We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avondale House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maple Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
13
49
87
81
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
49
87
81
108
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 338 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

Thankfully we only stayed for one night. The hotel says it has parking but it doesn’t! The parking is in a QParks car park which is a few streets away!

Our room was pokey, very very dated, there was hardly any furniture, the bed was just about being held together! The bathroom stank of damp, very unpleasant to be in it, so we didn’t use the shower.

The reception staff weren’t great. Not rude but not helpful. We asked if we could buy a coffee anywhere and he looked at us like we’d just fallen from mars and simply repeated the word “coffee”? Back at us!!!!

Breakfast was surprisingly passable. The ladies were nice enough and the cooked breakfast was ok.

Overall I’d give it a miss to be honest.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile

You pay for what you get.

A B&B in Dublin with breakfast for under €50- i should have known better

Don’t know how or even if this place is licensed as cannot conceive how any inspector with pass this premises on inspection

In fairness the staff are nice but my god the decor is ancient not to mention the mound, dust and dampness and paint peeling off the walls!!

I have stayed here yes, but I won’t be again!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank markyspark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

First of all the location was fantastic as was the price. Unfortunately due to no fault of the guest house we had booked a twin room with no option of joining the beds together. So be careful if you are considering this in the future.
Our room was very small and decor was very poor with sections of wall paper falling off. The bed was very poor and looked liked it had been nailed back together probably more times than it should have.

The shower supplied hot water when it felt like it.

The breakfast was faultless and the servers were very polite and at hand to tend to you as you required however. We ordered just toast but still ended up with a full breakfast.

On the whole we didn’t let the room ruin our trip as we laughed about it so much.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank arronf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

Avondale was a very pleasant stay. The bed was comfortable and the sheets really soft and clean. The design with the shower and basin in the room is also really great with the toilets always being available and close by. Our room was quite noisy as it was facing the busy street, but I booked upon arrival so probably was given one of the last rooms, you may have more luck with a quieter room. The location was excellent, I didn’t use any public transport because I could walk everywhere and there were some awesome pubs right outside the guesthouse. The free breakfast was a full Irish breakfast and the service fast and friendly.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank johnstonhe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017

No other options for renting in the city center were available so we took a chance and booked a last minute stay.

Issues:

- faulty heaters without controllers so you freeze at night during Winter
- windows that do not close properly and allow for freezing air to enter
- dirty carpeting
- bed frame that are breaking but held together by metal clasps
- flattest pillows I have ever seen
- moldy bathrooms
- 1/3 small bottle for shampoo or hand washing (who doesn't fill the whole bottle?!)
- leaking toilets with pipes covered in wet rags
- toilet missing touch button!!
- bedside chair was dirty and complete covered in 'grease'
- Irish breakfast: 2 gluey thin sausages, 1 oily egg, a bit of hard streaky bacon, and cold bbq beans. Dry cereal and milk are available along with coffee and watered-down orange juice. Packaged cheese from Holland and coffee cookies are available. Do not try the canned fruit mix, nobody touches that and it is permanently covered in cellophane (cling film).

There are plenty of rooms at this hotel, serving at least 30 people. The amount of money that is charged for the facilities and food is exorbitant. This establishment is making tons of money since the amenities are old, the windows are broken, and the heaters are faulty. The heaters do not have knobs and therefor you cannot control the "heat" that is supplied. There is MOLD EVERYWHERE in the bathroom. Our toilet was leaking and covered in wet rags. The room (including the bathroom) was about 18 sq meters with a double bed. Color tv was spotty and mainly gray.

1 star for location. If you decide to stay, there is a Tesco around the corner where you can get disinfectant and breakfast/lunch for cheap.

Room Tip: rest elsewhere
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pracheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews