We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
14
50
93
84
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
50
93
84
118
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 359 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

Rude/ grumpy staff, holes in the walls, wallpaper pealing off, dirty, smelly room, one plug socket in the room that doesn't work, no toilets in the room, gave us a double when we requested a twin room, curtains smell of smoke, quite confidently can say this is the worst hotel/ guest house we have ever stayed in and we would never stay again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

Thankfully we only stayed for one night. The hotel says it has parking but it doesn’t! The parking is in a QParks car park which is a few streets away!

Our room was pokey, very very dated, there was hardly any furniture, the bed was just about being held together! The bathroom stank of damp, very unpleasant to be in it, so we didn’t use the shower.

The reception staff weren’t great. Not rude but not helpful. We asked if we could buy a coffee anywhere and he looked at us like we’d just fallen from mars and simply repeated the word “coffee”? Back at us!!!!

Breakfast was surprisingly passable. The ladies were nice enough and the cooked breakfast was ok.

Overall I’d give it a miss to be honest.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LauraH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile

You pay for what you get.

A B&B in Dublin with breakfast for under €50- i should have known better

Don’t know how or even if this place is licensed as cannot conceive how any inspector with pass this premises on inspection

In fairness the staff are nice but my god the decor is ancient not to mention the mound, dust and dampness and paint peeling off the walls!!

I have stayed here yes, but I won’t be again!!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank markyspark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

First of all the location was fantastic as was the price. Unfortunately due to no fault of the guest house we had booked a twin room with no option of joining the beds together. So be careful if you are considering this in the future.
Our room was very small and decor was very poor with sections of wall paper falling off. The bed was very poor and looked liked it had been nailed back together probably more times than it should have.

The shower supplied hot water when it felt like it.

The breakfast was faultless and the servers were very polite and at hand to tend to you as you required however. We ordered just toast but still ended up with a full breakfast.

On the whole we didn’t let the room ruin our trip as we laughed about it so much.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank arronf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

Avondale was a very pleasant stay. The bed was comfortable and the sheets really soft and clean. The design with the shower and basin in the room is also really great with the toilets always being available and close by. Our room was quite noisy as it was facing the busy street, but I booked upon arrival so probably was given one of the last rooms, you may have more luck with a quieter room. The location was excellent, I didn’t use any public transport because I could walk everywhere and there were some awesome pubs right outside the guesthouse. The free breakfast was a full Irish breakfast and the service fast and friendly.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnstonhe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews