyed your visit so much. I do hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

I am a frequent visitor to Red Torch Ginger and it's always an enjoyable experience. The location is great, very central and easily accessible, there is a lovely ambiance, always a warm welcome, very efficient service, delicious food, reasonable prices (the lunch and early bird menus are fantastic value), as I say, it ticks all the boxes!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Celine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, Owner at Red Torch Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Celine, I know that you are a regular customer with us and that you love to come and eat with us often. Thank you for all your continued support , and also for sharing the love here on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

I had made a reservation for 8 people on a Friday night. The staff were so accommodating when it turned out 11 of actually came. There was no fuss and everyone got a free bellini on arrival. I had the wantons and chicken massaman curry which were both excellent. Had no room for dessert unfortunately! The house red was delicious. Staff were friendly and we weren't rushed either. Definitely recommend!

Thank katething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, Owner at Red Torch Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Kate, many thanks for the terrific review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your meal so much. I am happy to see that we were able to accomodate all of you including the extra additions to your group. I am also delighted to see your positive comments about the food and the service. We want our guests to enjoy themselves so i am very happy to see that you all had a great time. Thank you for your visit, and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Torch Ginger also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Red Torch Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing